Towcar.info

User Reviews

Mitsubishi Outlander

Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV [fuel] and Bailey

Martin Ward reviewed on 28 February 2018 a Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV [fuel] (89 Kw/121 PS, Year: 2015 - 2017) with a Bailey Pegasus Verona of 1450 kg.

We bought the Outlander PHEV after the VW emissions debacle which ruined our Passat for towing ( and most of anything else ! ). The CC did not give it a great review but after reading what reviews we could get we took the plunge. First trip with caravan was to Derbyshire and we returned 22 mpg which was better than expected. 2nd time out was to France, 20 mpg on way to Portsmouth and 15pmg on long straight French roads. I did an analysis of our previous years motoring in the Passat and factored in known mpg figures. I then estimated the same 3 sets of driving as before, 2500 miles with caravan at estimated 15mpg, 3500 solo distance driving at est. 40mpg and 6000 local diving at 55mpg. It worked out at the same overall gallons of fuel ie 360 gallons, but this time with petrol not diesel which ticked the anti NOX box. Towing is more than just acceptable, yes, it accelerates a bit slower but is fine and very stable . Big long French hills drops speed to 45mph but cope ok. The caravan was loaded to the max, bit of adjustment to get noseweight down to 70kg but rewarded with very smooth ride. The car performed even better on the local 6000 mile department, returning often between 80 / 100 mpg cost equivalent as not petrol used on electric and having solar panel often with much reduced cost. My advice is do realistic costs, understand your own needs and views on (dirty) diesel / air pollution etcetc. Be brave, think outside the box ! Don't forget, even though it sounds corney, think of the future and the next generations.Enjoy caravanning!

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV [fuel] and Bailey

Nick reviewed on 20 July 2017 a Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV [fuel] (89 Kw/121 PS, Year: 2015 - 2017) with a Bailey Olympus 546 of 1422 kg.

Hooked up the van and set off using the Outlander PHEV to tow with for the first time..
Absolutely no problems pulling away and driving when in electric mode, which was a pleasant surprise.
Only problem was electric charge runs out after 15 to 16 miles so vehicle switches to petrol.
Pulling away in petrol mode is not fantastic, the same with accelerating along the motorway slip road.
Best solution is to leave the car running in charge mode whilst stationery to charge battery so you can use it for accelerating up to speed.
Other than that the car tows well and feels stable.
Fuel economy is not great but improves if you use cruise control as much as possible, also tank only holds 47 litres so you are very likely to have to fill up at motorway services inflated prices.
Overall in electric mode this vehicle is great to tow with but on petrol feels a bit sluggish. Because of this would not really recommend.

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2 DI-D 4WD aut. and Venus

Eric Mitchell reviewed on 18 April 2017 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2 DI-D 4WD aut. (110 Kw/150 PS, Year: 2012 --->) with a Venus 550/4 of 1320 kg.

The outlander is a good tow car I have towd a liner Venus for two years returning 24 26 to the gallon ,no problem on hills it just gets on with the job a good tow car thincin of another new outlander this year great car

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2 DI-D 4WD and Sprite

Luke Salmon reviewed on 29 August 2015 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2 DI-D 4WD (115 Kw/156 PS, Year: 2010 - 2012) with a Sprite Alpine 4 of 1197 kg.

Great car for towing. So much power I can pull away on any incline with ease. I even towed a 2 ton refrigerator trailer for 80 miles and across wet fields with no problems at all and drove superbly. The SST gearbox seems totally at home with the extra weight of a caravan. Unfortunately my MPG takes quite a hit and struggle to get into the 30s but I do have a heavy foot as don't like holding ppl up to much when towing so quickly get up to safe speeds of 50-60 mph max. I recommend Geolander ATS tyres as they fit the vehicle's needs perfectly and will get you out of most muddy fields and handle tarmac like a dream.

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2 DI-D Mivec and Bailey

Baileyjake reviewed on 10 May 2015 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2 DI-D Mivec (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2010 - 2012) with a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of 1258 kg.

Bought the outlander as a replacement for the jeep compass I had before. I have so far been seriously disappointed with the outlander. Very poor fuel economy even when solo. The outlander tows well and is stable enough. It has enough grunt to accelerate to match the middle lane when overtaking trucks on the motorway. However, I am now fitting helper springs inside the rear coil springs since even with a modest nose weight (60kg) the rear suspension is well compressed. To get the nose weight down means loading gas bottles folding chairs Aquaroll etc under the rear bunk which makes the ride very bouncy.

Overall I guess the outlander probably makes a better tow car than a normal saloon car but it's certainly no better than the jeep compass.

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD and Abbey

Craig John Parkinson reviewed on 03 January 2013 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2007 - 2010) with a Abbey Aventura 320 of 1389 kg.

After the toruan I decided i needed something bigger, but the wife hates 4X4's. However the Mitsubishi out lander 2009 version 2.0 is nothing like a 4X4 but has all the benefits, 4 wheel drive when on slippery grass and will pull away from a junction without any wheel spin. It pulls the Aventura with no problems at all and will cruise at 60 in 6th With no problems, MPG is about 30 which is slightly better than the Touran which was about 28-29. Definatly will be looking to another outlander when its time to change

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2 DI-D 4WD and Swift

Haydn E Ebbs reviewed on 05 October 2012 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2 DI-D 4WD (115 Kw/156 PS, Year: 2007 - 2010) with a Swift Charisma 230 of 1280 kg.

A brilliant towing experience. The Outlander makes easy work of every scenario I presented including towing high passes on the French-Italian Alps.
With a fully loaded car and caravan at its maximum we experienced no problems. In saying that with heavy weight in the rear of the Outlander I may consider for the future fitting Firestone Air Assist for additiona height.

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2 DI-D Mivec and Bailey

Simmons family reviewed on 10 June 2012 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.2 DI-D Mivec (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2010 - 2012) with a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of 1244 kg.

took our outlander on its first towing holiday to north devon near lynton we were really impressed thepower and ease it went up the hills and there were many hills! towing we on average got 26.5mpg and driving round and about we generally got 43mpg which we were pleased with as the hills were up to 20% at times plenty room in the boot to load up with essentials! the site attendant commented how well it drove up the wet field whilst towing and reversing into pitch. Later in the week we had to take the awning down in a rush due to severe winds and dumped it all in the boot easily can't wait to tow with it again but hoping for better weather next time.

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.4 4WD aut. and Bailey

P matten reviewed on 22 August 2011 a Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.4 4WD aut. (118 Kw/160 PS, Year: 2003 - 2009) with a Bailey Senator Indiana of 1464 kg.

very thirsty round france for 3 weeks - returned between 15mpg and 18mpg. on the flat it was ok and controlled the van well but had no power to pull up the long hills of french motorways.( 40mph max on incline and 'hello to mr slow lane' again)

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD and Avondale

David Baker reviewed on 02 June 2009 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2007 - 2010) with a Avondale Argente 550-4S of 1400 kg.

This unit seems to be a jerky ride, even when the caravan is not loaded. I have noticed the same clutch smell when reversing.Also after travelling for just two hours with this combination, i have noticed a section of the detachable towball is showing a wearing grove were the pin locks in!
My previous tow cars have been a discovery and pick-up, which are great towcars, i am now considering changing my Outlander for a Shogun LWB ,any tips.

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD and Abbey

Greg Murry reviewed on 08 May 2009 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2007 - 2010) with a Abbey GTS Vogue 418 of 1427 kg.

We have a chip type thing fitted to our 2.0 elegance which has increased the torque and bhp and mpg.
The Outlander tows well,even better in 4wd, very stable and ample power, I have had the same trouble with the turbo pipe be it has sine been recalled for this and my clutch does smell a bit when reversing. We have had ours for over two years now and no problems.

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD and Bailey

Kevin Woodfield reviewed on 21 March 2009 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2007 - 2010) with a Bailey Ranger 620/6 of 1481 kg.

Had 3 Outlanders and apart from a turbo pipe coming off (loss of power) we have never had a problem. Carries 6 of us, all our luggage, awning etc etc, clutch smell is evident when reversing if you don't get it right first time. All in all a very good combination

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.4 MIVEC 4WD and Swift

Donald Micheal Ryder reviewed on 25 January 2009 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.4 MIVEC 4WD (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2007 - 2010) with a Swift Challenger 560 of 1489 kg.

We have towed with this vehicle for approximately 2 years , a bit thirsty about 21-22 mpg being a 4 wheel permanment drive and auto ,I had an LPG conversion costing 1000 ,I get the same performance from the Outlander but at a much less cost 46-50 pence per litre.We changed our van from a Charisma 560 to a Challenger 560 ,a lttle bit heavier and longer but so far the towing figures are the same,I would recommend the vehicle for towing and normal use ,it has the same charecteristics as a larger 4x4 but is much smaller ,not so many problems for the ladies when parking.The caravan is as usual up to Swift's very fine standards we particulary like the fixed bed .

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD and Swift

Shaun reviewed on 27 October 2008 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2007 - 2010) with a Swift Challenger 540 of 1490 kg.

Great Car towing a mid range van. We took all our family to France with this car. There were 3 Adults and 4 children. I had no problems at all. Fully loaded. Average 27MPG. The 4WD comes in handy espically on slippery roads when taking of on a hill. The boot space is good when carrying 5 but not when you have 7. Its not a true 7 seater, the maxium age you could fit the children in the rear two seats are upto about 10. Really good towing car, buy one.

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD and Bailey

Iainhargreaves@msn.com reviewed on 26 September 2008 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2007 - 2010) with a Bailey Senator Arizona of 1464 kg.

No problems towing a S6 Senator Arizona with our Outlander Elegance. The VW sourced 2.0 D-ID has plenty of torque to make good progress in all on-road conditions. It did struggle to reverse to van on a very muddy field, and I could smell the clutch afterwards. However, having previously towed with a two year old Shogun, maybe I was asking a little too much of the little Outlander. Verdict; If you want a decent towcar, with excellent fuel economy and low co2 emitions and 7 seats, you won't be dissapointed with the Outlander. However, if you want the ultimate towing machine, buy the Shogun. They don't break down and they will last you a lifetime,but they aren't cheap to run.

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.4 4WD aut. and Sterling

Keith Stather reviewed on 19 February 2008 a Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.4 4WD aut. (118 Kw/160 PS, Year: 2003 - 2009) with a Sterling Eccles Onyx of 1431 kg.

thr outlander towed the caravan quite easily, however the nosweight was very critical as we set off with 40Kg and it was quite hairy on the motorway, setting the noseweight to 75-80 Kg balanced it up again, the only downside is the mpg, coming from a 2.8 shogun 1996, I expected much better performance(mpg)

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.4 4WD aut. and Lunar

Mr A P Spence reviewed on 12 November 2007 a Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 2.4 4WD aut. (118 Kw/160 PS, Year: 2003 - 2009) with a Lunar Clubman 475-CK of 1280 kg.

The Mitusbishi proves to be a very capable tow car even on the steepest inclines with a lot of power and comfort. However fuel consumption is heavy on this petrol engined 4 x 4.

Outfit Match >>>


Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD and Swift

Sandra Wright reviewed on 13 February 2007 a Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 DI-D 4WD (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2007 - 2010) with a Swift Charisma 550 of 1401 kg.

What an excellent choice we have made in this set up. Last year we took the unit touring to the west side of Scotland from Lincolnshire. Went right up to Oban, we did not encounter any problems at all. The car was everything we thought it would be. The only down side was the car is only in petrol but a new model in diesel is being brought out in February 2007.

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional