TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Volkswagen Touareg User Reviews

Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Bailey

Steve reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: may 2011 - up to now) and a Bailey Pegasus 534 of (laden) 1466 kg.

After a year of battling with our 2.0l Passat and our Pegasus 534 ... Unstable, heavy nose weight etc something had to give and it was the Passat ... Found a lovely 2012 Touareg and just had first trip and what a revelation.... Amazing car, so powerful, towing dream and now such a relaxing drive without constant worry of what's overtaking us.... We can load sensibly and at 60mph not a twitch from the caravan ... Not a cheap car to buy but full of quality and currently 39 mpg solo 25 towing ... I love the car and it's a pleasure again to go away in the caravan!

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Coachman

Adrian Ansdell reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: may 2011 - up to now) and a Coachman VIP 520/4 of (laden) 1600 kg.

This is second full year in my first Touareg after owning Discoveries , E Class Mercedes ,and 5 Series BMW -- no contest the VW wins hands down both towing and solo. Comfort , space , solo and towing ability is second to none. I achieve on average 35mpg solo and 23mpg towing. If you want to arrive , no matter how long the journey , fresh and relaxed then this is the car for you. Simply the best.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - 2.5 TDI aut. and Bailey

kevin carrtwright reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - 2.5 TDI aut. (128 Kw/174 bhp year: march 2003 - april 2010) and a Bailey Pegasus 624 of (laden) 1638 kg.

Touareg is a fantastic car for towing, it is a pleasure to tow with, I pull a Pegasus 624 t/a it doesn't know it's on the back really I would recommend this car to anybody who want's to tow a larger caravan

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI cr 3.0 V6 aut. and Bailey

Tom reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI cr 3.0 V6 aut. (176 Kw/239 bhp year: november 2007 - april 2010) and a Bailey Olympus 620-6 of (laden) 1649 kg.

I have been caravaning for 3 and a half years and dilibarated for some time what unit to buy i decided on a 173 bhp Nissan X Trail although a amazing suv and pulled my Bailey Olympus 2 620/6 with great ease i did find the front end a little light for me wben overtaking slower vehicles so i bit the bullet and changed my unit again and after endles reserch decided to go for a 2007 VW Touareg 3lt V6 TD and i have to say WOW this car would pull a train i am sure it so smooth pulls my Bailey like its not there lorrys pass me by on the odd ocation and you dont even feel any buffering at all it realy is one of the best cars i have ever driven especialy when towing so if you are thinking of getting a caravan and are not sure what unit to go for i can strongley recomend the VW Touareg 3lt TD V6 in a word ( Ammazing )..

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Coachman

Mel reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: may 2011 - up to now) and a Coachman VIP 560/4 of (laden) 1640 kg.

Now on my 3rd touareg, the latest R-line 245bhp. Effortless towing down to the South of France again this year, now done 11000 miles and returned over 40mpg solo at the weekend, unbelievable, stop start much more economical than my previous one and more powerful. Still only does about 22-24 towing but then again I tend to drive as if it was solo and don't hang about. My one criticism is I wish I had got air suspension as the sports suspension is a bit hard. As a tow car it takes some beating, and does not have the reliability problems of the most popular 4x4.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Swift

Mark reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: january 2005 - november 2007) and a Swift Challenger Sport 636 of (laden) 1650 kg.

Excerllent tow car! I did a 900 mile trip to Scotland and back with effortless driving pulling a swift challenger 636 witch I managed 27 mpg at 60mph. Anyone looking to buy a big tow car this is the one

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Buccaneer

paul horton reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: may 2011 - up to now) and a Buccaneer Schooner of (laden) 1905 kg.

Just bought a touareg v6 altitude 245, towing my buccaneer schooner is like it,s not on the back, fully loaded it,s awesome & comfort is next to none, fuel is good 25mpg + all over U.K & France, it will out accelerate the average solo car. 10 out 10

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Coachman

Mel reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: january 2005 - november 2007) and a Coachman VIP 560/4 of (laden) 1620 kg.

My second touareg, Superb tow car, effortless towing, very smooth gearbox, watch others disappear behind you in the distance as you climb the hills, I have friends with other 4x4 s none compare on performance or reliability.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Compass

Karl reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: may 2011 - up to now) and a Compass Omega 524 of (laden) 1525 kg.

I would agree with the last review,the 3 litre Toureg is an ideal tow car,I have a 2009 model although a bit juicier than the newer models it is an excellent tow car. Hill starts no trouble,overtaking when necessary no problem smooth fast and safe,braking smooth and effortless. Towing 22-27 mpg solo 30-35 mpg.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Abbey

Greg Murry reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg II - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: may 2011 - up to now) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 418 of (laden) 1377 kg.

As with lots of reviews the latest towcar you have is the best !
In my case I have been towing for 25 plus years and the two memorable tow cars have been the most powerful , not economical or cheap to run but good compromises .
My latest tow car is a VW Touareg 3.0l TDI SE
Yes its a big 4x4 but on a recent towing trip 300 plus miles I got 27.5 mpg( which I was pleased with) It has an excellent 8 speed auto gear box and is comforable towing my Abbey 418 .
On reason for getting this car was after towing 2 weeks through Belgium, Germany , France and Luxembourg, with a manual gear box and a knee problem I vowed to get an auto and now think I should have done it years ago !
So far I've had no problems with the car and I am on a service deal for the first three years so running cost are reasonable. Hope this helps people looking at buying a Touareg .
ps... auto hold on this car is excellent when setting off on an incline whilst towing.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - 2.5 TDI aut. and Sterling

Gary Morris reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - 2.5 TDI aut. (128 Kw/174 bhp year: march 2003 - april 2010) and a Sterling Elite Explorer of (laden) 1824 kg.

Have had the car for past 5 years and has been a pleasure, much more car like to drive than the 4 Discovery's we had previously, but I can't say they caused us any issues and all were very reliable. We bought the Sterling just over 12 months ago and have taken it to Mid France last summer and to several UK sites and apart from a flat tyre on the M20 which I didn't even know about until a Continental Driver beeped me when he overtook towing has been very straight forward.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI V10 aut. and Airstream

brian hardon reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI V10 aut. (230 Kw/313 bhp year: december 2002 - april 2010) and a Airstream 532 of (laden) 1570 kg.

This is an addition to my previous review. The caravan I was towing was an Airstream International 532 loaded to its maximum of 1.7 tonne. As previosly stated I got 18 mpg towing-my previous car was an Audi A4 Avant 3 litre Tdi and I got 22 mpg towing the Airstream. Not a lot of differene when you consider the extra power.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI V10 aut. and Airstream

brian hardon reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI V10 aut. (230 Kw/313 bhp year: december 2002 - april 2010) and a Airstream 532 of (laden) 1570 kg.

Toureg V10 5 litre. Touring to north of Scotland and back approx 800 miles got 18 mpg and absolutley no problems towing. The car is a 2003 model and has done over 85,000 miles and if there is a better mdel of any type of car I would like to see it.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Swift

Mark reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: january 2005 - november 2007) and a Swift Challenger 620 of (laden) 1774 kg.

Effortless, towed this outfit all over Europe. As with any big vehicle and van combination, fuel consumption is low as expected- can average 21mpg @ 60mph which I don't consider bad. Car tows very well, nice relaxed tow.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - 2.5 TDI aut. and Buccaneer

Peter Crooks reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - 2.5 TDI aut. (128 Kw/174 bhp year: march 2003 - april 2010) and a Buccaneer Clipper of (laden) 1867 kg.

This is a superb match. The Clipper fully laden including aircon unit on the roof and the awning in the side lockers does not seem to cause the Touareg any problems. This has been our combination for the past three years and apart from the touareg being a bit thirsty while towing we have to accept the compromise.
Thinking of changing to a VW Phaeton 3.0tdi 4motion as it appears to be an even better match!

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - 3.2 V6 aut. and Elddis

n. clark reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - 3.2 V6 aut. (177 Kw/241 bhp year: july 2004 - march 2006) and a Elddis Avante 544 of (laden) 1470 kg.

just come back from touring scotland ,up the west coast along the north coast and down the east coast back to west yorks .no problems but preferred to use tiptronic for better results .went up any road we encountered

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI cr 3.0 V6 aut. and Abbey

Huw Morris reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI cr 3.0 V6 aut. (176 Kw/239 bhp year: november 2007 - april 2010) and a Abbey Spectrum 418 of (laden) 1553 kg.

I have an '08 VW Touareg 3.0 tdi Altitude and tow a 1999 Abbey Spectrum 418.

Having just commenced towing again after a 20 year break (used to tow my parents Thompson Glennevis caravan with an Austin Maxi -often with the typical slipping clutch!!
) it is so pleasant having a such a capable towcar. The Abbey has a total loaded kerbweight of 1500kg, but the Touareg is still capable of holding the unit in drive mode on inclines without having to resort to the use of the handbrake. At roundabouts and junctions it truly shows its towing capabilities with very rapid takeoffs (often leaving solo saloon cars for dead!!), especially if you use sport mode as this has a far smoother power curve than the normal drive mode.

The vehicle also benefits from the tiptronic gear change option which means that you can lock the car in a gear to assist with both uphill ascents or to aid braking with downhill descents.

You'll also find that the auto difflock very effective, especially when climbing inclines where the surface changes suddenly. This impressed my towing instructor last year (also a 4x4 instructor) when the vehicle immediately reacted when one of the wheels passed over some gravel while the other wheels were on very grippy concrete.

I have towed twice so far and have returned between 22-24mpg but as these were only short journeys I would hope for better figures on longer runs (solo it returns 23-24mpg around town and up to 32mpg at 70mph).

Only word of advice is that vehicle is heavy on tyres (first set of Pirelli PZero Rossos only lasted 7000miles!!) so choice of make important (apparently General UHP Grabbers work well but haven't tried these personally -on Yokohamas currently so will have to wait and see what happens) and also to ensure you have extended warranty in case of problems, as they can be very expensive.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Fleetwood

steve jenkins reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: january 2005 - november 2007) and a Fleetwood Heritage 640-CB TA of (laden) 1670 kg.

the best 4x4 on the road today value for money quality build no faults at all with 77k on clock now,tows 2009 fleetwood 640cb easily. have had truck revo tuned to 280bhp -360lb torque better on fuel now .very quiet 4x4 and comfortable

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Elddis

Stuart reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI 3.0 V6 aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: january 2005 - november 2007) and a Elddis Crusader Supercyclone of (laden) 1839 kg.

Having been a Land Rover driver for years and years i fancied a change. As far as i am concerned the Touareg is the best thing i have done for years!! It tows in my opinion far better than the Discovery. It tows my Super Cyclone abosolutly effortlessly no matter what you throw at it. It also seems so reluctant to change out of 6th gear hanging onto it for as long as it can just using all the torque of the engine. I would recommend this car to anyone who tows a large caravan.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - 2.5 TDI aut. and Buccaneer

George Simms reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - 2.5 TDI aut. (128 Kw/174 bhp year: march 2003 - april 2010) and a Buccaneer Argosy of (laden) 1647 kg.

First Class touring with this outfit. The car and caravan are both at the upper end of the market and very enjoyable to drive and live in. There is always the assurance that there is enough power to cope and that he brakes are well matched to the weight of this outfit. However this is really quite a large outfit - nearly 40 feet long - and on minor roads it takes up a lot of space. This is offset on motorways where there isn't even a whiff of disturbance as you glide along at the upper legal limits. 3500 miles in 2008 to Italy and back through England, France, Austria, Germany and Belgium and not a hint that there was any strain on the car - though at 25 mpg towing there was a bit of a strain on the wallet. Ah well, just goes to show that you can't have everything, and I would have no hesitation in recommending this combination. Indeed I believe the VW would tow a greater load with equal aplomb if I had wanted an even bigger caravan, but at over 18 feet for 2 people the Argosy seems luxury enough and I'm looking forward to further continental adventures in the future. WGS.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - 2.5 TDI and Elddis

Adam Brown reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - 2.5 TDI (128 Kw/174 bhp year: march 2003 - april 2010) and a Elddis Avante 524 of (laden) 1362 kg.

Have traded in my BMW 520i for a VW Touareg 2.5 TDI Sport. What a difference!!. The BMW was good, the VW is awsome. No probelms at all at any speed and wide enough not to need mirror extensions, pulls like a train got up to 70 mph with out realising!

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI cr 3.0 V6 aut. and Swift

Patrick A A Garner reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI cr 3.0 V6 aut. (176 Kw/239 bhp year: november 2007 - april 2010) and a Swift Conqueror 630 of (laden) 1715 kg.

I am very new to caravanning but already have such a passion for it. I picked up my first ever Volkswagen in a brand new Touareg 3.0 litre Altitude which I had re-mapped to nearly 300bhp Prior to this I was adamant that the 4X4 I was going to purchase was the Landrover Discovery3. 2.7 litre HSE. Luckily my friend who got me into caravanning had a 2.5 litre TDi & asked me to look at the Touareg before making my final decidion; I'm so glad I did.

The power, build quality, looks,gagets, comfort & towing ability with the hill assist function that even the 'great' Disco does not have are just a few things to mention. Also not fogetting its brilliant off road ability which I was privileged to experience on th Touareg-unlimited day laid on courtesy of Volkswagen.

I picked up my first ever caravan in February 2008 which was an Abbey Freestyle 500 single axle 5 berth dinette. I have to say that as my friend said "I am spoilt coming into this game." The Touareg made 'light work' of this outfit with me sometimes forgetting it was on the back. Also I have never driven a car with such massive side mirrors that you can see pased the caravan.UNBELIEVABLE!


Now because I've got the bug for the touring caravan life & wifey does not like the idea of me having to assemble the bed each time we go away, we have already changed our caravan to the award winning best luxury caravan in the Swift Conqueror 630 2008 twin axle.


With the added stability of the twin axle & the power of the Touareg, the combination is FANTASTIC! I would highly recommend this outfit to anyone who wants the ultimate in touring caravan luxury.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI V10 aut. and Sterling

philip pearce reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI V10 aut. (230 Kw/313 bhp year: december 2002 - april 2010) and a Sterling Eccles Emerald of (laden) 1383 kg.

what a fantastic towcar this is it was purchased to tow my caravan and boy does it do it in style. we have towed all over u k with no problems and even out accelerated solo sporty type cars who when they see a caravan have to be infront so as not to get held up. 20 -23.5 mpg brilliant does any one have clarksons mobile so i can show him my outfit
p e pearce

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI cr 3.0 V6 aut. and Bailey

Ken Scott reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI cr 3.0 V6 aut. (176 Kw/239 bhp year: november 2007 - april 2010) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1559 kg.

Having towed for a year with '05 plated 5.0 litre V10 TDi, an awesome car both solo and towing, we recently changed to a '57 plated 3.0 litre V6 TDi (Altitude spec).

The spec and build quality are both superb, and although our newer model does not have the air suspension of the V10, it tows like a dream.

Our Series 5 Wyoming, being a twin axle behaves very well and the match is well suited, stable and safe, even for higher continental towing speeds should you wish to travel faster than 60 mph (equiv).

The car solo at 70 mph returns 32 mpg average and during a recent hilly trip from Durham to England's Lake District, returned 22 mpg with the caravan behind.
This figure should be considerably higher on longer runs and I'm hoping for 25 mpg when we take it to Vendee, France this summer.

We looked at the Range Rover Sport and Mercedes ML Class before buying into the VW marque and believe that reliability, build quality and value for money put the Touareg ahead of the others.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Touareg - TDI V10 aut. and Vanmaster

Aubrey Thomas reviewed on a Volkswagen Touareg - TDI V10 aut. (230 Kw/313 bhp year: december 2002 - april 2010) and a Vanmaster Occasion 640 SB TA of (laden) 1820 kg.

Fantastic, even with nearly 2 tons on the back overtaking relatively easy, give lots of solo cars a surprise. Have towed caravn over Grossglockner pass in Austria 8,250 feet asl no problem! Fuel consumption towing 20-24mpg.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us