Towcar.info

User Reviews

Saab 9-3

Saab 9-3 Cabriolet 1.8 t and Eriba

AJ reviewed on 13 May 2021 a Saab 9-3 Cabriolet 1.8 t (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2003 - 2011) with a Eriba Familia 320 of n.a. kg.

I tow an Eriba familia 320 with a Saab aero sportwagon 2008. No problem the car is more than capable. Biggest problem is remember ING it's on the back. Have set a alarm that goes off on dash if I pass 60 mph

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 2.0 T aut. and Coachman

Mike Mitchell reviewed on 27 October 2014 a Saab 9-3 2.0 T aut. (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1999 - 2000) with a Coachman Pastiche 520/4 of 1590 kg.

I have towed a Coachman 520/4 with a year X Reg Saab 93 auto for the last 12 years without any problems at all. Both the car and the caravan have been serviced regularly according to the book. The car has now covered 207,000 miles without any major repairs. Towing with the auto gearbox is a dream. The Coachman is a well balanced unit with no vices when being towed.I would fully recommend this outfit

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 2.2 TiD [6MT] and Ace

Tony perkins reviewed on 22 May 2014 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 2.2 TiD [6MT] (92 Kw/125 PS, Year: 2003 - 2004) with a Ace Award Northstar of 1418 kg.

I pull along a ace northstar 2006 with my saab 93 2.2 tid and very nice it is too, plenty of umph and seems to go in a nice straight line very impressed, thought it may have been a bit much for the cars power but no only had one issue parking caravan on a slope with wheel slip that's it

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 2.0 t aut. and Hobby

Saabatical reviewed on 30 August 2013 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 2.0 t aut. (129 Kw/175 PS, Year: 2003 - 2007) with a Hobby Prestige 540 UL of 1464 kg.

The car is small and relatively light in comparison to the van. Considering most people on the sites parking big 4x4's next to even smaller vans, I was afraid the Saab would be impractical. Besides some sense of instability downhill (at no power from the car) the combination is actually very good. It tows fantastically! Low-pressure turbos do an incredible job!
Straight roads and uphill can easily be done at 60-65mph (cruise control prevents me from exceeding this), downhill I'm more comfortable with max 55mph...
Reversing on a slight slope was no problem (whereas a VW Touran with much smaller van was showing white smoke doing the same routine)

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v and Compass

I Messham reviewed on 10 June 2013 a Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2005 - 2011) with a Compass Corona 524 of 1420 kg.

I have been towing with my Saab 9-3 1.9TiD sport estate (150bhp) for 3 years now, and it is an excellent tow car. It handles normal towing with ease and there is plenty of power to get up hills, even the 17% incline that we have to negotiate near where we live. As other reviewers have stated, there can be a problem with clutch burn when trying to reverse on a slope, but this is common on many makes of car these days. Motorway towing is a pleasure with this car and once up to 60mph the cruise control maintains the speed in sixth gear no problem at all.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 Cabriolet 2.0 t aut. and Bailey

Dennis Murcott reviewed on 05 May 2011 a Saab 9-3 Cabriolet 2.0 t aut. (129 Kw/175 PS, Year: 2003 - 2011) with a Bailey Unicorn Seville of 1433 kg.

Our Saab covertable is the 1.9TiD model (not listed in towcars data) reg'd in 2008. We have towed in the UK and to Belgium. With an auto gearbox and on cruise control set at 60mph it easily towed the caravan. The car suspension is soft and moves a little in high cross winds but the caravan still towed straight and true. We have towed just as well with the roof down. This is a safe combination but is at the 85% towing limit.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TTiD 16v aut. and Swift

Jim McMeekin reviewed on 18 April 2011 a Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TTiD 16v aut. (132 Kw/180 PS, Year: 2007 - 2011) with a Swift Conqueror 530 of 1590 kg.

I have towed a SWIFT CONQUERER 530 with ease through the Cheviot hills of Northumberland, England. The car has lots of power, with no signs of snaking etc. I achieved an average of 33mpg, which is quite impressive considering the terrain and limited opportunity to achieve 6th gear. On motorway 60mph is achieved easily and 6th gear maintained at 1750 rpm.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v aut. and Abbey

Tim Barker reviewed on 15 April 2011 a Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v aut. (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2005 - 2011) with a Abbey Aventura 319 of 1348 kg.

I bought my Saab about 2 months ago now with some trepidation. I changed to Freelander's about 6 years ago and had had trouble free towing since. I'd towed with a number of saloons and hatches of both diesel and petrol variants prior to that and never really found one that I really felt confident with; the Mondeo towing at around 85% was the best of the bunch. So as I say it was with some trepidation when I changed to the Saab. I have just returned from a 300 mile trip towing my current caravan and I can honestly say it was very good indeed.

The 500 mile round trip fuel economy was 36mpg including the towing. Anyone who knows the A361 North Devon link road will know what a challenge it is for any car towing; the Saab handled it with total confidence. On the motorway with cruise it was a delight. I totally recommend the car.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 2.2 TiD and Dethleffs

4x4 Basher reviewed on 06 December 2010 a Saab 9-3 2.2 TiD (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Dethleffs Rally Nomad DD 550 of 1500 kg.

Tows like a dream, nearly 180,000 miles on the clock and still tows all day at 62mph, keeping revs at just over 2000 means you very rarely have to drop into 4th except on steep hills on motorways.
Only problem on motorways are the 4x4 brigade who sit in the middle lane at 45-50 mph towing a caravan that my wifes seat Ibiza could legaly tow no problem. If you have a big twin wheel unit That weighed 2000 kg then fair play you need a 4x4 but when you put a 12' van on the back of a shogun or discovery you look stupid and still get in the way. halfwits like you that get the rest of us a bad name,Its no wonder Clarkson , May & Hammond hate all of us and at every oppertunity burn or destroy perfectly usable caravans so morons like you don't get your chubby little fingers on them, and before you lot start whining on about towing limits Saab 9-3 legal limit 1600 kg , dethleffs rally nomad 550L max weight 1500 kg

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TTiD 16v aut. and Knaus

Luca Tripodi reviewed on 27 May 2010 a Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TTiD 16v aut. (132 Kw/180 PS, Year: 2007 - 2011) with a Knaus Sudwind 450 KU of 1400 kg.

We have done several travels with this configuration. Absolutely no problem also in high hills. We have done the S. Bernardino pass in Switzerland very easily, and on highways we can run in 6th at 1700 rpm at aroung 90 Km/h. Fuel consuption around 9,5 L*100KM

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v and Avondale

Pete Anslow reviewed on 07 May 2010 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2004 - 2011) with a Avondale Eagle of 1360 kg.

I pull my Avondale Eagle L with a SAAB 93 Vector Sport 1.9TiD (150). An excellent combination with plenty of power and good economy. I get c32 mpg towing and have managed over 800 miles on a tankful running solo - that's about 63 mpg.
I agree that the sport suspension is on the low side, but have had no problems with it. If I do have a problem spring assisters are a cheap and easy to fit option.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v and Lunar

Andrew Johnson reviewed on 31 March 2010 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2004 - 2011) with a Lunar Quasar 525 of 1380 kg.

I pull a 2009 Lunar Quasar 525 with a SAAB 93 Vector Sport 1.9TiD (150) and find it a good match and a reliable towcar, power is no problem and fuel consumption is always around the 30mpg mark. The only area for caution is the fact that it is a sport model and therefore the back end is quite low due to the sports suspension and I have grounded the electrics occasionally going over some speed humps, but would still recommend the car.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v aut. and Abbey

John reviewed on 14 February 2010 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v aut. (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2004 - 2011) with a Abbey Vogue 460 of 1295 kg.

Can only say the same as above very stable cruises at 60mph with plenty of power for inclines. Did wonder about overheating auto box but as yet had no problems 6th gears is too high as you can only get there at 65mph

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v aut. and Abbey

John reviewed on 14 February 2010 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v aut. (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2004 - 2011) with a Abbey Vogue 460 of 1295 kg.

Can only say the same as above very stable cruises at 60MPH with plenty of power for inclines. Did wonder about overheating auto box but as yet had no problems

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v and Sprite

Chris cunliffe reviewed on 07 February 2010 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2004 - 2011) with a Sprite Major 5 of 1300 kg.

I tow a new sprite major 5 with my saab 1.9 TiD (150). It is a superb combination with lots of power for good acceleration. Fuel consumprion is usually over 30mpg unless ther is a very strong head wind. Have towed it down to the South of France using a lot of motorways and had no problem with stability even above 60mph. Would thoroughly recommend this car if you have a reasonable weight caravan, but make sure you get the 150 diesel and not the petrol.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v and Bailey

M Siddons reviewed on 03 February 2010 a Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2005 - 2011) with a Bailey Pageant Bordeaux of 1321 kg.

A caravanner for 30 years, the SAAB 93 1.9T diesel estate (150bhp) is the best tow car I've driven to date. After 3 years I'm now looking to change. I hope my next choice (whatever the brand) will prove to be just as good.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v and Sterling

Phil B reviewed on 23 September 2009 a Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2005 - 2011) with a Sterling Eccles SE Moonstone of 1545 kg.

The Saab is powerful and able to tow this van well, in fact better than the discovery that we have. However, its control of the van in windy conditions and downhill when power is off is less predictable. I was very concerned at its inability to reverse the van up small inclines when you are required to turn a bend (ie parking). Clutch burn is apparent.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 8v and Lunar

Andrew Q Johnson reviewed on 30 August 2009 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 8v (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2004 - 2011) with a Lunar Zenith 5 of 1205 kg.

I bought the zenith in june this year and have towed with it almost every weekend and also for our two week holiday in August. The Saab pulls the van no problem in fact there are times when motorway driving you forgat that the van is on! Using 6th gear is no problem on level or slight gradients. Fuel consumption is around the 32mpg mark . The only drawback is due to the car being a sport model it is low at the back when towing so care is need when going over speed bumps.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 2.0 T aut. and Coachman

Mike Mitchell reviewed on 28 July 2009 a Saab 9-3 2.0 T aut. (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1999 - 2000) with a Coachman Pastiche 520/4 of 1575 kg.

Can't fault this outfit. The car performs perfectly under all conditions- motorways, A roads,B roads Welsh Mountains and Yorkshire Dales. Just set the cruise control on the motorway and you will arrive at your destination as fresh as the moment you set off.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 8v and Caravan

Dave blissett reviewed on 03 July 2009 a Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 8v (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2005 - 2011) with a Caravan of 1250 kg.

i have drove for the last year with this combo and have found it stable but on long motorway hills the speed drops off quickly even when you change gear.
if i could chose again i would look for the 16v diesel (150) brake as i had one before and it was a great towcar

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v and Bailey

Steve Shickell reviewed on 25 May 2009 a Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2005 - 2011) with a Bailey Senator Arizona of 1514 kg.

Compared to my old VW Passat, and Peugeot 407, the Saab is a top performer.
With a short rear overhang, and 17" Low Profile Tyres, there is no movement and the drive is very stable and solid. Performance is also very good, although 6th Gear is little used as 5 gives the best performance. Add this to the most comfortable seats, and brilliant visibility, I would highly recomend this to anyone.
I just need to get a tow bar fitted to my Wifes 9-3 Aero TTID to see how this tows, with another turbo and another 30BHP.
The Bailey Senator California is the Van we have, but it wasn't listed.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v and Bailey

Geoff Heaney reviewed on 14 June 2008 a Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2005 - 2011) with a Bailey Pageant Provence of 1405 kg.

After nearly a year of towing with the Saab I am very happy with its power and stability with a caravan whose max laden weight is 87% of the car's kerbside weight.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v and Abbey

Adam reviewed on 08 June 2008 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2004 - 2011) with a Abbey GTS 418 of 1442 kg.

I pull an abbey 418 with my 56 plate saab 93 and am over the moon with the outfits performance. The vehicle has ample power both on motor ways and hill starts. A more than adequate match and very good tow.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v and Bailey

Jason Harris reviewed on 29 March 2008 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2004 - 2011) with a Bailey Senator Indiana of 1464 kg.

Power is not a problem. The issue is the towbar is low due to the ride height of the car off the ground. Van was not over loaded, and we use the BP light bottles, but I still managed to damage the electrics due to the car grounding.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v aut. and Swift

Ghall reviewed on 13 February 2008 a Saab 9-3 sport sedan 1.9 TiD 16v aut. (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2004 - 2011) with a Swift Challenger 560 of 1489 kg.

no problems braking, steering, maintains speed, plenty of power, motorway driving is a dream dont feel any movement whatsoever.

Outfit Match >>>


Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v aut. and Bailey

Mike reviewed on 23 July 2007 a Saab 9-3 sport estate 1.9 TiD 16v aut. (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2005 - 2011) with a Bailey Ranger 510/4 of 1223 kg.

Excellent tow car and van criuse in 6th gear on motorways and enough pull to accerate

Great

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional