Towcar.info

User Reviews

Subaru Forester

Subaru Forester 2.0D aut. and Bailey

Rob reviewed on 27 July 2019 a Subaru Forester 2.0D aut. (108 Kw/147 PS, Year: 2013 - 2019) with a Bailey Phoenix 642 of 1382 kg.

My Subaru Forester 2.0 diesel with a manual gearbox is simply not up to the job of pulling a caravan weighing 1450kg (weight upgrade). it struggles to get up to speed when coming onto a motorway to the point of being dangerous. 50 to 60mph acceleration when trying to overtake is nonexistent. definitely not a make of car that I could recommend. my local Subaru dealer is incompetent and dishonest.
Steer clear of Subaru

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.0i aut. and Kabe

Pertti Lehtinen reviewed on 18 December 2014 a Subaru Forester 2.0i aut. (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2013 - 2019) with a Kabe Smaragd XL Ks of 1700 kg.

A great combination, specially when driving with the cruise control. Lineatronic (CVT) is really good transmission for towing caravan like KABE Smaragd. Max power I've ever taken from the engine is (headwind, uphill, ScanGauge-reading) 122 hp. There is still some extra power remaining for accelerating. The best thing is that engine RPM is around 2300 RPM when level road and no wind or tailwind. Average RPM is around 2800 -3200 RPM and max peak around 5700 RPM. This leads to very low fuel consumption. Min. around 11.2 l/100 km, average 11,8 l/100 km and max reading in (headwind / uphill / 90 km/h speed) was 14,8 l/100 km. Measured distance was 180 km. I always used [S]-mode when towing any trailer.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.5 XT aut. and Swift

Sarah Mumby reviewed on 16 June 2013 a Subaru Forester 2.5 XT aut. (169 Kw/230 PS, Year: 2005 - 2008) with a Swift Charisma 570 of 1452 kg.

First caravan I've owned and the car doesn't seem to struggle with this heavy combination and has plenty of power to spare. Acceleration is enough to cope with pulling out into a busy road in fairly heavy traffic. The figures quoted here are slightly different from the ones the manufacturer quotes as max towed weight is 2100kg and the car is able to accelerate quicker than stated here when solo along with bigger wheels and tyres.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.0D and Burstner

Alfred reviewed on 01 October 2012 a Subaru Forester 2.0D (108 Kw/147 PS, Year: 2008 - 2013) with a Burstner Averso 495 TK of 1330 kg.

We have the Forester since june this year and itt owed perfectly our Burstner Averso Fifty 480 TK 2009. We co to pirinees so to drive uphill 20% without problemsMotor enguine teperature Ok and easy going.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.5 XT and Coachman

John reviewed on 27 April 2011 a Subaru Forester 2.5 XT (169 Kw/230 PS, Year: 2005 - 2008) with a Coachman Amara 520/4 of 1500 kg.

My Prodrive Forester is a great towcar. It is still a quick car when fully loaded and towing a big caravan. the only drawback is at the pumps. Expect less than 20mpg with the van on and low to mid 20's solo.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.0 XT and Lunar

Rhys Morgan reviewed on 19 July 2010 a Subaru Forester 2.0 XT (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Lunar Chateau 450 of 1000 kg.

The Subaru towing a Lunar Premiere 516. Fantastic traction in wet and around site, great acceleration, cruising but unsettled by lorries (long single axle van?).
Self levelling suspension a bonus. Economy of 21mpg is fine when normal is 28mpg. Great all round vehicle.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.0 X and Bailey

B Mann reviewed on 27 April 2010 a Subaru Forester 2.0 X (92 Kw/125 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Bailey Senator Arizona of 1464 kg.

I have over the past seven years towed with this car all vans have been Bailey Senators Performance has been great it does as it says on the tin. exceptional best tow car I have ever had
as long as you keep to the correct towing weight, performs well under all road conditions inc snow.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.0 XT and Bailey

Rob reviewed on 05 February 2009 a Subaru Forester 2.0 XT (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of 1258 kg.

Safe, stable, powerful acceleration,un-settled by side winds or caravan movement. Spacious, comfortable.....very reliable...BAD POINT...20 mpg..BUT good points definately outweigh

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.0 X and Bailey

Clifton Michael Cowling reviewed on 02 April 2008 a Subaru Forester 2.0 X (116 Kw/158 PS, Year: 2005 - 2008) with a Bailey Ranger 460/4 of 1172 kg.

My Subaru Forester 2.0 XT pulls my Bailey Ranger 460/4 like a dream. I have to constantly remind myself that the van is there. Everything seems to be effortless to the Subaru. A really great towing car.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.0 X [in low-gear] and Bailey

B Mann reviewed on 24 March 2008 a Subaru Forester 2.0 X [in low-gear] (116 Kw/158 PS, Year: 2005 - 2008) with a Bailey Senator Arizona of 1464 kg.

I have over the past eight years towed touring caravans with nothing other than subaru forester, I am on my third new forester, a super tow car, all round good
performer, would not have anything else.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.5 XT aut. and Coachman

Mr K.J.Radford reviewed on 02 February 2008 a Subaru Forester 2.5 XT aut. (169 Kw/230 PS, Year: 2005 - 2008) with a Coachman Amara 550/5 of 1540 kg.

The best towcar / caravan combination have ever had, and I have towed with 8 different ones with 4 different caravans. Even when loading the towcar axles to maximum manufacturers weights and the caravan up to maximum too, the Forrester has power to spare.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.0 and Abbey

Dave McVittie reviewed on 10 January 2008 a Subaru Forester 2.0 (92 Kw/125 PS, Year: 1997 - 2002) with a Abbey Aventura 318 of 1404 kg.

What an outfit! Goes very well. Stability is good and the Subaru loves tugging. However it is a bit thirsty. Reversing is easy with good visibility and the all wheel drive makes light work on 'sticky' ground.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.0 X and Bailey

STEPHEN FISHER reviewed on 18 April 2007 a Subaru Forester 2.0 X (116 Kw/158 PS, Year: 2005 - 2008) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of 1362 kg.

my Subaru Forester 2 litre, towed my Bailey Pageant Caravan with ease. It was so smooth that you could have imagined that you were not towing anything at all. Good all round performance, the combination handled exceptionally well.

Outfit Match >>>


Subaru Forester 2.0 and Sterckeman

David Barker reviewed on 20 March 2007 a Subaru Forester 2.0 (92 Kw/125 PS, Year: 1997 - 2002) with a Sterckeman Elypse 430 of 1250 kg.

Have now owned the Elypse 430 for almost one year and towed in UK on motorways, major roads and country roads. Have over 25 years towing experience. Previous 'van was a 1989 ABI; longer but lighter than Elypse. Forester tows Elypse very well. All more stable than previous 'van; maybe due to better chassis with dampers on Elypse. Always been able to keep up with most traffic on major roads; never like being the cause of a holdup and do not need to be! Performance is a little better than the results show, being easy to achieve the UK speed limits, and to achieve higher limits in other countries (e.g. France) but it is always better to get into a lower gear at the start of a hill, even on motorways, to keep the speed up. I have not yet been caught in very high winds, but moderate winds mixed with airflow when passing trucks on the motorway cause no problems at 60mph. Low range gears and hill-holder clutch make hill starts easy, and low range 1st is good for crawling along at tickover in traffic queues! Braking is excellent, and the handbrake easy to use when parking the 'van. I have always ensured I know how to reverse a trailer, and with the Forester's low range & all wheel drive, I have never sited our 'vans manually, always being able to maneuvre onto a pitch using the car, even on sloping and difficult pitches on CLs. Petrol use is a bit high on the Forester - especially if you push the acceleration and hillclimbing a lot. We chose the Elypse carefully for the needs of an active though retired couple, and it suits us perfectly. With this combination, we can go anywhere, stopping easily & quickly for just one night, or putting down more permanent roots for a few weeks. We are planning to take it to Iceland by ferry from Scotland!

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional