Towcar.info

User Reviews

Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen Golf Sportsvan 2.0 TDI and Swift

T Chaplin reviewed on 20 August 2017 a Volkswagen Golf Sportsvan 2.0 TDI (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2014 - 2018) with a Swift Basecamp of 1100 kg.

Been towing my swift basecamp laden weight 1100 kg and have had no problems in over 2000 miles of towing always stable even when being overtaken by heavy wagons and buses , I have managed depending on the roads between 32 &37 mpg and 50 mpg solo

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.6 TDI BlueMotion and Avondale

Allancameron42@gmail.com reviewed on 17 March 2015 a Volkswagen Golf 1.6 TDI BlueMotion (81 Kw/110 PS, Year: 2013 - 2017) with a Avondale Dart 510-5 of 1180 kg.

Great stable little car for towing. Powers up hills no bother at all and on the flat I can put it in to fifth and the cruise control does the rest. Downside is golf is small and we need an estate car. If your towing a lightweight van and are confident with the extra weight then in my view the car we have is fit for purpose.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI and Lunar

Robb Burn reviewed on 25 July 2014 a Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2012 - 2017) with a Lunar Quasar 462 of 1147 kg.

I have used the car towing the equivalent of a Lunar Quasar 462 and experienced no difficulties, generally achieving 35/38 mpg when towing. Although specifying that we were towing a caravan a Via Michelin route erroneously took us through the Puy Mary mountain pass in France and, being unable to turn around, we completed the crossing with no problems. This is a good towing car and a very economical car when being used solo.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI and Knaus

Per reviewed on 22 June 2014 a Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2008 - 2012) with a Knaus Starclass 560 of 1800 kg.

My caravan is 1600 kg. I made a test running forth and back on the highway in order to test fuel consumption: Cheapest at 80 and 90 kph is 5th gear! So when driving I make use of 5th gear and rarely have to change to 4th. Distances between each gear is perfect. Without caravan I make 22-23 kpl when keeping to the Danish speedlimits.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.6 TDI [DSG7] and Lunar

Glyn reviewed on 03 August 2013 a Volkswagen Golf 1.6 TDI [DSG7] (77 Kw/105 PS, Year: 2009 - 2012) with a Lunar Venus 490/4 of 1199 kg.

Was a little concerned if Golf was up to towing the Lunar Venus but cannot fault the outfit match after more than six outings. Would recommend the Golf Match 1.6 TDI as a towcar returning approx 38 mpg while towing. Good acceleration & always feels in control of caravan in all conditions.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI [5MT] and Coachman

Gd485 reviewed on 25 February 2013 a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI [5MT] (77 Kw/105 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Coachman Amara 450/2 of 1330 kg.

My golf engine has been remapped from 105bhp to 143bhp by Superchips. The performance is excellent and the caravan is fitted with ALKO ATC to aid the stability. Prior to the remap the engine pulled well but needed careful planning when hill climbing.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Abbey

Peter Thomson reviewed on 06 February 2013 a Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2008 - 2012) with a Abbey GTS 215 of 1360 kg.

Have been very pleased with the Golf as a tow car. Four years of annual holidays in France and Spain using cruise control set at 60 mph on motorways giving 27 to 30 mpg in windless conditions. No trace of a wobble in spite of the van being rather heavy for the car.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.2 TSI BlueM. Techn. and Eriba

Alan Cruickshank reviewed on 03 December 2012 a Volkswagen Golf 1.2 TSI BlueM. Techn. (77 Kw/105 PS, Year: 2009 - 2012) with a Eriba Touring Puck 230 GT of 790 kg.

First time towing I was little worried as the golf was new with only 700km (500miles) on the clock and it hadn't been used before for towing. Anyway, it turned out that it towed perfectly down through France. just a matter of setting cruise control at 110 K.p.h. on the motorway in 6th gear returned 73 k.p.l. fantastic. Since that time we've revisited France, each trip being a perfect journey.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.6 TDI BlueMotion and Eriba

Chrisandmeera@gmail.com reviewed on 25 October 2012 a Volkswagen Golf 1.6 TDI BlueMotion (77 Kw/105 PS, Year: 2009 - 2012) with a Eriba Puck 230 of 790 kg.

Towing a puck 120 is a dream, mpg and stability is perfect.
All this without doing my sums as far as nose weight ect goes.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI and Lunar

David Atkinson reviewed on 16 March 2012 a Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2008 - 2012) with a Lunar Quasar 462 of 1200 kg.

The Golf 140 is very stable when towing. The acceleration in gears one to five is strong as long as the revs are kept above 1600 after changing gear. Sixth gear is fine at 60mph but best not to use it on inclines. Traction is excellent due to the electronic differential even on wet grass. Depending on the wind I average 36 to 42 mpg when towing the caravan and carrying two mountain bikes externally. For the previous sixteen years we used 4X4's for towing and this was a very expesive mistake. The Golf does everying they could and is great to drive. Solo the Golf has averaged 61.4mpg over the winter. My previous Freelander 2 could not average half this! The Golf 140 is a very capable car and tows 1260Kg with ease.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Sprite

Russell reviewed on 13 September 2011 a Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2004 - 2008) with a Sprite Alpine 4 of 1199 kg.

Used this site to choose a caravan that a Golf TDI would tow well and the Sprite Alpine 4 fitted both the car and our requirements perfectly and we are so pleased with the combination. The Golf tows as well as our old Volvo 850 but does almost 30mpg compared with 15 and we get 57mpg in solo use. Cannot recommend this combination highly enough.
Thank you WhatTowCar.com your results were spot on!

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI and Elddis

Howard reviewed on 12 May 2011 a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI (66 Kw/90 PS, Year: 1994 - 1997) with a Elddis Avante 462 of 1320 kg.

I have towed this combination (caravan mtplm 1320 and car 1360kg). I had the car modified for increased torque and BHP so the performance was ok but the combination didn't feel stable even with an Alko stabiliser hitch. I'm looking for a heavier car ...

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf Plus 1.9 TDI and Eriba

MacLachlan reviewed on 17 November 2010 a Volkswagen Golf Plus 1.9 TDI (77 Kw/105 PS, Year: 2005 - 2009) with a Eriba Triton 420 of 1091 kg.

Golf Plus 1.9 TDI is an excellent towcar for the Eriba Triton. At 55mph we get 35 to 40 mpg depending on the inclines. Very stable outfit.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf Plus 1.9 TDI [DSG7] and Eriba

MacLachlan reviewed on 12 August 2010 a Volkswagen Golf Plus 1.9 TDI [DSG7] (77 Kw/105 PS, Year: 2008 - 2009) with a Eriba Touring Triton 420 of 1000 kg.

Trouble free combination with plenty power and excellent consumption figures. Average 40mpg while towing. Have towed for 40 years and this is best combination yet.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.4 and Caravan

Brian dodd reviewed on 30 May 2010 a Volkswagen Golf 1.4 (59 Kw/80 PS, Year: 2008 - 2012) with a Caravan of 1050 kg.

I used my1.4 mark 6 six golf, to pull a 1992 elddis mistral 2 berth from glasgow to fife. Was my first time towing a caravan so i was a bit nervous that the car wasnt powerful enough,According to vw the caravan was already 250kg overweight but the car towed caravan with no problems, uphill was a bit of a struggle but 3rd gear manages it. will sit in 4th gear no problem, and fifth gear only really on straight roads.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Coachman

Roger reviewed on 31 October 2009 a Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2008 - 2012) with a Coachman Amara 380/2 of 1205 kg.

We have 30 years in and around towing using every towing combination including about 20,000 to 30,000 miles per year. This is our first Golf & Coachman and have own the car since March 2009 and the caravan since October 2009 and have already covered some 3,000 miles towing and have found the combination very good current mpg about 28 to 30 at 55mph. Handling is good and performs well at this time all is well.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI and Caravan

Dan west reviewed on 22 July 2009 a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI (81 Kw/110 PS, Year: 1998 - 2001) with a Caravan of n.a. kg.

ive owned my avondale perle adonis for a few years now and have towed it all over the country in my 1998 vw golf 1900 gt tdi ive towed it in all sorts of wheater and the car pulled like a train ps; the caravan weight was 692 kg unladen

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.6 and Standaard Caravan

Mr m maddock reviewed on 14 July 2009 a Volkswagen Golf 1.6 (75 Kw/102 PS, Year: 2008 - 2012) with a Standaard Caravan of 1050 kg.

towes very well,i towed a swift corniche 14.4 weight 1050 full laden.nose weight 68kg.well on top of the job.out fit felt very stable.2007 1.6 FSI.GOOD MILES PER GALLON36MPGTOWEING

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI [5MT] and Knaus

Jesús Reverte reviewed on 18 June 2009 a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI [5MT] (77 Kw/105 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Knaus Sport 450 FU of 1115 kg.

Last summer we drove for about 1,400 km with very low payload in the caravan, and about 250 Kg. payload in the car, the outfit runs well in motorways. 5th gear's usability is too low, in my oppinion only usable with very good conditions, no wind, no slope and perfect asphalt. For using the 5th you have to drive between 110 and 120 Km/h, and this is too high speed for this outfit. Under 105 Km/h, the engine seemed to have better performance in 4th gear.
Driving under 90 km/h the outfit stability is quite good under crosswind conditions or also when being overtaked by heavy vehicles.
My own conclusion is that the match between car and caravan is quite good, but if I had to buy the car now, I'd buy the 2.0 TDI 140 hp.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.6 FSI and Caravan

MARK MADDOCK63 reviewed on 27 April 2009 a Volkswagen Golf 1.6 FSI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2003 - 2007) with a Caravan of 1025 kg.

very stable pulls well plenty of pulling power in 3rd/4th 6thgear most of the time.caravan swift cornche 14ft4' unladen 885.pay load 150

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI and Knaus

Per H. Kristensen reviewed on 09 November 2008 a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2000 - 2003) with a Knaus Azur 500 FU of 1500 kg.

22 km per liter that is ... :)

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI and Knaus

Per H. Kristensen reviewed on 09 November 2008 a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2000 - 2003) with a Knaus Azur 500 FU of 1500 kg.

I tow 1500 Kg with my 6-speed 1,9TDI with absolutely no problems. It does 1500 rpm at 80 km/h in 6th and 10 km per liter. Solo it´s about 22 km/h (I do stick to the speed limits, 80 km/h on main roads.

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI and Caravan

DAVIE DUKE reviewed on 19 October 2008 a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 TDI (81 Kw/110 PS, Year: 1998 - 2001) with a Caravan leeg: 750 kg of 1000 kg.

TODAY I TOWED FROM INVERARY TO LIVINGSTON . ABOUT 100 MILE . IT WAS REALLY WINDY AND HEAVY RAIN .THE CAR PULLED REALLY WELL FOR A Y REG ..

Outfit Match >>>


Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI GT and Fleetwood

Paul Quinn reviewed on 25 May 2008 a Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI GT (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2006 - 2008) with a Fleetwood Sonata Rhapsody of 1375 kg.

I have driven about 1500 miles so far with this van I bought a few months ago.The car pulls very well giving about 30 MPG. I can't use 6th gear except for down hill and best fuel consumption is using lower gears even on slight inclines as revving the engine a bit more uses less fuel.The power is very good and pulls like a train. Vert impressed.

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional