Towcar.info

User Reviews

Citroen C5

Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi and Abbey

Derek howie reviewed on 13 August 2015 a Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2008 - 2010) with a Abbey Vogue 610 of 1635 kg.

been towing for over 30 years had loads of cars and 4x4s the c5 beats them all for value for money and towing capability mine is only the 138 bhp model so the 160 bhp model would be even better the gearing and torque are excellent even though this is a twin axle caravan steep hills not a problem and 35 mpg when towing and 48 solo just keep to the speed limits and everything is ok

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.0 HDI and Bailey

Kenneth reviewed on 02 March 2015 a Citroen C5 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Bailey Orion 530-6 of 1380 kg.

citroen 5 towing bailey orion 530/6 good combination at 56 mph above this speed unstable

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif and Lunar

Craig Gill reviewed on 04 January 2015 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2010 - 2018) with a Lunar Quasar 564 of 1350 kg.

My C5 163 bhp tourer hdi plenty of pulling power for the steepest of hills went touring round Scotland to find out. but stability wise not so good up to 50 mph ok but after this problems start from 50 to 55 it starts to feel light on the steering from 55 to 60 it starts to feel like it wants to wonder especially on motorways .had it checked out on suspension and struts by a local garage said everything ok .I can only put it down to the length of the caravan. had an Avondale before sorter van no problems. also tried reloading caravan made no deference..been a caravaner for some 24 years so its not inexperience either

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif and Caravan

Dani reviewed on 14 August 2014 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2010 - 2018) with a Caravan of 1350 kg.

My Citroen C5 tourer Hdi 160 es perfecto en cuanto a potencia, consumo y estabilidad para llevar mi TEC 440 westfalia, cuya cama elevable en el techo la hace más alta 2.65 y pesada 110 kg en comparación a caravanas estandads. El sumum lo pone su suspensión autonivelante que te hace flotar mientras lleva con gran aplomo el conjunto. No echo de menos mi anterior Jeep Grand Cherokee, 2.7

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif aut. and Bailey

Malc Towers reviewed on 16 May 2014 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif aut. (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2010 - 2018) with a Bailey Unicorn Valencia of 1497 kg.

I have a 2010 C5 Tourer auto, the car & our Bailey Valencia tow lovely, plenty of power going up hills and the Auto box performs effortlessly. A Great combination & driving Solo. Very good on Fuel.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Break 2.0 16v and Bailey

Mike reviewed on 21 December 2013 a Citroen C5 Break 2.0 16v (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2004 - 2008) with a Bailey Senator Vermont of 1383 kg.

Had Mk 1 2.2ltr 137bhp, and very good, now Mk2 2.0ltr 138 bhp, works even better. 28/31mpg towing, 55mpg solo.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi aut. and Bailey

Steve reviewed on 16 July 2013 a Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi aut. (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2005 - 2008) with a Bailey Pageant Bordeaux of 1321 kg.

our 56 plate citroen c5 2.0hdi vtr auto pulls our 2110 bailey pageant like a dream with 2 adult,s 1 child and a full load in the van

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi and Abbey

DaveK reviewed on 11 April 2013 a Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2004 - 2008) with a Abbey GTS Vogue 418 of 1427 kg.

Paid £8,500 for 2005 Exclusive(hdi 136) in 2008. 17,000 miles up then, now 48,000. Towed all over UK, France and Spain. Never missed a beat. Had dpf removed and ecu tweaked-to stop pollution warnings and eolys silliness. 50mpg solo, 29 to 32 towing.Replaced the original (duff) Michelin tyres at 20,000 miles due to tread separation and perished walls and was allowed 60% off cost. Major service consists of oil and filters, about £50. Self levelling suspension great for caravanners. Comfortable, reliable and powerful enough with all the toys.£22,000 new, value now about £2,000.Passed MoT every year, no probs. Has cost me tyres,two sidelight bulbs, recent battery at £71, brake pads and front discs.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif and Bailey

Tone L reviewed on 18 November 2012 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2010 - 2018) with a Bailey Pageant Bordeaux of 1321 kg.

My Citroen C5 tourer Hdi 160 has all the power, torque, stability and reliability I need in combination with my Bailey Pageant Bordeaux. A great plus factor being the economic efficiency both i solo or combo.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif aut. and Avondale

David reviewed on 03 October 2012 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif aut. (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2010 - 2018) with a Avondale Argente 640-6 of 1600 kg.

I am perplexed because my C5 and this twin axle caravan work well as a combination. Having only resently found out of the very low GTW of the Citreon I just don't understand why it is so low? (Please note the 1290Kg towing limit shown above is only when the car is fully laden and is not an absolute as suggested.)
The whole combination tows well and never gives cause for concern,even in very strong cross winds. Power wise the problem is staying below 50mph. I would like to understand why Citreon has given this care such a low GTW of 3286 KGs perhaps someone can you can help?

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 HDi and Bailey

Paul halford reviewed on 18 September 2012 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 HDi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2008 - 2010) with a Bailey Ranger GT60 510/4 of 1279 kg.

New to towing, did research and opted for citroen C5 tourer based on value for money / towing potential. Good choice. Over 600 miles in first year and really pleased. Very pleasing fuel returns ,solo and towing.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Berline 2.2 HDi and Bailey

Russell godding reviewed on 03 August 2012 a Citroen C5 Berline 2.2 HDi (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2008 - 2010) with a Bailey Pageant Champagne of 1407 kg.

The 2.2 citroen c5. 6 speed manual pulls this caravan with no problems in any conditions,you have to watch your speed as the car is a perfect match for this caravan a perfect car for the job.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi aut. and Bailey

Arthur Robins reviewed on 27 June 2012 a Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi aut. (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2008 - 2010) with a Bailey Senator Arizona of 1406 kg.

Well this car tows like a dream, plenty of power, good stability etc.One big problem might be the low noseweight limit of 63kg.I have had mine for 18 months and 3 different parts of the hydraulic suspension have failed ( Parts very expensive). I would have prefered the standard suspension but its not available on the automatic

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 16v aut. and Bailey

M Robison reviewed on 13 June 2012 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 16v aut. (103 Kw/140 PS, Year: 2008 - 2010) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of 1415 kg.

What can I say. I used to tow with a shogun but got fed up with the lack of luxury. Looked at several options before opting for big Citroen, it fitted the bill - all the toys, loads of extras and a perfect match for towing our Bailey. I mist say i am absolutely delighted. The Citroen is a dream to drive and tows the caravan with very little effort. Cruise control is fantastic and the whole outfit is very very stable. The engine pulls effortlessly and there is loads of power on tap when you need it. I have never had an automatic before, don't think I will ever go back to manual.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif and Bailey

Bandy reviewed on 03 April 2012 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2010 - 2018) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of 1415 kg.

This car is great.There is a huge amount of power to get you up them hills and a really good solid feel when you are coming back down.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif and Abbey

Len lewis reviewed on 28 March 2012 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2010 - 2018) with a Abbey GTS 418 of 1490 kg.

My Citroen 2ltr Hdi 110 Estate is a fantastic towcar and pulls my Abbey 418 up hill and down dale effortlessly and the self levelling suspension is priceless!!

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif and Swift

Len Lewis reviewed on 08 March 2012 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 Hdif (120 Kw/163 PS, Year: 2010 - 2018) with a Swift Charisma 555 of 1469 kg.

My 2003 C5 Hdi 110 Estate is a fantastic towcar in every respect. Stable. economical, and comfortable and the self levelling suspension is the icing on the cake!!

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Break 2.2 HDI aut. and Caravan

Graham Boardman reviewed on 25 February 2012 a Citroen C5 Break 2.2 HDI aut. (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Caravan of 1150 kg.

Brilliant Towcar - my combinations as smooth as a train on annual trips to South of France

+ ABI Marauder 4.50CT 4/5 berth


+ Bailey Pageant Magenta 2 berth (1164 kg + 250kg) - heavier than the Marauder but great combination

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Break 2.2 HDI aut. and Hobby

Keith jones reviewed on 04 December 2011 a Citroen C5 Break 2.2 HDI aut. (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Hobby De Luxe 460 UFe of 1300 kg.

i have towed vans for many years but this is the first estate we have had, i was a bit curious as to how it would handle the Hobby 460 but its great, no difference than the C5 saloon we had before.
we did a trip down to the south of France early in the year and it was a pleasure, we got around 25/27 average towing, remembering there are a lot of hills on that trip.i have been looking at changing for a 4x4 but really i cant see the point, im more than happy with the combination i have.looking forward to a trip to Portugal in the new year, as we live in France its easy to do these trips.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Break 2.0 HDI and Compass

PMRPETE reviewed on 19 April 2011 a Citroen C5 Break 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Compass Omega 484 of 1425 kg.

I have a 2003 c5 2.0l HDi estate 110BHp. and have had no problems towing the 2006 Omega482. The outfit is stable and I return around 24mpg towing.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] and TEC

Wilco reviewed on 25 December 2010 a Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2003) with a TEC Travelbird 340 of 900 kg.

We are now on our second 2.2HDi C5 (our son has the first one). It is a good tow car. Our small TEC Travelbird (about 850kgs laden) is no problem at all, except with strong headwinds (as noted by another reviewer). Although the TEC is short it is taller and wider than most UK caravans. We have also towed a 1,300kg caravan with no problems.

Another reviewer mentioned diesel particulate filter (DPF) problems - we are about to have these filters removed from the cars and the ECU remapped to ignore them. This is a permanent solution to the DPF filter/fluid replacement which seems so problemmatical with older C5s. It will also increase BHP and torque by 10%.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Break 2.0 Hdi and Caravelair

Bill reviewed on 01 November 2010 a Citroen C5 Break 2.0 Hdi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2004 - 2008) with a Caravelair Venicia 480 of 1485 kg.

Our C5 estate, 2.0hdi, 138 bhp, 2005
Towing Caravelair 480, 1500kg.
Very good towcar towed through France to Valencia and back, no problems. Very stable outfit at 65-70 mph, returning 25mpg, Hardly know the vans there.
Have had the problems when unhooking, as you wind up the jockey wheel, the car rises, I know use the suspension lower button. But worse, when stopping in services for dinner or overnight stop, if you lower the rear steadies, the car sinks lifting the vans rear, if you lower all 4 steadies, the car still tries to lower, is this damaging the van? So know I unhook, even if only stopping for 1 night.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 HDi and Bailey

Michael hennessy reviewed on 18 September 2010 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 HDi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2008 - 2010) with a Bailey Pageant Limousin of 1578 kg.

Purchased a C5 2.0 HDI+ tourer 1 day before main holiday to Cornwall and was a bit apprehensive towing at 91% After towing with a 2.9 Kia Sedonna ,at 75% but never had a problem.In fact towed better.

Car towed like a dream even in 5th gear going up the big hills in Cornwall.

Really impressed with fuel economy returning 30+towing and 50+ solo.Even with 2 kayaks on the roof and 2 mountain bikes on the back.

Would reccomend

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Berline 2.2 HDi and Swift

G Cowie reviewed on 21 August 2010 a Citroen C5 Berline 2.2 HDi (125 Kw/170 PS, Year: 2008 - 2010) with a Swift Challenger 540 of 1490 kg.

This is our first caravan experience and I have found the C5 perfect in every road condition. Its pulling power is awesome and I find that on motorways 6th gear is normal and I have to be reminded to slow down

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 HDi and Sterling

RICHARD G reviewed on 15 August 2010 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 HDi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2008 - 2010) with a Sterling Europa 500 of 1375 kg.

Have recently purchased a C5 tourer 2.0HDi Exclusive with the self levelling suspension and found it a superb tow with my Sterling Europa 500. The suspension gives a level and firm ride with all bumps supressed before the rocking motion takes effect ( a problem with my previous X Type estate ). This makes for a comfortable ride when towing. Plenty of acceleration and with 6 gears cruises at 67 mph in 5th effortlessly while still returning good economy.Fully loaded car and caravan for a summer holiday returned 26mpg at 60-67 mph on a 1500 mile trip with over 50 mpg averaged in my first 10000 miles solo. I would recommend this car to anyone wishing to tow due to the high kerbweight and self levelling adaptive suspension ( only available on the top spec models however )

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] and Avondale

G.Rafferty reviewed on 04 August 2010 a Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2003) with a Avondale Osprey of 1470 kg.

We bought the C5 2.2 Estate to tow our Avondale Osprey because of the good reviews. Although it has towed well down to the south of France and back when we first had it, last year we had a problem whilst driving up a long steep hill in Devon. The turbo seemed to give up and the car went into economy mode so we struggled to make it to the top though it was OK on the flat and downhill. I have sometimes experienced this even without towing the caravan . The Citroen repair garages seem to have a problem with identifying and curing the fault as the car always seems to act perfectly when going into the garage!

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.0 HDI and Compass

Moore reviewed on 20 July 2010 a Citroen C5 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Compass Omega 482 of 1385 kg.

I have towed my Compass Liberte Air mx weight 1403 all over France and UK without any problems. It has coped very well in winds,wet and on steep hills. I have being towing for many years on smooth and rough grounds and not have the least issue

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Break 2.0 Hdi and Knaus

Antonio Nicolas Garcia reviewed on 14 June 2010 a Citroen C5 Break 2.0 Hdi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2004 - 2008) with a Knaus Sudwind 550 QS of 1425 kg.

Hola,me dirijo a ustedes ya que no entiendo el ingles porque estoy interesado en esta caravana y no se si mi coche podra con ella o ira demasiado forzado, sin nada mas espero su respuesta gracias.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] and Swift

JULIAN MARCUS NEIL BAKER reviewed on 11 November 2009 a Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2003) with a Swift Charisma 570 of 1452 kg.

tows brillenty dont realis the vans on the stabily is great the hydractive suspension helps, the only problem is unhitching the car rises so you just open a door

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 HDi and Buccaneer

Keith B reviewed on 09 November 2009 a Citroen C5 Tourer 2.0 HDi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2008 - 2010) with a Buccaneer Elan 15 of 1418 kg.

Towed around 1500 miles since I bought the car and had no problems at all whilst towing (mine has steel suspension). Very quiet and confortable for those long runs, with lots of space for the gear. Very economical to run returning about 30mpg whilst towing at 60 and 55mpg on a run solo at 70ish. Would recommend this car to anyone.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.0 HDI and Eifelland

Massimo reviewed on 26 October 2009 a Citroen C5 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Eifelland Holiday 520 TKM of 1455 kg.

La C5 è molto stabile e le sospensioni idrattive sono eccezionali per rimorchiare. L'unico cosa negativa è che avrebbe bisogno di qualche CV in più

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Break 2.0 Hdi and Knaus

Antonio reviewed on 13 August 2009 a Citroen C5 Break 2.0 Hdi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2004 - 2008) with a Knaus Sport 450 FS of 1280 kg.

Hola,porfavor no entiendo lo que quiere decir esto este es el conjunto que tengo y me gustaria que me lo traducieran para hasi poder saver que tal voy. Un saludo

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 1.8i and Caravan

Lee flats reviewed on 23 July 2009 a Citroen C5 1.8i (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Caravan of 1100 kg.

Towing a 1998 compass rallye, unladen weight 850kg and laden weighing no more than 1100kg, my 1290kg Citroen 1.8 16v petrol c5 performed comfortably. Keep an eye on the rev counter and change down in plenty of time. On steep hills take it steady. I found that careful clutch control on hill starts ensured that there was no problem getting going again. I think the secret is just take your time and don't rush. My citroen I've had from new and has done over 105,000 miles. We really enjoyed the experience and we're looking forward to our next outing.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] and Sterling

Derek Williams reviewed on 07 May 2009 a Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2003) with a Sterling Europa 520 of 1250 kg.

Perfect towing vehicle for this weight just make sure you understand its failings! airflow meters, particular filter additive & turbo over boost sensor. Main dealers can really struggle with the diagnostics, when they fail you struggle on hills but will still come along well on the flat. I have covered 55k towing with the C5 it has just hit 97k and has developed ESP/ASR problems. Great car!

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi and Bailey

Don Halliday reviewed on 21 January 2009 a Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2004 - 2008) with a Bailey Ranger 460/2 of 1131 kg.

Great towing car, on the move I hardly notice the van. Supprisingly most of the towing is in 6th gear. Solo 50mpg. towing 25mpg. Self levelling is great also the ability to raise and lower the car is often very handy when coupling and uncoupling on uneven sites. Cruise control and speed limiting is great asset, I use them constantly. Comfortable car to drive, plenty of space and lots of room in boot .All in all, a great car familoy car.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] and Avondale

SIMON BIRTLES reviewed on 16 September 2008 a Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2003) with a Avondale Argente 550-4S of 1350 kg.

tows like a dream and pulls away like a dream, the only thing i had a problem with was when it came to unhitching as the hydractive suspension lifted the car as you turned the jockey wheel. when the hitch finally came off the tow ball ,the car dropped to the ground instantly...VERY SCARY .. i thought the suspension had broke.....anyway i have now worked out how to avoid this...before unhitching lower the car with the in car button, turn the jockey wheel half a dozen times then press down on the boot of the car and it just lowers itself down nicely ...when you press down on the boot make sure to have the hitch handle up....

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Break 2.2 HDI [5MT] and Swift

Kev Spruce reviewed on 07 August 2008 a Citroen C5 Break 2.2 HDI [5MT] (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2003) with a Swift Challenger SE 480 of 1366 kg.

Extremely comfortable peformance with this outfit, the caravan is actually a '94 Swift Lifestyle 495 unladen weight 1210kg. Power, but more importantly torque, of this superb HDi motor are a welcome addition to the so important self levelling Hydractive suspension. We drive our outfit to the far reaches of Europe annually and have never experienced any towing disappointments from this rig. Just as important though is that the C5 is very reasonable to run as an everyday car, having low emissions (cheaper road tax), reliability, long service intervals, cheap service spares and very good mpg for a 2.2. I average 46 solo and 30'ish towing at 60mph. The later higher power 2.2 being even better I belive. Highly recommended if you want comfort, power and economy on a budget. The C5 is unrivalled in the value for money stakes and a great towcar.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Break 2.2 HDI [5MT] and Elddis

Dennys reviewed on 14 July 2008 a Citroen C5 Break 2.2 HDI [5MT] (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2003) with a Elddis Odyssey 482 of 1310 kg.

This is a great match -always had Citroens but this is the best. Given the laden weight of the caravan(1328kg) there is a good margin to the weight of the car and with break horse of the car at 134 theres power to spare

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.0 HDI and Coachman

Keith jones reviewed on 14 May 2008 a Citroen C5 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Coachman Amara 450/2 of 1350 kg.

Have towed a Coachman Amara 450/2 all over France with a Citroen C5 hdi 110 and found it to be a great set up.The car handles the weight and never has any snaking problems.
Ive also been very pleased with the fuel consumption usually getting in the low 30s which is at least 10/12 mpg better than the petrol car we used to have.Have had the C5 now for about 4 years and have clocked up a lot of miles towing , i would have another C5 without a doubt.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi and Avondale

John mackay reviewed on 16 April 2008 a Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2008 - 2010) with a Avondale Dart 556-6 of 1245 kg.

this is my 2nd c5 and 7 th citroen its a perfect match and would reccomend to everyone

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] and Burstner

John Furniss reviewed on 14 February 2008 a Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2003) with a Burstner S 500 TS of 1450 kg.

Tows impeccably when the Turbo works! Managed Dover to South France towing 1250kg of Swift Conqueror.without the Turbo when all garages closed (broken sensor- £20). Just kept on going but down to 1st on motorway hills.
Have to take care if using steadies when parked without unhitching though as suspension adjusts electrically when doors are locked.
Expensive particle filter at 50k miles - get it changed in France- Save approx 33%.
Now tows 1500kg of Burstner like a dream. Sports suspension setting damps any pitch and wallow.
Outfit is faster off line than a French Laguna that cut in just before a red light (Thought he must be turning so I used the o/s lane and left him in my dust when he wasn't!)
Thoroughly recommend it.
I have towed these caravans with a 4x4 2.8 Turbo diesel - give me the C5 every time.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.2 HDI aut. and Bailey

Mark Hill reviewed on 24 January 2008 a Citroen C5 2.2 HDI aut. (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of 1380 kg.

The Citroen was recommended by many caravaners as a capable towing vehicle for the caravan i wanted, even with the very close weight ratios. Practically the C5 is great towing with little if no sway or snaking felt at all, even overtaking lorries at 64mph!! The auto box is a delight especially when reversing and for pitching upon arrival, no need to slip the clutch. 3rd gear when cruising on the motorway feels about right and putting the suspension to sport mode helps stiffen things up!
The hydroactive III suspension is a god send as it self levels upon hitching the caravan keeping both units level. And you have the capability of raising the vehicle when required for awkward obstacles when pitching up on site!!

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi aut. and Geist

Gary reviewed on 30 November 2007 a Citroen C5 Berline 2.0 HDi aut. (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 2005 - 2008) with a Geist LV485 of 1300 kg.

my car is a citroen c5 2.2 vtr 128hp the match is perfect! and so is the performance with the giest it does the hills effortlessely, and clocked from brum to margate averaged 28.8 with three people onboard nonstop 225 miles of motorway at 65-60 cool

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.0 HDI and Sterckeman

John collinson reviewed on 27 October 2007 a Citroen C5 2.0 HDI (66 Kw/90 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Sterckeman Elypse 480 of 1290 kg.

I have 90hp C5, I towed on holiday for 2500miles. I found the car torque good and the car a competant tow car. Suspension was a bonus, and seats comfortable.
Gears used 4th, 3rd and 5th. Returned 32mpg

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.0i and Bailey

C jackson reviewed on 27 October 2007 a Citroen C5 2.0i (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Bailey Pageant S6 Bordeaux of 1300 kg.

I find the C5 a very good tow car ,i have never had a problem with it .It cruises at 60mph on M/Ws and pull up hills without any strain .
It is OK on hill starts .
We get an average of 34 mpg towing .

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.0 HDI and Elddis

Vernon Spall reviewed on 23 October 2007 a Citroen C5 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Elddis Avante 505 of 1358 kg.

Found the C5 fine. Have not experienced any problems on my journeys that include a number of 300 miles plus trips, that included high winds and rain. Loaded the car boot with the heavies to keep the weight in the car. MPH around 28 mph for holiday average. Citroen's hydro-elastc suspension just magic for towing.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.0 HDI and Coachman

Mike Hemming reviewed on 18 October 2007 a Citroen C5 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Coachman Amara 380/2 of 1150 kg.

The C5 is a very stable tug, even when needing to swerve. The caravan faithfully follows the car with no sign of snaking. I do not use any stabiliser. I generally acheive 30 mpg when towing and can easily cruise at 60 mph on the flat. The awning, 2 bikes and chairs travel in the boot of the car, the caravan is normally loaded including 2 gas bottles in the fornt locker, an 85 Ah battery and a motor mover.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 Break 2.0i aut. and Swift

Norman Taylor reviewed on 16 September 2007 a Citroen C5 Break 2.0i aut. (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2001 - 2004) with a Swift Challenger 460 of 1284 kg.

I would have expected better performance from my Citroen C5 given the size of van and car, I don't feel that my C5 even lives up to the expectation of the performance calculator. As I am looking to upgrade my van I will have to find a more suitable tow car, shame as in many ways the C5 is streets ahead of more expensive competitors.

Outfit Match >>>


Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] and Ace

Ellis reviewed on 13 August 2007 a Citroen C5 2.2 HDI [5MT] (98 Kw/133 PS, Year: 2001 - 2003) with a Ace Jubilee Aristocrat of 1418 kg.

We have now had this vehicle for 3 &1/2 years, distance travelled well Scotch corner to Oban, Loire twice, lake disrict several times (long weekend every third week). delightfull to tow with with no real drop off exept in a head wind on long hills, especially in France, very calm and efficient braking, the only real caviet is make sur the nose weight is spot on or less. Good all round tow with reasonable fuel consumption.

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional