Towcar.info

User Reviews

Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Coachman

Ronald Shaw reviewed on 07 February 2018 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2013 - 2016) with a Coachman Amara 520/4 of 1480 kg.

No problems at all the Rav pulls and and runs fine 👍👌

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D and Swift

John reviewed on 07 November 2014 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Swift Toscane 410 of 1145 kg.

I tow a Swift Challenger 400se with my 3dr Rav4 D4D...
effortless road driving and brilliant in slippery/muddy fields.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D and Bailey

T turner reviewed on 13 May 2014 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Bailey Pageant Champagne of 1407 kg.

hi if your having trouble with the handle of the alco take it off and but a 4x4 handle you just slip the handle over and pull down no opening the back door to hitchup cheers .tom

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Peter Lloyd reviewed on 22 October 2013 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2006 - 2009) with a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of 1244 kg.

Rav 4 57 plate is the perfect tow car,the gearing & torque give it a real gutsy feel you will enjoy towing effortlessly with this superb vehicle !

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Simon Farrant reviewed on 02 September 2013 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2006 - 2009) with a Bailey Pegasus Milan of 1499 kg.

The Rav 4 06 plate 136bhp is somewhat lights for this van as a little over 85% weight ratio, but have towed for 2 yrs ,and travelled around 200 miles on single journey's and the Rav has coped admirably and no problems. Important not to drive over the permitted speed of 60 mph as then feels more unstable. I have had the Rav chipped and makes massive difference towing, especially uphill. On recent journey Aug 13 back from Cornwall got 36 mpg so very happy.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D and Sprite

William rawlins reviewed on 31 October 2012 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Sprite Alpine 4 of 1199 kg.

have rav 4 towes great same as above lowe ti jockey wheel ,pumping sursprinion up may left body work up enough to cure it

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 VVT-i aut. and Sterling

Jim reviewed on 18 April 2012 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 VVT-i aut. (112 Kw/152 PS, Year: 2006 - 2009) with a Sterling Europa 470 of 1138 kg.

I tow a Europa 480 with a weight of 1195kg (model not listed in programme) with a RAV 4 2.4 4wd (also not listed). Towing is not a problem although the tyres tend to get hot sometimes depending on condition and have a hot rubber smell. The car can struggle a bit in mountainous areas but some of our hills are a bit steep. Other than that it is fine

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 and Lunar

Paul reviewed on 19 June 2011 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2000 - 2006) with a Lunar Quasar 534 of 1320 kg.

We have been towing with our Rav 4, 2 litre petrol for over 5 years now.Firstly with an Eldiss 482 Oddysey, then from last summer a new Lunar Quasar 534.
The Rav has performed very well indeed taking us on 10 to 12 towing trips every year. It has never let us down and i would say the only downside has been, towing on very steep hills where you need to use the gears more, but saying that the lunar loaded is over 90% of the Rav,s weight.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D and Lunar

Denboy reviewed on 03 March 2011 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Lunar Lexon SI of 1476 kg.

my weight ratio is 95% but the car pulls well and I have not been embarassed with the performance except when starting off on an incline --result clutch fumes.
I too find the rear door opening too restrictive, and I had spring assister inserts to raise the vehicle about 50mm
higher which avoids jockey wheel grounding.
Definately the most comfortable and stable car that I have owned.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D and Bailey

R JAMES reviewed on 04 September 2010 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Bailey Pageant Provence of 1475 kg.

I HAVE RAISED TOWSURE TOWBALL BY PUTTING A SCREW IN BOTTOM OF DOOR TOWBALL AT TOP SETTING AND ADDING SPRING ASSISTERS TOWS LIKE A DREAM 14 TO 17 INCHES NO JOCKYWHEEL GROUNDING

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Ace

Dave Taylor reviewed on 19 August 2010 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2009 - 2013) with a Ace Jubilee Statesman of 1383 kg.

What a car this is, but never reviewed properly in the caravan press.
We have just toured france with the RAV and our Ace Jubilee Statesman, without any problems, until we had a tyre blowout on the caravan, before I could react the RAV4 had already taken control,traction control, Vehicle stability all working to control the vehicle.
The caravan never wavered, and we made it safely to the hard shoulder.
I would recommend The latest RAV4 to anybody, either towing or solo, amazing car. Oh nearly forgot to mention TYRON bands another life saver.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Dave John Croker reviewed on 15 August 2010 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2009 - 2013) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of 1362 kg.

I have found this car very good for towing,I get about 28 MPG towing and sits at 60 MPH all day.Solo I return 47 to 52 MPG.If you have a detachable tow bar fitted I under stand there is only one type that fits.Mine is a Witter and goes in upside down then turns up 180 degrees to lock in.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Andrew Williams reviewed on 11 August 2010 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2006 - 2009) with a Bailey Senator Indiana of 1464 kg.

I would question the last review showing 75% it was more like 87%

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Andrew Williams reviewed on 11 August 2010 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2006 - 2009) with a Bailey Senator Indiana of 1464 kg.

We have had no problems towing a Bailey Indiana from west wales all the way down to Newquay in cornwall providing it is properly loaded , there was plenty of power available from the engine and was very stable.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Tabbert

Steve Ellis reviewed on 01 August 2010 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2006 - 2009) with a Tabbert DaVinci 525 HE of 1480 kg.

After a series of problems towing with a 3.0 Espace, our new Rav4 (albeit 3 years old) drove Vienna to Dresden without breaking sweat. So far, very happy with the towing capabilities of the Rav4!

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 VVT-i aut. and Lunar

ANDY reviewed on 01 February 2010 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 VVT-i aut. (112 Kw/152 PS, Year: 2006 - 2009) with a Lunar Lexon EB of 1370 kg.

I have towed with a Landrover Discovery 1993 200TDI and recently changed to a Rav4 2.0lt Auto this has a very stable and good ride towing my Lunar Lexon EB.There is plenty of power available and copes with steep hills without too much trouble. I have to says it suprised me thats its better than the Discovery.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D and Abbey

Paul keeble reviewed on 15 November 2009 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Abbey GTS 418 of 1490 kg.

Currently towing a Bailey Discovery 400 with my 2001 Rav4 D4D. Love the car and it tows the Bailey easily. The 4 wheel drive is a godsend on grass pitches and slippery fields. I have a removeable Witter tow ball which works OK but the caravan angle is wrong. It doesnt ground the jockey wheel but the caravan isnt being towed level which I dont like. I love the RAV4 D4D and as I say it does tow well so I wont change it but I am looking for a solution. Next weekend I am changing the Bailey Discovery 400 for an Abbey 418 GTS which is a heavier van (at 1490 MTPLM) which is close to the RAVs max allowed towing weight of 1500kgs. I am confident the RAV4 will be happy towing this van but I am talking to garages about modifying the towbar and bottom of the back door to raise the tow ball height so that the van is towed level.
I will report back how the RAV4 tows the Abbey 418 GTS and how I get on with the modification. (The tow bar is easy as the Witter removeable tow bar lends itself well to raising it with two strong brackets but the door customising is not so easy.)

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D and Caravan

Kevin reviewed on 08 September 2009 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Caravan of 1050 kg.

I have had the same problems as above, so i got myself a detachable tow ball, but had problems when trying to hich up as i have ths alco hitch. when the handle is in the vertical position it catches the spare wheel cover, so iam still try to sort the problem.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Dethleffs

Albert Hall reviewed on 21 August 2009 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2006 - 2009) with a Dethleffs Camper 540 SK of 1400 kg.

I have a Dethleffs 540SK and have towed with a 57plate rav with no problems at all. You hardly know you're pulling one and a half tons and would recommend the rav as a cracking tugging motor.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D and Bailey

Peter Wood reviewed on 13 July 2009 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Bordeaux of 1300 kg.

We have just come back touring France with our Rav 4 with a Bailey Pagent Bordeaux S6 and we found the car did its job very well.
My only concern was the height of the tow ball but i took it to my local towbar fitter and he solved the problem by raiseing it from 14inches to 17 inches and took a bit out of the rear door at the bottom and you cannot tell and the door still opens ok.
I cannot fault the at all for towing it did a good job.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D and Swift

Linda reviewed on 29 June 2009 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Swift Challenger 460 of 1284 kg.

Our 2003 Rav 4 diesel pulled the Swift challenger caravan well. You cannot open the rear door without
removing the towball. So anything left out has to be
put in through the rear passenger doors. Looking into
buying a removable towball for the future. A great car
though as we had the older petrol version for
10 years. Extremely reliable.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 and Bailey

Steve reviewed on 01 April 2009 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2000 - 2006) with a Bailey Ranger 460/2 of 1131 kg.

I tow a Bailey Ranger Series 5 2 berth.It handles this with no problem in general. The only time it gets a bit tricky is pushing backwards on grass or bumpy ground, its does it but can struggle.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D D-CAT and Ace

David Taylor reviewed on 18 June 2008 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D D-CAT (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2006 - 2013) with a Ace Jubilee Statesman of 1383 kg.

I have towed with the RAV4 all over England and through France in the last 18 months, with no problems at all. It is an excellent tow car and I would recommend it to anybody.
The power is there when you need it, motorway driving is a breeze. The car feels stable in all condition.
The comfort level of the RAV4 is also very good, high driving position giving you brilliant vision.
With combination I have I like to run with a about 85Kgs on the nose weight this make for a very comfortable journey.
I have heard complaints that you can not open the rear door when hitched up, but this is not true, and you do not have to change the handle on the AL-KO stabliser.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D and Bailey

Andy reviewed on 25 April 2008 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2006) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of 1395 kg.

All the above info is exactly true. I think the RAV is a great towcar. The only problem and its quite annoying is the towbar height is very low. Due to the fact the back door will not open with a proper hieght towbar fitted. I find the jocky wheel will scrap the ground now and again (my nose weight has been checked and is perfect). The only solution I seem to have found is rear Air Suspension. Basicaly the van is hitched on. The rear suspension is then adjusted upwards to provide the correct ride hieght. Unsure how much they are or who fits them, but I am looking. I like the jeep too much to change it for another.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Lunar

Iain Leith reviewed on 30 March 2008 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2006 - 2009) with a Lunar Quasar 462 of 1250 kg.

We have a 2 year old Lunar Quaser and a new Rav4 2.2D-4D and we have been right down into England and the match has been perfect. I have been a caravanner for 25 years and i would say that the RAV4 is up there with the best tow cars i have owned and that includes good old Ford Granadas, Senators and Jaguar X type. We are in the process of waiting for our new Swift Challenger 540 so will write a report on that outfit when we return from our holidays.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 and Gypsey

Dawid Fourie reviewed on 20 February 2008 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2000 - 2006) with a Gypsey Regal of 1250 kg.

I have towed my gypsey down to the coast 1300 km.and it pulled like a dream. 5th gear usability was low on any up gradient. a Bit of swing over 130 km/h or passing big trucks

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.0 and Avondale

R.J.Brown reviewed on 19 October 2007 a Toyota RAV4 2.0 (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2000 - 2006) with a Avondale Dart 470-2 of 1120 kg.

I have towed with a Toyota Rav 4 for nearly 9 years, & I have driven in some very rough conditions ie: very muddy & very windy, without any problems, in fact it out performed our friends much heftier & more powerful engined Vauxhall Frontera 2.8.on a very muddy slope on a camping field that we were both on, even though it was horendous conditions both wet & extremely muddy & others were being towed of by tractors & even they had problems at times. The only thing that the Rav4 misses out on is steep hill climbs & by that i mean from a standing position or very slow run up to the hill with a gradient of approx 17%, which believe me was a little daunting but it managed to cope in first & second gears fairly well & we have done this climb many times over the years, so it was not just a one of time at 17%. It is also good when you are overtaking which is know made even better with the new Alko 3004 Stabiliser a real god send. All in all i have nothing but praise for the Rav4 & I will certainly keep on towing with one as long as they carry on making them.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Steve Jones reviewed on 07 September 2007 a Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2006 - 2009) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of 1362 kg.

We have recently purchsed a 56 plate 2.2 diesel RAV4, which has got approx 5,500 miles on the clock. Our Bailey Pageant Champagne is a 2005 model. I'm very impressed with the towing capacity of the RAV4, and the way it controlled the Bailey Pageant.
There is ample power and strong acceleration, which felt effortless for the RAV4.
This is our fisrt caravan and having not towed a caravan before, I was a little bit nervous on our first outing.
But the RAV4 filled me with great confidence and I can't wait to get away again.
Overall I think the RAV4 and Bailey Pageant are a perfect match.

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional