TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Volvo V70 User Reviews

Volvo V70 - D5 aut. and Hobby

Bartosz reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2001 - august 2005) and a Hobby De Luxe 500 KMFe of (laden) 1300 kg.

Is a very, very friendly car with this caravan !

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D4 (2.0 twinturbo) aut. and Bailey

Peter Richardson reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D4 (2.0 twinturbo) aut. (133 Kw/181 bhp year: september 2013 - up to now) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 520/4 of (laden) 1321 kg.

This is an excellent combination. D4 engine has loads of power and the 8 speed gearbox means you can both access that power at any road speed and enjoy very quiet cruising, even when towing uphill. Stability is good with this caravan and the relatively low weight of the Bailey means the V70 is hardly troubled by its presence at all. If the Volvo was equipped with AWD (as some are) then it would be perfect. As it is, traction isn\'t perfect in slippery conditions. Even so, towing with an estate doesn\'t get much better than this. Just make sure you use proper dedicated electrics to get the Volvo trailer stability and other benefits, such as automatic disabling of stop/start when towing.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - D5 twinturbo and Bailey

Don Cook reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - D5 twinturbo (151 Kw/205 bhp year: january 2009 - july 2011) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

I have used Volvo V70 D5 and Bailey senator Indiane and have had no issues car as power in to spare and the handling is very good

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - D5 twinturbo and Elddis

Dennis reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - D5 twinturbo (158 Kw/215 bhp year: june 2011 - september 2015) and a Elddis Affinity 554 of (laden) 1476 kg.

2014 v70 D5 towing Elddis 554 Infinity..car has huge reserves of power making towing this van easy. Very stable at all motorway speeds with little unsettling effect from passing arctics. Brim to brim checks reveal mid 50's fuel consumption easily obtainable solo. Towing 28 to 30mpg if you resist the temptation to accelerate hard. Previously towed with BMW X3 177ps. This is better. Comfort in car is supreme. Engine and auto box makes towing a quiet smooth.effortless affair. Highly recommended

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - T6 aut. [AWD] and Caravan

Nick P., Sweden reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - T6 aut. [AWD] (224 Kw/305 bhp year: october 2010 - september 2015) and a Caravan of (laden) 1550 kg.

I've had my Volvo V70 T6 AWD (4x4) for three years now and I love it! Only downside is fuel consuption. When towing average is 14.0 l./100 km, without caravan about 11.0 l./100 km.

We did a roundtrip for a total of about 1700 km towing from south of Sweden to Valdres in Norway during summer 2013 with our Polar 590 GSE tandem axle, total caravan weight 1550 kg.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - D5 twinturbo and Sterling

j-dougall@sky.com reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - D5 twinturbo (158 Kw/215 bhp year: june 2011 - september 2015) and a Sterling Eccles Sport 544 of (laden) 1435 kg.

Tows very well, sits nice and level even when car is fully loaded, good mpg, getting 50 mpg solo, 40 when towing, will tow at 60mph in 6th gear on cruise control all day, very impressed.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - T5 2.0 [PowerShift] and Elddis

Rod Blackbourne reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - T5 2.0 [PowerShift] (177 Kw/241 bhp year: october 2010 - september 2013) and a Elddis Odyssey 482 of (laden) 1385 kg.

The Volvo V70 is the perfect towcar for my Elddis Odyssey 482. The Auto gearbox is smooth and the powershift to 6 manual forward gears is really good for rounderbouts etc.
The internal space for all the gear is excellent. Have just ordered a new one!

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 and Lunar

Angus reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2007) and a Lunar Solaris of (laden) 1410 kg.

Cruise all the way, never over 60 and you won't realise its there.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 aut. and Ace

J Wisner reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - october 2007) and a Ace Award Morningstar of (laden) 1309 kg.

27mpg diesel is where its at for me no matter what sort of journey. The D5 never breaks a sweat but I never take it over 55mph anyway as any higher and I feel the instability start to build. Just take it easy, use cruse control if you have it and you'll almost forget its there.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 and Bailey

ash reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2007) and a Bailey Pageant Loire of (laden) 1512 kg.

we have owned the v70 for the past 9 months and are extremely pleased with it. The performance is outstanding, we have towed back to back against our trust old ford galaxy and the returned the same mpg towing 30mpg - 31mpg which I was surprised at, i thought the v70 would be a lot worse! one down side of the v70 is the driving/towing postion it is a little low (but i amd compareing it against driving an hgv and tall galaxy). i am very carefull not to put any WEIGHT in the boot of the v70 as it is easy to have a saggy bum look.

get on the motorway pull 6th gear and hit cruise 50-52mph and sit there all day now worries. solo driving this car will keep up with just about anything on the road and driven carefully will return 30-35mpg pottering about but close to 50mpg on a run at 67mph. a very impressive car.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 [AWD] and Coachman

Peter D reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 [AWD] (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2007) and a Coachman Pastiche 560/4 of (laden) 1630 kg.

Towed quite a few heavy vans with this car, the Pastiche is the heaviest but also the best tow. Minimal sway when overtaking big wagons. Averaging 30mpg towing @ 55>60mph. Think the new design of the Pastiche helps the aerodynamics & therefore stability. Running 80>90 kg nose weight. Very impressed.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.4D [6MT] and Elddis

n churchill reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.4D [6MT] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2007) and a Elddis Avante 540 of (laden) 1412 kg.

excellent for towing my caravan you dont know its there even pulling off at juctions its very good

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - D5 twinturbo aut. and Sprite

clive reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - D5 twinturbo aut. (151 Kw/205 bhp year: january 2009 - july 2011) and a Sprite Quattro FB of (laden) 1561 kg.

first time used but great info

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.5T and Caravan

russell chester reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.5T (142 Kw/193 bhp year: january 1997 - may 1999) and a Caravan of (laden) 250 kg.

you would not even know you had a caravan on tow,i out paced a MGF from the lights with the caravan and four people in the car, and yes thay where trying it was a friend of mine, this car will pull a house down, but 12 to 15 mpg when towing, one other thing you can run the 25T on normal unleaded fuel but it will give out a lot more power on super as the ecu will ajust its self to give higher engine output found this out by talking with a volvo tech guy a couple of years ago.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - D5 twinturbo aut. [AWD] and Swift

Tony reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - D5 twinturbo aut. [AWD] (158 Kw/215 bhp year: june 2011 - september 2015) and a Swift Charisma 220 of (laden) 1151 kg.

I have had the caravan four years but have only recently purchased the car. I towed with a Ford Mondeo TDCi 130 PS before and have to say that the Volvo is a far superior tow car. Having decided that I would like an automatic I was looking to buy a Mondeo but was put off by the twin clutch auto gearbox system. I wanted a traditional oil based system. I now know that I have made the right choice. This is an excellent match, effortless, extremely stable and comfortable.Fuel consumtion averages 33mpg when towing against a normal 44mpg. Best outfit I've owned in almost 25 years.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 aut. and Coachman

jules reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2001 - august 2005) and a Coachman Amara 520/4 of (laden) 1500 kg.

Volvo v70 awd d5 geartronic"s" maintains any speed safely and stops very well too. The coachman may be heavy but not a problem, even going down hill with semi auto box keeping us under control. 31mpg towing up hill and down dale and better on motorways. A great towcar

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - 2.0D and Elddis

gary marsh reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: october 2007 - october 2010) and a Elddis Avante 554 of (laden) 1518 kg.

ive towed with the volvo for the last three years which is the R design, no problems what so ever allthough the mt weight of the elddis is actually 1500 kg, averages arround 25 to 28 mpg regardless of motorways or A roads but allways plenty of power in reserve, you just have to watch youre speed because it will just keep pulling, best to use cruise control on the motorway.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 and Bailey

G Birks reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2007) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 540/6 of (laden) 1324 kg.

I have owned the D5 for the past 12 months, covered 2200 miles with the Bailey GT60 and with no towing issues what so ever! Well balanced no sway on the bends, easily managed the hills and on the flat we never felt it on the back of the car and even averaged 30mpg! A dream to own and drive both hithced and solo.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 aut. and Abbey

Jack Currie reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2001 - august 2005) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 216 of (laden) 1305 kg.

Great towing outfit. The Volvo pulls off on the steepest of hills and high speed cruising is effortless. Fuel economy is also very good.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 aut. and Lunar

s davis reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - october 2007) and a Lunar Clubman SE of (laden) 1490 kg.

tow a lunar clubman se (1490)kg with a volvo vy
70 d5 185 auto have towed with this car for 5 years and handles everything and still returns 28 mpg towing extremely stable and out performs my previous merc e class 320 diesel



More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.4 aut. and Bailey

Georgina reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.4 aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2000 - june 2004) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

My V70 Auto has already done 125000 miles and has started towing a 24ft Bailey Pageant Burgundy. It is also my first experience at towing. I had to keep reminding myself that I had a caravan at all, as it pulled along even on 'creep' at the dealers. Had no problems at all, 50mph all the way from the Midlands to Yorkshire, plus a heavy awing and luggage in the boot too. Was averaging about 25mpg and this is a petrol car. Really impressed and has confirmed to me that my next car will be another Volvo.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - T5 [B5234T3] and Sterling

Paul Lawton reviewed on a Volvo V70 - T5 [B5234T3] (184 Kw/250 bhp year: march 2000 - june 2004) and a Sterling Elite Explorer of (laden) 1824 kg.

Although this site states that caravan is 28kg overwieght for the Volvo the car coped extremely well. We covered a total of over 8500 miles in three months last year throuhg Spain, Portugal and France, crossing the Pyrenese twice!! Never once did the combination seem wrong, with faultless hill starts, hairpin mountain bends and above legal motorway speeds. Average mpg for the entire 8500 miles was 19.4 mpg. The Volvo has a very large luggage capacitty and had 2 bikes on the roof. Overall a very good combination.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 and Abbey

Phil Mitchell reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2001 - may 2005) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 417 of (laden) 1399 kg.

Been towing my GTS Vogue 417 with my V70 D5 for just over a year now and constantly get 34+ mpg towing and 45+ mpg solo.Much better than my 300 tdi discovery and much better performance.
The only downside is front wheel drive has problems with traction on slippery surfaces.
Overall 9/10 and an overall nice car.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - 2.4D aut. and Lunar

Colin Keeper reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - 2.4D aut. (129 Kw/175 bhp year: june 2009 - october 2010) and a Lunar Lexon 585 SI of (laden) 1380 kg.

I have returned to caravanning after a break of some 10 yrs. The power weight ratio appears to be very good with plenty of power reserves. However, being front wheel drive can a problem when puling away on slope when wet and on camp site in same conditions; the only saving grace is the Dynamic Stability and Traction Control which is standard feature of the new V70; an absolute necessity in my opinion. It may well be that I am may not have the loading of the van balance correctly ( I will be more precise next time) but the van was nudging the rear of the V70 on bends when cruising at or about the legal limit on A and B roads. On motorways with cruise control on, no problems at all, fuel consumption better than expected. Towing through the Cotswolds recently was an absolute delight. I have not had a chance at any serious hill climbs or hill starts, but current experience, I will be surprised if any real issue are presented; that said my Volvo is an automatic, which should hill starts very easy. I will be happy to add to this report as my experience grows with the rig grows.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - 2.4D and Hobby

Peter Menzies reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - 2.4D (129 Kw/175 bhp year: june 2009 - october 2010) and a Hobby De Luxe 540 UK of (laden) 1493 kg.

2009 V70 2.4D (175BHP) SE Lux + Hobby 540UK

Towing Good & stable at all times. Easy to accelerate to & maintain legal limit. Turning circle improved from prev model, this especially improves reversing. Use of 6th gear on most motorway sections dropping to 5th in steeper inclines, cruise control at 60 on m'way stress free when road quiet. Plenty of torque to get things moving , grip from front wheels good. Fuel economy increasing as miles increase currently 40mpg solo and 28mpg towing but expect this to improve as miles go by. Stable outfit, recommended although not quite as stable as older V70 D5. Fitted Grayston rear spring assisters which tightens up rear under load. Driving solo is great too, great family car.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - D5 and Coachman

Steve Hill reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - june 2009) and a Coachman Amara 560/6 of (laden) 1567 kg.

Well-balanced, pulls in 6th gear on all but the largest slopes. Recommend self-levelling suspension is fitted

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 and Abbey

Phil Mitchell reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2001 - may 2005) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 417 of (laden) 1399 kg.

Just done 1200 miles round south midlands and cornwall in my 2002 V70 D5 towing an Abbey GTS Vogue 417.covered 600 miles with the van and 600 solo.
Average overall was 37.4 mpg and excellent performance.
cannot fault the overall performance of this outfit.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.4 and Bailey

IVAN reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.4 (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2004 - october 2007) and a Bailey Pageant Champagne of (laden) 1407 kg.

MY 140BHP VOLVO SEEMS TO ROLL ALONG WELL WITH MY BAILEY CHAMPAGNE ON TOW,MAY BE A L ITTLE THIRSTY AT 20 MPG BUT THE COMFORT IS A1

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.4 aut. and Caravan

clint robinson reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.4 aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2000 - june 2004) and a Caravan of (laden) 1250 kg.

I tow a 550/6 bailey ranger weight 1280 with this car. No real problems other than fifth gear is not really possible. I use fourth for most of the time, dropping to third for hills and towns. Comfortable driving though, especially over long distances.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - D5 and Abbey

s j dale reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - june 2009) and a Abbey GTS 418 of (laden) 1490 kg.

Very well balanced outfit with plenty of power. My previous V70 had load compensating suspension but there is very little difference

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.4 and Caravan

sammy reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.4 (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2000 - june 2004) and a Caravan of (laden) 1367 kg.

has to be good and fast

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.4 aut. and Bailey

Pete Disney reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.4 aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2000 - june 2004) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 540/6 of (laden) 1324 kg.

I totally recomend the 2.4 petrol Volvo (auto) V70 as a tow car. I had never towed anything util we bought our first Van in 08, and I bought the V70 specifically to tow it. I think it lacks some torque, sure, but that said it accellerates well enough not to annoy other road users, and it is fabulously comfy. Even on a 400+ mile Tow, I get out feeling quite relaxed. Only issue for me is that I lock it in 4th gear as 5th is useless really, and at 60mph it is turning some 2750 rpms, but its still quiet. At that speed in 4th I lso get around 22 mpg. Not bad for a rig weighing in excesss of 3250 Kg's

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - 2.4D and Bailey

Chris reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - 2.4D (120 Kw/163 bhp year: october 2007 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of (laden) 1415 kg.

I've had this outfit for three years and it's never given me any problems. Always perfect stability, and seldom any need to change down gear on UK motorways. Volvo is 100,000miles plus now and still drives as new, but I would recommend the self levelling suspension.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - 2.0D and Compass

Doug Wares reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: october 2007 - october 2010) and a Compass Omega 544 of (laden) 1560 kg.

Further to above review the data shown is incorrect as Volvo show kerb weight as 1736kg which gives ratio of 89.86%. I knew I had chosen the Volvo for a good reason.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - 2.0D and Compass

Doug Wares reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: october 2007 - october 2010) and a Compass Omega 544 of (laden) 1560 kg.

Although the system is above the optimum weight ratio the combination is very stable. My wife and I both tow and find the Volvo V70 2.0D a great car. Very comfortable to drive and well built. I tend not to load the van to max 1560Kg e.g. the awning used is a lightweight which helps. I have also modified the engine with a diesel tuning kit which enables the car to remain in higher gear for longer and improves fuel consumption. I get generally around 27-28 mpg towing and above 50 mpg solo.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - TDI aut. and Swift

paul ashworth reviewed on a Volvo V70 - TDI aut. (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 1999 - june 2000) and a Swift Challenger 460 of (laden) 1284 kg.

i find this site very helpfull easy to use i have a volvo 850 2.5 tdi p reg and i tow a swift challenger and it pulls like a train and 25-30 mpg one of the best towing cars ive had

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 aut. and Bailey

Rob McAdoo reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - october 2007) and a Bailey Pageant Loire of (laden) 1612 kg.

I am currently towing a Bailey loire twin axle ( 1612 )with a Volvo V70 D5 185 Auto. At low speeds the Volvo pulls it well as long as it gets traction which in some cases is difficult. At higher speeds the towing is more than noticable as the Volvo has a very soft suspension which means it struggles to give a confident ride on bad roads or in the case the wind is moderate. this outfit returns a mpg of just 20 which I find unacceptable. My previous car was a BMW 320d tourer which towed far better and gave a impressive 26 MPG. I will be changing this car for next sesson!

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.4 aut. and Lunar

C Wheatley reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.4 aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2000 - june 2004) and a Lunar Zenith 5 of (laden) 1205 kg.

To be honest I would not recommend the Volvo V70 2.4 auto (petrol) as a towing vehicle. It lacks torque and response can often be quite sluggish. That said, it bobbles along quite nicely once it gets up to speed.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.4D aut. [6AT] and Bjolseth

Atle Vatne reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.4D aut. [6AT] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2005 - october 2007) and a Bjolseth 650 of (laden) 1800 kg.

2009 V70II 2,4D + Bjølseth 650 2004 Jubilee with stabilizer first time reg. spring -05.
Superb power and handling.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.4T aut. and Bailey

Douglas Sutherland reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.4T aut. (147 Kw/200 bhp year: march 2000 - january 2003) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

We are new to caravaning but our volvo seems to tow our Bailey Pageant Provence very well got plenty of power,but beware of front tyres loosing grip on wet roads at traffic lights,roundabouts etc.
We only get 17.5 miles to the gallon and are now looking for a D5 Estate.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 and Hobby

Peter Menzies reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2001 - may 2005) and a Hobby Excellent 540 UK of (laden) 1500 kg.

V70 D5 SE towed my Hobby 540UK round Ireland, North England & Scotland over all types of roads, rain & snow, stable at all times. D5 excellent even on steep uphill sections. 45mpg driving solo drops to about 35mpg average when towing. Great car, superb seats, excellent d5 engine. What more can you ask for transporting caravan, dog, kids & bikes.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - XC and Bailey

Karen Silvan reviewed on a Volvo V70 - XC (147 Kw/200 bhp year: may 2000 - july 2002) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1609 kg.

Pulls Bailey Senator Wyoming series 5 with no problems so far. No snaking. Pulled up 1 in 8 in 2nd gear with no strain. No overheating. Be careful with nose weight. Fuel consumption reduced minimally. Pulls at 60 mph easily on dual carriageway/motorway.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - XC and Caravan

Bill Jarvis reviewed on a Volvo V70 - XC (147 Kw/200 bhp year: may 2000 - july 2002) and a Caravan of (laden) 1250 kg.

My V70 XC Auto will tow all day with no complaint or problem, even at a steady 60 on motorways. It would be easy to forget that you have a caravan attached.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 and Avondale

John Bevan reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2001 - may 2005) and a Avondale Argente 480-2 of (laden) 1325 kg.

I've been towing my Argente 460/2 with my V70 D5 for 5 years and I remain convinced the V70 D5 is th best towcar I've ever had (towing for over 25 years). The fuel consumption on a 1000 mile plus trip averages around 34 Mpg which is achieved by correctly balancing in trailer, using gentle throttle control and driving on smooth French autoroutes!! Driving on Uk roads ups the anti in fuel consumtion ans stress levels!! Bon Route!!

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - 2.4D and Swift

jimmrrae reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - 2.4D (120 Kw/163 bhp year: october 2007 - june 2009) and a Swift Charisma 555 of (laden) 1442 kg.

Ive only towed with this outfit twice and really think its a great pairing,the van sits very steady on the road and the car just keeps on going,really great to handle.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - T5 [B5234T3] and Hobby

Luke Gollings reviewed on a Volvo V70 - T5 [B5234T3] (184 Kw/250 bhp year: march 2000 - june 2004) and a Hobby Excellent 540 UK of (laden) 1500 kg.

Volvo is an excellent tow car and great with family. T5 engine pulls very strongly...even with a caravan can put a smile on your face and annoy drivers behind with acceleration! 28mpg solo and getting 22mpg with caravan, roofbox and bikes on top! Hobby 540 Uk great to tow. This combination feels better than my previous Disco II and Knaus and that was impressive!

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - R and Swift

mike reviewed on a Volvo V70 - R (220 Kw/299 bhp year: january 2003 - october 2007) and a Swift Conqueror 645 of (laden) 1690 kg.

i used my 97 v 70 r awd drive to tow a small four birth swift caravan with no problems at all, its has a five speed manual gearbox, i drove on the motorways and a roads in fourth gear with the cruise control set to 55 mph and never had to down shift even on the hills

More details >>>


Volvo V70 III - D5 aut. and Sterling

Max Smith reviewed on a Volvo V70 III - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: october 2007 - june 2009) and a Sterling Eccles SE Topaz of (laden) 1370 kg.

The V70 does everything I want with or without the caravan on the back. It is a pleasure to drive.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 aut. and Lunar

Ian Buckell reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - october 2007) and a Lunar Quasar 524 of (laden) 1330 kg.

We did have a 250bhp V70 T5 which was very good at towing but changed to the D5 last year and this is even better at towing quite a hard job to keep it at 60mph. Can recommend it.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.0T and Lunar

Peter Brookes reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.0T (132 Kw/180 bhp year: june 2003 - october 2007) and a Lunar Lexon EB of (laden) 1370 kg.

I have to say that I am very happy in the way this outfit tows. There is sufficient torque to pull away in most scenarios, the only downside is a hill start on a damp road, as the V70 has plenty of power but with all the weight at the back it easily spins. You just have to adjust your driving style!

Downside: averages 18mpg !

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 and Hobby

Peter Menzies reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2001 - may 2005) and a Hobby De Luxe 540 UK of (laden) 1449 kg.

I've towed Volvo V70 & Hobby 540UK combination now for some miles on Motorway, A & B road. Stable at all times, easy to tow / brake / overtake & stop. Fuel consumption takes a dip from 48mpg solo to approx 35 during mixed conditions at legal limit. Get good mirrors for rearward vision & I've fitted Grayston rear spring assisters which help keep rear level. Cruise control a great help on long runs. Great car, superb D5 engine, excellent caravan!

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - D5 and Hobby

peter menzies reviewed on a Volvo V70 - D5 (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2001 - may 2005) and a Hobby De Luxe 540 UK of (laden) 1399 kg.

Just purchased caravan so too early to say, will follow up with report after some outings as was looking for report myself.

More details >>>


Volvo V70 - 2.4 and Hobby

KeithMcC reviewed on a Volvo V70 - 2.4 (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2000 - june 2004) and a Hobby Prestige 540 UL of (laden) 1497 kg.

The Volvo is my 4th big Volvo estate as a towcar and is the best to date:- long wheelbase, plenty of power, exceptionally stable even when light. The Hobby is far and away the most stable caravan I have ever towed in my 25 years of caravanning. It doesn't really need a stabiliser and it has a very light noseweight - nothing near the so-called recommended 7% of gross weight - more like 45 to 60kgs. It has never wiggled, let alone snaked, even at max speed in crosswinds being overtaken by 'White Van Man' . The build quality is also the best I have come across and much cheaper than UK caravans for the same spec. On the continent Hobby caravans are the single most popular caravan - now I know why !!

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us