Towcar.info

User Reviews

Volkswagen Transporter

Volkswagen T6 2.0 BiTDI aut. and Adria

Carsten reviewed on 26 May 2021 a Volkswagen T6 2.0 BiTDI aut. (150 Kw/204 PS, Year: 2015 - 2019) with a Adria Alpina 663 HT of n.a. kg.

Perfect match

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 Multivan 2.5 TDI and Bailey

Ian Dowkes reviewed on 08 May 2015 a Volkswagen T5 Multivan 2.5 TDI (128 Kw/174 PS, Year: 2004 - 2007) with a Bailey Unicorn III Cadiz of 1491 kg.

Due to (almost) always taking a full suspension electric mountain bike with spare wheels and toolkit, total weight 56lbs, on trips we required more storage space than most caravaners.

To get more storage we replaced the BMW X5 30D with a SWB T5, for sure we lost some power (340bhp down to 173bhp) but the T5 has been a pleasure, only the severest motorway climbs require changing down to 5th from 6th gear.

Cruising at 60mph on motorways/dual carriageways is easy and an amazing 32mpg, which can be improves to 36 if max speed of 55mph maintained on motorways.

Storage as you might expect is amazing and stability is exemplary, at least as good as the X5. Only modification from the standard T5 was removal of the 16" steel wheels for 18" winter graded alloys

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI and Adria

Adrian Jennings reviewed on 16 November 2013 a Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2007 - 2009) with a Adria Adora 542 DL of 1400 kg.

Having made a few trips in this outfit now, it works brilliantly. The T5 swallows luggage with ease and carries passengers in comfort. Mine is a Kombi with the 130 PS engine and six speed box, it cruises effortlessly at the legal speed limit, fifth gear providing reserve power for motorway inclines. Fuel economy is around 28 MPG towing, 36 without the caravan.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 1.9 TDI and Adria

Martin reviewed on 24 February 2013 a Volkswagen T5 1.9 TDI (62 Kw/84 PS, Year: 2007 - 2009) with a Adria Altea 502 DK of 1200 kg.

What a lovely drive hardly know that there is a caravan on the back.drove from Somerset to the south of France ,bags of torque
Average mpg 35 / 37 @ 60mph on motorway ,pulls like a train on the hills loads of room and very comfy in side would highly recommend this as a tow vehicle .

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 1.9 TDI and Elddis

MR S.EVANS reviewed on 04 March 2012 a Volkswagen T5 1.9 TDI (77 Kw/105 PS, Year: 2004 - 2007) with a Elddis Avante 534 of 1425 kg.

Hi ,this is first caravan we have been towing with T5 minibus ,its a long wheel base so loads of room for family plus all caravan equipment,this keeps caravan very light,on the motorway its very sturdy.Its a good set up.......

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI and Swift

N ayris reviewed on 22 January 2012 a Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2004 - 2007) with a Swift Conqueror 530 of 1590 kg.

excellent towing vehicle great in all departments.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI and Bailey

Julian erridge reviewed on 21 December 2011 a Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2007 - 2009) with a Bailey Senator Carolina of 1696 kg.

i have a vw t5 130bhp {will be remapped to 170} want a bailey twin carolina ,any body tow with a vw t5 heavy van just over the kerb weight any advice would be good

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan 2.5 TDI and Abbey

John slade reviewed on 21 August 2011 a Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan 2.5 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2005 - 2009) with a Abbey Spectrum 419 of 1558 kg.

towed with this vehicle for 3 years never any trouble with hills or stability only down fall is lack of traction on wet surface.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI and Bailey

N M Kitchen reviewed on 30 October 2010 a Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI (128 Kw/174 PS, Year: 2004 - 2007) with a Bailey Senator Carolina of 1696 kg.

I've had 3 Caravelle's, the last purchased in 2006 on an 05 plate. If you want a vehicle with power, torque and oceans of room - then this is it! OK, so it lacks 4-wheel drive but the other side of the coin is it doesn't cost a fortune in road tax and fuel. I've looked into buying a newer vehicle for towing my Carolina but after much research, I would struggle to get a better tow / holiday vehicle!

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI and Abbey

Ashley Bond reviewed on 17 October 2010 a Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2007 - 2009) with a Abbey Spectrum 540 of 1732 kg.

Towed all though france and uk no problems great credit to VW also we have two karts in the van and still pulls like a train

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI and Elddis

C a peacock reviewed on 12 July 2009 a Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2004 - 2007) with a Elddis Avante 505 of 1500 kg.

EXCELLENT TOWER MOST ROADS IN 6TH OVER 30 TOWING ON FLAT ROADS CAN RECOMEND ONE

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI and Elddis

C apeacock reviewed on 20 November 2008 a Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2007 - 2009) with a Elddis Avante 505 of 1358 kg.

effortless towing tow mostley in 6th 60 mph 1700 rpm highly recommeded credit to VW

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 Multivan 2.5 TDI and Hobby

OyvindSP reviewed on 01 September 2008 a Volkswagen T5 Multivan 2.5 TDI (128 Kw/174 PS, Year: 2004 - 2007) with a Hobby Prestige 720 UKFe of 2000 kg.

We have had this combo for two full summer-holidays, and we are extremely happy with it. Motorway-driving is fluent and smooth, it's easy to follow the traffic, and ther's lots of excess power to overtake if necessary. Compared to my earlier experienses, the train is very stable even in strong side-wind.

At camp-site, we haver never missed traction, as the engine deliveres from 800 revs, making it possible to adjust speed just by operating clutch and brake if necessary.

For us, this has really been a lift to our camp-life!

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T4 2.4 D and Hobby

Mike walkley reviewed on 06 August 2008 a Volkswagen T4 2.4 D (57 Kw/78 PS, Year: 0 - 2003) with a Hobby Excelsior 610 UF of 1789 kg.

plod,plod & more plod.
it always got there but oh it was hard work.
i also have a 1993 chateau cantara 2000/983 & AGAIN IT WAS HARD WORK.
the camper was a t4 WESTFALIA CALIFORNIA CLUB with a fixed high roof.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T4 2.5 TDI and Lunar

Mick Hirst reviewed on 18 July 2008 a Volkswagen T4 2.5 TDI (65 Kw/88 PS, Year: 0 - 2003) with a Lunar Quasar 525 of 1300 kg.

Our T5 is an Autosleeper Trident SWB conversion. It has plenty of bulk to keep the unit stable, but I would like a bit more power. We are slowed down by some long motorway hills (West Country going up towards Bristol) and have to use 4th gear quite a bit. Fuel consumption does not seem to be all that affected and may be around 32mpg instead of 36 not towing. You do have to use all the power to keep the unit moving and on some long A road hills, its down to 3rd gear.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI and Fleetwood

David reviewed on 05 June 2008 a Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI (128 Kw/174 PS, Year: 2007 - 2009) with a Fleetwood Heritage 640-EST TA of 1625 kg.

T5 with 172 hp is a fantastic tow vehicle. We cruise at above legal motorway speed limit in 6th no problems :)
Fuel is about 400miles to tank full. Stability is great except for very high speed vans overtaking too close, as normal. Could do with a longer 1st gear though, in my opinion.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan 2.5 TDI and Bailey

John Marshall reviewed on 05 April 2008 a Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan 2.5 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2005 - 2009) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Bordeaux of 1300 kg.

Brilliant outfit - room for 7 in the car + camping gear for those not in the caravan - very stable and capable towcar, and with excellent lock for reversing into those awkward corners!

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 Multivan 2.5 TDI and LMC

Peter Lorentzen reviewed on 16 July 2007 a Volkswagen T5 Multivan 2.5 TDI (128 Kw/174 PS, Year: 2004 - 2007) with a LMC Favorit 720 RBK of 1869 kg.

First time with this set up. Drove from Denmark to Italy across Brenner pass. Absolutely brilliant performance from the T5 Multivan, lot's of power, smooth stability of both the car and caravan. After our trip I was even more happy with our car and caravan, due to this experience! I feel very lucky :-)

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI and Elddis

D W Lewis reviewed on 03 April 2007 a Volkswagen T5 2.5 TDI (128 Kw/174 PS, Year: 2004 - 2007) with a Elddis Crusader Super Storm of 1810 kg.

This is a great towcar loads of room i have towed at high speed through france with no problems and over the mountains through Spain you get to overtake all the juganaughts best tow i've had and i have been towing for over 30 years.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 Multivan 2.5 TDI and Knaus

Vcelka Maja reviewed on 25 March 2007 a Volkswagen T5 Multivan 2.5 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2004 - 2007) with a Knaus Sport 420 LD of 1240 kg.

Mno a tady je ten Multivan. Vaha pres 3,5 (jen o 14 kg) jizdni vykony v podstate stejne.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan 2.5 TDI and Knaus

Claus Poulsen reviewed on 11 December 2006 a Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan 2.5 TDI (128 Kw/174 PS, Year: 2005 - 2009) with a Knaus Sudwind 550 FSK of 1415 kg.

My experience with my Multivan 2.5 tdi and my Knaus 550 FSK is that there is enough power in all situations. I even run the 6th gear most time, and only when speed in below 80 km/h I must go lower. This only happens on very steep roads such as in the Kassels in mid Germany and in the Alps. The max speed is > 130 km/h (only tried this once), and there is still power reserve to go faster if you have the curage. I never sell this car 

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) 2.5 TDI and Bailey

Dave smallwood reviewed on 07 December 2006 a Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) 2.5 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2005 - 2009) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of 1299 kg.

I HAVE HAD THE BAILEY FOR 2YEARS NOW .THE T5 TOWS LIKE DREAM. MIRRORS GOOD VIEWS DOWN SIDES OF CARAVAN TAIL GATE JUST CLEARS A FRAME & BODY MIND THE JOCKEY WHEEL.GOOD ON FUEL. WHEN IN 6TH GEAR 60MPH @1700RPM IT SEEMS EFFORTLESS.A JOY TO DRIVE

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional