Towcar.info

User Reviews

Volvo S80

Volvo S80 D5 and Abbey

Sandy reviewed on 25 May 2014 a Volvo S80 D5 (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 2009 - 2013) with a Abbey GTS 215 of 1360 kg.

My car is the S80 D5 se lux (205) Excellent tow car across the board with comfort, it's easy to exceed the speed limit which is likely until you become accustomed to the rig. (I don't use cruise control when towing) I've never been stuck on wet grass, just select manual 2/3 and keep the rev's down.

Outfit Match >>>


Volvo S80 D3 aut. and Ace

John McLannahan reviewed on 26 August 2012 a Volvo S80 D3 aut. (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2010 - 2013) with a Ace Jubilee Aristocrat of 1404 kg.

This D3 S80 tows the caravan better than the D5 S80 I had before. The torque for the 2 engines is the same - and when towing, the D3 chassis is much more composed, economy also was up from 27 with the D5 to 33 with the D3.

Outfit Match >>>


Volvo S80 3.2 aut. and Caravan

Paul wilson reviewed on 24 July 2011 a Volvo S80 3.2 aut. (175 Kw/238 PS, Year: 2006 - 2013) with a Caravan of 2050 kg.

this is the best towing car ive ever driven its hard to tell theres a caravan on the back its a tiny bit nervy at speeds above 80mph it pulls pretty much as quick with the van on the back.
Auto gear box does get hot if driven hard for long periods of time ie over 4hours if driven gently no issues at all great car all round

Outfit Match >>>


Volvo S80 D5 aut. [AWD] and Swift

Peter reviewed on 30 June 2011 a Volvo S80 D5 aut. [AWD] (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 2009 - 2013) with a Swift Challenger 620 of 1450 kg.

fantastic rig for towing selected cruise control at 60mph in Birmingham once up into 6th gear did not have to change till I arrived in Devon fuel consumption 36mpg Brilliant

Outfit Match >>>


Volvo S80 2.4 aut. and Lunar

Barry F reviewed on 11 May 2011 a Volvo S80 2.4 aut. (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 1999 - 2006) with a Lunar Chateau 500 of 1320 kg.

The Volvo S80 2.4 Auto is a smooth, refined ride. Fuel economy is a reasonable average of 28mpg solo, but when towing you can expect 19-20mpg. Caravan sits behind very well and feels extremely stable in every situation. The Volvo is quite a wide car which gives great vision in the mirrors (both on the cars mirrors and the mirror extensions). The car has plenty of power on motorway runs, however it does lack power on inclines and this is my only criticism. Steep motorway inclines require a run-up to get some momentum. The cruise control is great for the longer runs with complete outfit. Would certainly consider a newer one (mine is 1999) but would probably opt for a diesel one next time.

Outfit Match >>>


Volvo S80 2.4 D5 and Lunar

Alan Quinton reviewed on 13 May 2010 a Volvo S80 2.4 D5 (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Lunar Quasar 524 of 1388 kg.

My car is the D5 SE manual model which pulls the van with ease averaging 30mpg when towing.Little or no pitching on most roads and very comfortable ride with excellent acceleration on motorways.

Outfit Match >>>


Volvo S80 D5 aut. and Ace

John McLannahan reviewed on 02 May 2009 a Volvo S80 D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 PS, Year: 2006 - 2010) with a Ace Jubilee Aristocrat of 1354 kg.

All of the figures quoted here or in many other references should be used as guidance only. My S80 wieghs 1720kg (with half a tank of fuel) - and the tyres are 225/50/17/98/Y. However, the advice on this site is good - and stresses the importance of knowing the weight ratio.
The S80 seems to be an excellent towcar, is very stable and averaged 27mpg with an Ace Aristocrat at 1360kg hanging on the AlKo..

Outfit Match >>>


Volvo S80 2.4 and Compass

Dave reviewed on 16 July 2007 a Volvo S80 2.4 (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 1999 - 2006) with a Compass Rallye 524 of 1527 kg.

I've towed this caravan Compass Rallye GTE 500/4 for the past 17 months, and have found it to be great until you hit 65 mph, then it fish tails, Now I've tried loading it in lots of different ways, done it empty, max limits each time hit 65 BANG its there. Apart from this, i would say the van and car are a perfect match. The S80 is just fab, mines a 2002 model, but I've done a canny few miles in her 148,320 miles to be exact, only thing replaced, apart from normal service parts, brake pads, and discs etc, was a new air con commpressor, and a top engine mount. Apparently the air comp is noted to go at 90,000miles, in almost 75% of all S80s.

I find the 5th gear can be a little to high ratioed (when towing), need to drop a gear often on hills, as the gear struggling to pull. however drop it into 4th and BANG of she goes again. I've had 350 miles out of her on a full tank, towing the van down from Fort William in Scotland to north yorks last year, she sat a 60mph all day, without missing a beat.
I was on my way home this afternoon from Scarbrough, when I had to stop on a hill just outside Whitby, (Rosewhip) the hill had temp lights on hit, but you couldnt see them untill ontop of them. I had to stop andwait for the green light I honestly thought she wouldnt get away the hill was 20% incline UPHILL. But she proved me wrong, mind you the cluch smelt a little hot until I managed to get it into 2nd. PEW!!!. was I pleased!!.
Would I recommend the S80 as a towcar =YES, would I recommend one as a family car= YES, would I buy another= YES YES Overall a brilliant motor and a pleasure to drive and own

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional