TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Volvo XC70 User Reviews

Volvo XC70 - D5 [AWD] and Sterling

George Thatcher reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - D5 [AWD] (158 Kw/215 bhp year: august 2011 - up to now) and a Sterling Elite Emerald of (laden) 1650 kg.

We chose the manual version of this model after upgrading our old volvo xc70.
This is a deisel version wich gives a return of about 40-43 per gallon towING
We get more when Un hitched 48 is.
This car pulls effortlessly , taking on steep hills is no problem.
Stability is very good also.
When not towing it\'s a very refined comfortable ride with excellent boot space and rear seat room.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - D5 [AWD] and Elddis

ken davidson reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - D5 [AWD] (158 Kw/215 bhp year: august 2011 - up to now) and a Elddis Affinity 574 of (laden) 1450 kg.

I tow with a 2015 volvo xc70 se 215 bhp automatic towing Elddis affinity 574 , its the first auto car i have had and i love it, its pulls the caravan without a moan or groan even better than i thought and to top it all still get around 33 mpg you hit hills and it just pulls and not jump up and down the box that i thought it would , the auto box is great for shunting the caravan around with no clutch slipping which has to be a bonus

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - 2.4D aut. and Eriba

John D reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - 2.4D aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2002 - august 2005) and a Eriba Nova GL/SL 545 of (laden) 1480 kg.

Have towed many miles with Hymer Nova 545SL, stable, a good choice of towcar but just upgraded the car to the larger-engine 185bhp XC70 which is even better choice - a lot of power in reserve for whatever I need. 163bhp version still very good though and auto box makes for easy towing.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - D5 [AWD] and Swift

Ian Garland reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - D5 [AWD] (158 Kw/215 bhp year: august 2011 - up to now) and a Swift Conqueror 645 of (laden) 1804 kg.

I have no problems whatsoever towing with this combination. Have travelled all over France,

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - D5 and Swift

Chris Mimmack reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2007) and a Swift Charisma 620 TA of (laden) 1615 kg.

I thought this caravan would be too heavy for my XC70 but it tows a dream. Very stable even when being overtaken by large HGVs. However I do find 6th gear is only for cruising at 60 on level motorways, although I find that 56 amongst the HGVs in 5th is more comfortable. The only problem I've found, and it was the same with my previous smaller caravan, is keeping the noseweight to 75kg maximum.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. [AWD] and Swift

andylenton@msn.com reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. [AWD] (158 Kw/215 bhp year: august 2011 - up to now) and a Swift Challenger 625 SE of (laden) 1800 kg.

You will never drive a more perfectly matched combination. Towing par excellence....even the wife enjoys towing in this car....it gives you so much confidence even fully loaded in a crosswind with 2 kids a dog and the kitchen sink! Pure effortless luxury. Combo looks fantastic too. Get a lot of admiring glances from other caravanners. ...i love it!

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. [AWD] and Swift

A.mckay reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. [AWD] (158 Kw/215 bhp year: august 2011 - up to now) and a Swift Challenger SE 580 of (laden) 1566 kg.

Fantastic motor,did not notice van on the back,nothing was a problem this motor,excellent.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - 2.4D aut. and Avondale

Mike W reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - 2.4D aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2002 - august 2005) and a Avondale Dart 630-6 of (laden) 1431 kg.

The Volvo XC70 tows my Avondale Dart 630-6 with ease, the outfit is stable and easy to manoeuvre, fuel consumption is around 30mpg fully loaded and when solo will average high 40's on a run. A great car and a great family caravan.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Bailey

tony phillips reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - august 2011) and a Bailey Pageant Loire of (laden) 1612 kg.

was a little concerned at first that the Volvo would struggle to cope with a six berth twin axle bailey, happy to say it has no problems , pulls well in all conditions and is returning 25 ish mpg. this has to be the best all round car I have owned. I have fitted spring assisters due to carrying two large bernese mountain dogs in the car whilst towing, it just sat a little low.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 and Hobby

Ian reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 (151 Kw/205 bhp year: september 2009 - august 2011) and a Hobby Excellent 495 UFe of (laden) 1400 kg.

Having just completed an 8000 Mile trip of which around 7500 was with the Hobby hitched up as we made our way down to Morocco, around the country and back to the UK I have to agree that the match was excellent, while the Volvo was faultless.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - 2.4D aut. and Elddis

kevin reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - 2.4D aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2002 - august 2005) and a Elddis Avante 505 of (laden) 1358 kg.

Excellent combination
Effortless towing and great stability with inbuilt stabiliser
averaged high 30's when towing.
very comforable can tow for hours without any stress or
discomfort.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Hobby

George reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - august 2011) and a Hobby De Luxe 495 UL of (laden) 1465 kg.

Owned since 2008 and made around 40.000 km towing a Knaus@1400kg. Good and easy to drive car.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. [AWD] and Avondale

R.Sandeman reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. [AWD] (158 Kw/215 bhp year: august 2011 - up to now) and a Avondale Argente 640-6 of (laden) 1600 kg.

Fantastic rig both car & van, very comfortable cursing on the continent at 70mph (where allowed!!). Now covered approx 18,000 miles in last 3 years

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Hobby

John Steele reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - august 2011) and a Hobby Prestige 495 UFe of (laden) 1415 kg.

Owned since new (2008) XC70 SE Lux Sport (auto). Just returned from 2 month tour of UK, 3,000 + miles. Hobby Prestige 495 ULe. 30.2 mpg. Superb touring & towing car.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Hobby

Tony Phillips reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - august 2011) and a Hobby Excellent 540 UFe of (laden) 1490 kg.

This is my 2nd XC70, now drive a 2009 d5 diesel auto more stable than previous model, especially if theres a cross wind, pulls without any problem, not as good on fuel as earlier model but its a heavier car with same engine. fuel consumption depends on your right foot and technique ,can get 25mpg, previous xc 70 returned 28mpg.
This car suits me in every way , love the 4wd without the size and bulk of a large 4x4,it really is a luxury motor. arrive relaxed after a long journey .I sound like a Volvo salesman!!

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Bailey

John reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (151 Kw/205 bhp year: september 2009 - august 2011) and a Bailey Orion 430-4 of (laden) 1247 kg.

Great tow car and you hardly notice the orion on the back of it. You could almost drive up the side of snowden with this setup!

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 and Bessacarr

bryan boyd reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 (151 Kw/205 bhp year: september 2009 - august 2011) and a Bessacarr Cameo 495 of (laden) 1500 kg.

Excellent

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Swift

david faithful reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - august 2011) and a Swift Challenger SE 530 of (laden) 1545 kg.

a perfect match you dont know your towing a heavy van plenty of power to spare can overtake lorrys at 60 no trouble at all .we have the auto and diesal model and can get 25 to the gallon. pretty good.will buy another anytime.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. and Bailey

L Aldred reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - october 2007) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

Had this car now for just over a year, and it has been a great car, fuel consumption a little high, but that is to be expected. Great towcar but performs better when not using cruise control.
Only problem is that after 41000 it needed a new gearbox, spoke to Volvo and they feel that 41000 is reasonable for a gearbox if you plan to also use this car as a day to day car for commuting.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - 2.4D aut. and Bailey

W Stafford reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - 2.4D aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2002 - august 2005) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of (laden) 1415 kg.

I have owned this car for over 4 years and have averaged 3000 miles per year towing. All I can say is that it is a superb towcar; performance is good, it is very stable and comfortable. The self levelling rear suspension keeps everything sitting nicely and stops the tail end sag when the car is loaded with all our wine on the way home from France.
The performance is effortless and it is quite easy to forget that the caravan is on the back. The most efficient speed to travel is about 60 mph, as below that the torque converter slips and economy suffers. On good main roads when I can keep to this speed, I can expect 30 mpg towing; if the speed is above the mid to high 60's or below 55, then I get about 25. Solo it is about 34 day to day or 40 on a long run. Add to that the most comfortable seats available and a superb sound system, and you just want to keep on driving forever.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Abbey

james reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - august 2011) and a Abbey GTS 416 of (laden) 1545 kg.

A perfect match just like driving solo there is power to spare even on gradients.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Lunar

Eric reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (151 Kw/205 bhp year: september 2009 - august 2011) and a Lunar Lexon SB of (laden) 1410 kg.

Covered 1155miles Towed 750,Solo 405, 28.4 mpg overall,Yorkshire to Veryan Cornwall.Car an absolute dream, Power-Smoth-Quite&Comfortable. Very pleased with the car.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Bailey

John Burn reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - august 2011) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

I had a 52 plate petrol xc70 and it pulled the caravan as if it wasn't there, the only down side was the fuel consumption, around 18mpg. I have since had a 2 ltr petrol Qashqui and its not nearly as good towing and the mpg is not much better either..21mpg..I have now gone back to another xc70 but this one is deisel. I haven't towed with it yet but I am so looking forward to it.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Ace

Steven O'Hara reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - august 2011) and a Ace Award Firestar of (laden) 1490 kg.

Effortless towing, a 2000 mile trip to the highlands of Scotland over 4 weeks returned 24.7mpg (non-towing 31.6mpg). The car is very comfortable (described to me by another owner as "driving a leather sofa"). Tows equally well on motorways and country roads.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. and Swift

Tony Vernon-Smith reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - october 2007) and a Swift Challenger 480 of (laden) 1366 kg.

The combination we have here can only be described as ideal. Fuel consumption can drop to approx' 22 mpg if you are heavy footed but 28 mpg can be acheived with sensible driving and no head wind. Taking off on steep inclines is not a problem and acceleration for overtaking is good. Would recommend the car for all aspects of caravanning.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Hobby

John Steele reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - august 2011) and a Hobby Prestige 495 UFe of (laden) 1407 kg.

Not towed yet, but achieved 38 on a motorway run, @ 70mph. Incidentally, our previous tow car (same van) was a W Reg Range Rover 2.5 DSE and we achieved 22mph on a run to Scotland. I'll let you know how we get on with the new outfit.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. and Buccaneer

Ian Garland reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - october 2007) and a Buccaneer Schooner of (laden) 1867 kg.

The car tows very well fully loaded and with Buccaneer Schooner on back on French motorways it was more than able to maintain a constant speed only changing down on steep inclines. fuel ave 23.6 over 800 miles
I have no complaints

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. and Avondale

Ronald Sandeman reviewed on a Volvo XC70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - august 2011) and a Avondale Argente 640-6 of (laden) 1651 kg.

we have had the car now for approx 6 months, it tows the caravan like a flag absolutly superb. The only complaint I have of the car is the fuel consumption, towing it is arround the 18/20 MPG and the best I have ever had from the car is 32 MPG on its own unladen.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - 2.5T aut. and Solifer

Pete reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - 2.5T aut. (154 Kw/209 bhp year: july 2002 - october 2007) and a Solifer Finlandia 600 of (laden) 1330 kg.

Perfect match! We have Solifer 6102i (91) behind Volvo Xc70

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - 2.4D and Bailey

Terry Turton reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - 2.4D (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2004 - september 2005) and a Bailey Senator Louisiana of (laden) 1643 kg.

I have just bought this outfit, didn't want to buy a 4X4 truck, the Volvo is very impressive, quiet, stable very good on fuel around 35 mpg, towed up and down Berridale Brae toured all round Scotland in bad weather with no problems at all.

More details >>>


Volvo XC70 - 2.5T aut. and Burstner

Kevin T reviewed on a Volvo XC70 - 2.5T aut. (154 Kw/209 bhp year: july 2002 - october 2007) and a Burstner Belcanto 540 of (laden) 1390 kg.

Car we have had for 3 years and very difficult to fault it. Belcanto 540 TK is new (Sep 07) and its a great match to the Volvo. At 110KMh its very stable and feels as though it could go faster without any problem. If anyone is thinking of similar combination difficult to fault it.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us