Towcar.info

User Reviews

Skoda Superb

Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI aut. and Bailey

J.Brown reviewed on 23 July 2017 a Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI aut. (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2008 - 2015) with a Bailey Unicorn Madrid of 1496 kg.

Towed this outfit since March 2017 on longish journeys from Dorset to/from Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Cotswolds, Devon,Wiltshire etc.with full loads in car(x2 adults + awning,x2aquarolls,chairs,etc.) in the van-
Fridge full, wardrobe full, bedding in bed lockers, light items in floor lockers,
Nose weight balanced to 80kg.
This gives a very very good easy to tow outfit.
Averages 28mpg in Devon and 32mpg in Lincs/Cambridgeshire.
Maintains 50 to 60 mph without strain.
DSG makes towing this outfit a pleasure.
Remains very stable even in storm winds.
Trailer control on both car and caravan ensure absolutely no towing problems at all.
Hill starts present no problems.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb Combi 2.0 TDI aut. and Bailey

Martin Marsh reviewed on 20 July 2017 a Skoda Superb Combi 2.0 TDI aut. (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2009 - 2015) with a Bailey Pageant Monarch of 1276 kg.

I have towed a Bailey pageant monarch with a Skoda superb estate elegance 170 dsg for a few years, and it is totally effortless you can easily forget your towing until you look in the mirror, Keeping my speed to the legal limits l normally return around 32mpg, it is also very easy to find yourself going a lot faster if you are not careful so now set the car speed warning to 60 mph. I have been very pleased with the car and caravan and aim to keep for quite a few more happy caravaning years.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI aut. and Bailey

G Laidler reviewed on 07 June 2014 a Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI aut. (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2008 - 2015) with a Bailey Ranger 550 of 1278 kg.

Our experience of towing our Bailery Ranger 550/5 with this car for the last two years is excellent. The car scarcely breaks sweat and can tackle anything with ease. Just returned from a return trip from the North East to Oban. This includes some fairly long sustained climbing and lots of twists and turns through Loch Lomond. Achieve 28-30 mpg consistently and kept up with the traffic flow. The DSG is fantastic and makes the experience effortless. Swept up M74 with cruise control at 63mph. The only disadvantage we have is with the Elegance model and 18" rims, the low profile of the car limits clearance under the jockey wheel.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI and Swift

A. Barnett reviewed on 22 February 2014 a Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI (114 Kw/155 PS, Year: 2002 - 2003) with a Swift Challenger 490 of 1550 kg.

This my second Superb 2.5TDI but this one is an Auto. The manual gearbox is the best option for towing as you have an extra gear but the Auto still tows great,very relaxed!. I have added MAD spring assistors to mine as fully loaded with my caravan and bikes on the rear and Dinghy on top it is a little low at the rear but this solved that issue. A great tow car and very comfy too.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb Combi 2.0 TDI and Sterling

Owen reviewed on 06 March 2013 a Skoda Superb Combi 2.0 TDI (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2009 - 2015) with a Sterling Elite Searcher of 1804 kg.

This car is a great towcar very comfortable and stable at motorway speeds especially with a twin axle unit. It can be a little swervy at roundabouts if driven too quickly but I am an experienced towcar driver and it is easy to recover from any movement.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI aut. and Eriba

M Howden reviewed on 14 February 2012 a Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI aut. (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2008 - 2015) with a Eriba Nova 570 of 1610 kg.

It is only a couple of years that I have been towing caravans, but with a nose weight of only 55Kg, pulling the Hymer is a comfortable experience. So far we have only done Devon and Norfolk, but at a steady 100Kph, it returns 26/27 mpg and rarely changes down on a hill. It's such a pity that Skoda don't make a 4x4 auto diesel.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI and Swift

Jac reviewed on 23 December 2011 a Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2008 - 2015) with a Swift Charisma 545 of 1485 kg.

The towing ability of the Skoda is very good. As there are normally only two of us plus dog, we never use the maximum payload allowance making the van lighter than 1485Kg. As always carefull loading of the van is required to achieve a stable drive making use of the available space inside the car for luggage, tv etc. The whole outfit is quite long as the Skoda is quite a long car, however it is no more difficult to tow with than most other cars; easier than a Freelander Mark 1 (and facelift model) as the turning circle of those cars is very poor.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI aut. and Bailey

Brian Appleby reviewed on 06 July 2011 a Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI aut. (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2008 - 2015) with a Bailey Pageant Bordeaux of 1321 kg.

excellent outfit, 28-30 mpg fully laden with 4 adults for a 2 week jaunt to France including 2 sets of golf clubs and full awning, no problem at all, treat yorself to spacious motoring and a great tow car

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI and Swift

John reviewed on 03 May 2011 a Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2008 - 2015) with a Swift Charisma 570 of 1452 kg.

Caravaning since 2007 and have had a couple of tow cars in that period. Prvious car was BMW 530d touring. The Superb is very close to the BMW in terms of pulling power but I find it very important to have the nose weight correct for the Superb. The long tail end on the Superb makes the rear drop and front rise if the balance of weight is not correct. The BMW was self levelling, so no worries there. The Superb is very well equipped, with the Sat Nav stealing the show. Easy to use and simple to view on large screen or small screen between the dials. This small screen also displays your text messages, which is very handy. The Superbs rear leg room is massive. I have to young girls, so heavy items can be placed behind the front seats, which keeps the weight off the rear axle. One little problem that I have not yet solved is that the rear parking sensors are set off by the Alko Towball when the cover is on. Great economy even when towing, but the fuel tank seems small at 60 litres. Wifes little 1.4tdi Skoda has a much bigger tank. The car is well built and feels as expensive as the BMW but obviously cost a lot less. Don't buy a Passat or an A6 until you've tried this car. You wont be dissapointed

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI and Geist

Brian reviewed on 07 December 2010 a Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2008 - 2015) with a Geist Xklusive 559 of 1415 kg.

Tows the Geist like a dream, but just keep an eye on the noseweight

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI and Swift

JITSU reviewed on 26 October 2010 a Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Swift Challenger 490 of 1600 kg.

I looked long and hard for a Superb 2.5 as I originally towed with an Octavia my new Challenger was far too heavy so the Superb was the obvious choice for me. The towing performance is effortless,hit 60-65mph on the motorway and put the cruise on and it will happily stay at that speed despite the gradient and it will still return around 26mpg. Acceleration and driving off motorways is just as effortless. Great combo.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI aut. and Swift

Neil Middleton reviewed on 10 October 2010 a Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI aut. (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2008 - 2015) with a Swift Challenger 540 of 1490 kg.

Very good economical outfit I get 28-30 mpg whilst towing. DSG gearbox very good for controlling speeds on steep downhills.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI and Coachman

Stan reviewed on 27 August 2010 a Skoda Superb 2.0 TDI (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2008 - 2015) with a Coachman Pastiche 520/4 of 1575 kg.

Over the past 40 plus years of towing with a mixture of cars and caravans I can with hand on heart say we now have the best of both worlds, the caravan suits our needs perfectly, although just the two of us we opted for the four berth for the extra seating etc. As for the tow vehicle it is what it says on the can 'SUPERB' I have owned more cars than I care to remember, this car seems to have taken all the best parts from the best cars and built this Superb, the interior is luxurious with just the right amount of toys, the boot/hatch works a dream the steering, handling, ride, engine etc brilliant, if I was really picky the gearbox sometimes is not as smooth as it could be (or is it me?) its quite a long vehicle hence the masses of rear leg room so it takes up a bit of room when parking, I will say it is annoying having the hand break against the passenger seat it would have been much less inconvenient for both passenger and driver if it had been located next to the drivers seat, having said that I am as stated being picky, so much so if I get another car it would have to be a Skoda Superb.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI and Avondale

Nigel and Wendy reviewed on 11 July 2010 a Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Avondale Eagle of 1460 kg.

As there are normally only the two of us using the Eagle we never use the full payload, but even with our young grandson on board with extra clothes, toys etc. the Superb has proved itself to be an excellent tow car. We get 33-34 mpg and the car has plenty of extra power when travelling at motorway speed limits. This is by far the best tow car we have had, and is very comfortable and economical. The Eagle is the L-shaped lounge version, and we are able to give our grandson his "own" bedroom - with the dog for company - while we have all the comfort of a full double bed!

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI and Avondale

Peter Ashley reviewed on 16 March 2009 a Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Avondale Argente 555-4S of 1400 kg.

Just completed my first week trip with this set-up. It's the first time Iv'e towed a caravan and was pleasantly surprised after initial apprehension. The car is so big, heavy and powerful it was no effort pulling the Avondale.
Start point was Rochdale finishing at St Johns-in the-Wold. When I got north of Lancaster I started to encounter the first inclines on the M6. The Skoda just pulled away effortlessly in 6th gear, at times I had to keep checking the rear view mirror to see if it was still there. Being new to caravaning I did everything by the book, car tyre pressures, caravan tyre pressures, axle weight distribution and everything was perfect.
My wife and I had a lovely week in the Lakes, the Avondale was perfect and the Skoda faultless. If you are looking for a tow car I would have no hesitation in recommending this vehicle. It was also the "Caravan Club" tow car of the year 2008
Peter Ashley

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI and Avondale

Peter Ashley reviewed on 02 February 2009 a Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI (114 Kw/155 PS, Year: 2002 - 2003) with a Avondale Argente 555-4S of 1400 kg.

This is just a preliminary first look at this mix.
I am 65 years old and retired and this is our first caravan.
Anyway bought the Avondale Saturday gone and had to drive 90 miles to Hull on the M62 to pick it up. I went through a three hour get to know you session with the owner and got everything hooked up. Must admit I was a little apprehensive when I stood back and looked at the length of the whole set up, eighteen foot of car and another twenty four foot of caravan.
Anyway my fears were short lived because after a couple of miles I was on the M62 and totally relaxed. I really couldn't believe how easy and smooth the ride was. Two long inclines on the M62 were taken without a blip, the Superb pulled up the inclines maintaining 60 mph in sixth gear. I was going to flip on the cruise control but I was enjoying the experience so much I didn't bother. Coming off the M62 I had about 3 miles to home and the stop start aspect was equally good. The low end torque the Superb has makes for excellent and very smooth take offs. The weight match I had already done on this excellent site so I knew I had the perfect 85% match. I was determined to stay to the 85% guidline because of my inexperience.
So to sum up anyone who is thinking of looking at Skoda's excellent Superb as a tow car will not be disappointed, its an absolute dream tower. From being apprehensive I now can't wait for this weather to break so I can get on the road.

Regards

Peter Ashley

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI and Cristall

Dudla reviewed on 17 August 2008 a Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Cristall Samoa 460 of 1190 kg.

superb a ten vlek, takze v pohode

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI and Compass

Jim fergus reviewed on 02 March 2008 a Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Compass Rallye 524 of 1527 kg.

My car is the elegance model and weighs 1567kg. It is fitted with 225/47x17 alloy wheels. I normally load the caravan to approx 100kg above the miro (1435kg). I never select 5th gear, as it is 25mph/1000rpm. As you will appreciate, that equates to 70mph @ 2000revs. The maximum speed limit on motorways in Britain and not a recommended speed for touring caravans. I do most of my touring in scotland, my native country, mostly up the west coast with very steep roads and passing places. The Superb is superb, I cannot fault it. It returns 30 to 33 mpg tows the caravan effortlessly and I would recommend it to anyone. The Compass is also excellent, comfortable and fitted with everything you need.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI and Coachman

David Pratt reviewed on 02 March 2008 a Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI (114 Kw/155 PS, Year: 2002 - 2003) with a Coachman VIP 460/2 of 1430 kg.

First class towing car and it is comfortable and capable.
Difficult to keep it to 60mph because there is no labouring of the engine.

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI and Knaus

Petr reviewed on 20 March 2007 a Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Knaus Sport 420 LD of 1240 kg.

a nebo takhle :-)

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI aut. and Coachman

Malcolm Cowan reviewed on 09 March 2007 a Skoda Superb 2.5 V6 TDI aut. (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Coachman Amara 520/4 of 1325 kg.

A wonderful combination. I have towed the Coachman for several years with a 2 litre Omega but the Superb puts it in the shade. You don`t know the van is behind you.Would strongly recommend

Outfit Match >>>


Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI and Abbey

Paul whiting reviewed on 22 December 2006 a Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Abbey Aventura 320 of 1339 kg.

I own a 2001 Abbey 320 and a Dec 2003 skoda superb 130 tdi comfort.
I have covered over 7500 miles with this outfit over the last 14 months and I have to say I am very pleased with the results.
We drove to the Costa brava spain last summer without any problems. The long wheel base of the car soaks up any bounce betwen the van and car. the performance is brilliant, the car pulls through the gears with very little effort and can cruise all day on the motorways in fifth gear at around 60 to 63 mph.
Fuel consumption if driven hard and fully loaded on the flat on a windy day it only gives 23 mpg.
Driven at a holiday steady pace it wll give back 27-28 mpg.
My car has just covered 119000 miles 11200 during our trip to Spain and back, still performs as it did when it was new.
The van tows like a dream once you have carefully packed the van for a two week holiday as being a end bathroom model the leveling of the van takes a little care to get right. I hope this helps if you are considering either a Skoda Superb or a Abbey 320 or both.
My next Car will be another Skoda superb and we will be looking at the Swift group of caravans.

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional