TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Volkswagen Passat User Reviews

Volkswagen Passat Variant - 2.0 TDI [DSG6] and Bailey

Peter reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 2.0 TDI [DSG6] (140 Kw/190 bhp year: december 2014 - up to now) and a Bailey Olympus 534 of (laden) 1442 kg.

Just got back from a holiday in Yorkshire Dales, Moors and Northumberland.
Towed on just about every condition this country has to offer. The unit at all times felt stable, the car never appeared to be labouring and always had power to spare. CrossedYorks moors in high winds and the caravan never faltered. I was highly delighted.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 2.0 TDI [DSG7][4Motion] and Elddis

P Stanyer reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 2.0 TDI [DSG7][4Motion] (176 Kw/239 bhp year: january 2015 - up to now) and a Elddis Avante 576 of (laden) 1450 kg.

The Passat Estate GT 2.0 BiTDi 240bhp 4Motion with 7 speed DSG is an amazing tow car. Our previous car, xtrail 170bhp manual was very capable, but I always felt you had to plan ahead, despite plenty of torque. The passat makes the xtrail seem silly. Very stable, truck loads of torque, and a very responsive gear box. We just got back from a trip, and the passat was holding 50 in 7th at 1200 rpm pulling the van and all our caboodle
Hill starts are no problem. The electric hand brake has no issue holding the unit on steep hills. With 5 of us in the car + dog and crate, 4 bikes on the roof and a suitably loaded Avante 576, I have yet to complain about either the car or caravan. The 4motion provide loads of traction, and it very helpful on loose material/hill starts.

The only thing I would say is that the passat is very low which makes hitching up on any incline a fiddle if the jockey wheel is down any reasonable amount of distance.

However the tow ball electrically tucks under the car, has integrated 13 pin electrics, and the camera/trailer assist system make hitching and pitching simple.

I have driven the 190 passat and that is also very powerful and I am sure capable.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VII Variant - 2.0 TDI BMT and Adria

RICHARD BINGHAM reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VII Variant - 2.0 TDI BMT (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - december 2014) and a Adria Altea Tamar of (laden) 1400 kg.

I was a little nervous as the car on paper is right on the limit of tow capacity. However a run down to Somerset from the West Midlands was surprising good. Handled cross winds, hills and over taking fine and very happy with the outfit, off too France next after the initial test run proved OK.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VII - 2.0 TDI BMT and Swift

Andy Prest reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VII - 2.0 TDI BMT (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - december 2014) and a Swift Conqueror 570 of (laden) 1634 kg.

Passat 2.0TDI saloon towing Swift Conqueror 570

The site indicates that I'm towing at 100% but to be honest I'm always very careful and never had any issues... The car's more than capable but the van can be a little wobbly on uneven roads (potholes) and in windy conditions, don't think the car would ever change this... Thankfully my Passat exec model has the stiffened suspension which is good because it does drop slightly with the van hitched... And the cars already sits very low on its wheels (for styling and ride quality I think) but again never bottomed out or had any tyre issues... The Passat also returns 35-45 mpg when towing this van across the Penines which I think is very impressive, finally the car auto recognises the van and disables the rear sensors and displays the van on the front screen... Well recommended

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat CC - 2.0 16v TDI [DSG] and Elddis

Alan reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat CC - 2.0 16v TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2008 - march 2012) and a Elddis Avante 462 of (laden) 1300 kg.

This example of an VW Passat towing an Elddis Avante club is totally accurate as a match, I would recommend this to anyone .Even better My car is an estate car which is even heavier with stronger springs..I hope this is usfull imfo.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VII - 2.0 TDI BMT and Swift

Euan Wilson reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VII - 2.0 TDI BMT (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - december 2014) and a Swift Challenger Sport 554 of (laden) 1430 kg.

New to towing in 2013 so nothing to compare with. Have now used the VW Passat to pull the Swift Challenger Sport 554 over 3000 miles. Found the outfit to be stable, safe and economical.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VII - 2.0 TDI BMT [DSG] and Abbey

K WILSON reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VII - 2.0 TDI BMT [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - december 2014) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 415 of (laden) 1437 kg.

I have been caravaning for over 15 years and consider this outfit to be the best combination I have ever used and I have had some good ones in my time and 140 bhp is plenty, just load your caravan with care as you should always do!!

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI 16v and Bailey

Richard Tyler reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI 16v (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Bailey Orion 430-4 of (laden) 1247 kg.

I've towed now with this vehicle for a year and am very happy with the combination. It tows safely up to the legal speed limit of 60mph in the UK and behaves very well around large lorries and buses though white van man passing within a foot of the combination at speeds in excess of the national speed limit does cause a slight deviation from a straight line. I do have an ATC fitted to the caravan as a safety device to protect from the unexpected but not from reasons of poor driving or caravan loading. The fuel economy whilst towing has been between 25 and 37 m.p.g. dependant on weather conditions and terrain though I suspect with very careful driving one could better these figures but I prefer to make progress whilst driving. I have comfortably achieved fuel consumption figures of 57 m.p.g solo whilst driving at 70 m.p.h. on dual carriageways/motorways.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI c.r. [5MT] and Lunar

J Shelley reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI c.r. [5MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - october 2005) and a Lunar Clubman SE of (laden) 1460 kg.

Tow Lunar Clubman SE. Good towcar o with plenty of torque on A / B roads and on motorways. Agree with 2nd reviewer on affects of vans etc on motorways. But with longer single axle vans fairly normal. Tyre slippage in wet relatively normal, with size/weight of van. though certain tyres better than others but nose weight needs to be right, as second reviewer highlighted. We're to do Scotland using the Passat later 2014. Good towcar & good cruiser. Towing 27-32mpg without van 45-50+ mpg

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Alltrack Variant - 2.0 TDI BMT [DSG] [4Motion] and Swift

Bill Dorset reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Alltrack Variant - 2.0 TDI BMT [DSG] [4Motion] (125 Kw/170 bhp year: april 2012 - september 2015) and a Swift Challenger 490 of (laden) 1550 kg.

This is an superb tow car, in my opinion better than my previous car a D5 Automatic Volvo XC70 (2007). There have been times when I have felt that the car was doing things I was about to do - the car's automatic towing control system (factory fitted/activated when towing gear is factory fitted) monitoring things then? A powerful, safe and very comfortable towing machine which towed my Challenger to the south of France and back without a hiccough (can't say without a hitch!).

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 1.6 FSI and Bailey

Eddie Purcell reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 1.6 FSI (85 Kw/116 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2007) and a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of (laden) 1194 kg.

Hi All, quiet new to towing i have a bailey Ranger 500/5 1044kg which i was towing with a vw passat 1.6 fsi 115bhp "i know i know cringe"overall a good car but quiet frankly this outfit wouldn't pull the socks of a dead man.motorway driving ok!!! on the flat and level, on inclines a real struggle i had to change to an avensis D4D 2.0 an absolute dream.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat CC - 2.0 TSI aut. and Hobby

Peter sharp reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat CC - 2.0 TSI aut. (147 Kw/200 bhp year: june 2008 - march 2012) and a Hobby Premium 495 UL of (laden) 1535 kg.

The Outfit performed impeccably, with no snaking or pitching at max speed in Germany of 100 km/Hr. on the autobahns.
The 2.0l TSI engine gives excellent acceleration, but prefers to travel mainly in 5th gear when driven at 80-90kms/Hr.
Traktionen is excellent when pulling away from standstill on Gradeinteilung. A stunning looking Outfit .

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] and Elddis

mick reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Elddis Avante 482 of (laden) 1265 kg.

Never had any problems with towing the 'van. OK, it hasn't got the 4wheel drive of other tugs, but I've towed over mud and wet grass with no problem, though I can see real mud would be an issue. Never had an issue when shunting into situ.
Altogether a good all round car, which is economical when solo (up to 60mpg on motorway) and not bad (30+mpg) when towing.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VII Variant - 1.6 TDI BMT and Bailey

Mike C reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VII Variant - 1.6 TDI BMT (77 Kw/105 bhp year: november 2010 - december 2014) and a Bailey Olympus 462 of (laden) 1263 kg.

As promised we have downsized the van to the Bailey Olympus 462. As before, the performance from the car was veryy good - it's no ball of fire but it is smooth, quiet and performs well enough to keep up with the traffic where needed, Our longest trip so far is about 180 miles from the South Midlands to North Devon. At no point did the car feel overwhelmed, the long hills were crested with ease and after a time I was watching and changing gears according to the 'gear-change advisor' which was advising a lower gear than I was using. Traction is very good, even on slight inclines from a standstill with loose dirt and gravel. Stability is very good, the car's Overall we got 31mpg while towing and we weren't exactly crawling along! It's a very good towcar, certainly worth a test drive if you have a lightish caravan. 58mpg solo and £30 per year road tax seals the deal.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI cr and Fleetwood

S Perkins reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI cr (81 Kw/110 bhp year: october 2008 - october 2010) and a Fleetwood Sonata Nocturne of (laden) 1375 kg.

Tows our Fleetwood win no problem even on steep gradients, both directions!. Have also had no problems with slopes in revers gear.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VII - 2.0 TDI BMT [DSG] and Sterling

J Parker reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VII - 2.0 TDI BMT [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - december 2014) and a Sterling Eccles Sport 524 of (laden) 1405 kg.

I've done about 6000 miles with this combination over the last year as a first time caravaner, so dont have much else to compare with. The car has adequate power when towing uphill and on the motorway and seems to handle quite well. The DSG auto box has worked very well and takes a lot of stress out of driving. Fuel consumption varies quite a bit and with a moderate headwind can be as low as 25mpg. Most of the time on a reasonably long trip I get about 30 to 32 mpg. The best I have done is 36mpg with a following wind. When not towing I achive 55 to 60 mpg depending on conditions. Have found it best to load heavy items such as the awning on the back seat of the car which seems to improve overall handling somewhat.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VII Variant - 2.0 TDI BMT and Lunar

Mark Wilkinson reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VII Variant - 2.0 TDI BMT (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - december 2014) and a Lunar Quasar 534 of (laden) 1345 kg.

I was apprehensive about towing the Quasar 534 with the Passat Estate after towing with a VW Transporter. The Passat has proved a capable tow car. Handling the caravan and loaded car with ease. 36 MPG was achieved on a run from the West Midlands to Sumerset. Coped with hills and cross winds with ease, ALKO ATC fitted to Quasar certainly helps.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat CC - 2.0 16v TDI and Bailey

Peter R reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat CC - 2.0 16v TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2008 - march 2012) and a Bailey Unicorn Valencia of (laden) 1497 kg.

I have towed my Bailey Valencia from new (2 years) have been all over the country and to France, from the outset it has been exceptional. You can tow effortlessly and it handles very well. One piece of advice, please ensure that you've got a nose weight indicator as the Valencia is quite heavy on the nose weight even when carrrying no pay load (85kg) from factory and it is quite easy to put too much weight, forward of the axle. I think that is why Bailey have reduced the weight on the 2012/13 models and have moved the gas bottle holding area to nearer the centre of the caravan.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI pd [6MT] and Abbey

mik reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI pd [6MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - october 2005) and a Abbey GTS 418 of (laden) 1490 kg.

used to tow with landrover both freelander and then discovery 2 both ok but passat is brilliant more than enough power only down side is seeing the fuel computor on big long up hill pulls down to18 but on level pulls 30-35 land rovers used to average 21/22 but un hook and you will see 50+ if you use c/control

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] and Bailey

Marc reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] (125 Kw/170 bhp year: march 2006 - october 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 540/6 of (laden) 1263 kg.

Im quite new to towing. I've previously had a vauxhall vectra. This was rubbish but paying a little bit more does pay off. The passat is in a class of its own towing. I've got a bailey ranger 6 berth and the car pulls it like it isnt thier. I've had the diesel injectors redone (under warranty) and i get at least 5-6 mpg more than before. It does about 30-32 mpg with caravan. And if your careful driving. About 55-60mpg solo. Brilliant for a car with 170bhp! A must have if your considering getting one is cruise control. which i dont have. I can just get comfy on the motorway 60-65mph look in both mirrors, look at sat-nav then back at the speedo and it says 70-75mph. It creeps up slowly. I went france last year. one motorway was about 120 miles long and for the first quarter the cars average speed was 78mph. its was so hard to get the speed dead on 60-70 ect.The cars average fuel ecomony on that trip was 34mpg towing. Occasionly its been past 80mph. I've noticed in sixth if your below 1700rpm. roughly 60mph and approaching a hill the revs easily die down and alot of quick down changes arrive shortly after. But if you tow abit quicker 70-75mph approaching a hill The revs are around 1900rpm (above the turbo zone) The car pull like a train. Barely any changes. This is the only concern about the engine. Overall i like the car, people tell me why didnt you go for a Ford mondeo? The passat is more expensive but it feels better Quality, and it holds its value much more. If your wondering which to have. Test drive a passat then a Mondeo I instantly felt the diffrence. The ford dealership said "The cars handles like a BMW" tried it and i said to him BMW's standards have obviously dropped. He tried to rip about 4 grand off the car to get me to buy it. And the passat i tested was opposite the ford dealership Just looking at me threw the window. I went for the passat "no regrets" at all. The ford handled like a boat constantly flopping about but the passat just felt alot better made machine no bits of dash rattling after you go over a bump like the mondeo.

Hope you liked my review. Passat Great vehicle.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI aut. and Bailey

bob tattersall reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI aut. (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Bailey Ranger 460/2 of (laden) 1131 kg.

mind bogglingly good 30mpg min-35mpg max!
85mph in croatia (testing) would have done more!
very fast, a real good combination, hills slopes up & down the alps no worries!

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VII Variant - 1.6 TDI BMT and Lunar

Mike C reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VII Variant - 1.6 TDI BMT (77 Kw/105 bhp year: november 2010 - december 2014) and a Lunar Lexon 585 SI of (laden) 1250 kg.

I was a bit apprehensive about towing this 'van with such a small-engined car. I needn't have worried, it tracked straight and true and there was sufficient power to pull the nearly emtpy 'van along. The battery and gas bottles were the only items on board. I will report again when we replace the van with a smaller one in 2013.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [6MT] and Elddis

Sean reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [6MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Elddis Avante 556 of (laden) 1457 kg.

Good car solo, terrible towing. Very low amount of traction - spins badly even in the dry. Won't hold 6th gear comfortably with the caravan in tow. MPG about 25-28 towing, our old car (Volvo XC70 was doing 36!)

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] and Sprite

darren ashworth reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] (125 Kw/170 bhp year: march 2006 - october 2010) and a Sprite Quattro FB of (laden) 1496 kg.

i have towed with many larger cars and found this to be the best, mine is the SEL 170 bhp i found it very stable at legal speeds and above plenty of power for pulling up hill and getting off the line. only down side was the rear suspension required upgrading for the extra weight, wouldnt recommend sports version as the suspension is lower

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI c.r. [5MT] and Abbey

Ben Monaghan reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI c.r. [5MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - october 2005) and a Abbey Vogue 540 of (laden) 1469 kg.

Although this is an excellent tow car in this setup (has plenty of power, returns 28-32mpg towing) it is also not perfect. It suffers from too much torque and not enough grip when the roads are wet. When towing in Apr in Peak District we struggled on a few hills when pulling away from lights etc. Slightly concerning but not holiday ruining. It is pushed about a bit on the motorway when passed by larger cars/vans which requires full concentration. It will sit happily at 60-65mph when towing and requires rare down-changing on motorway hills. We do love it but are fully aware of its limitations and have to load it as such. Having chatted to lots of people on sites it seems we check the koseweight and organise the weight inside the 'van a lot more than most....maybe we are too cautious!!

Overall a great tow car, but be careful on the weight and on wet hills.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI and Bailey

G Evans reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: october 2005 - october 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 550 of (laden) 1278 kg.

Had lots of problems towing a Bailey Ranger with a Toyota, which was unstable at 47 mph, even though the caravan was perfectly loaded. Bought a vw Passat, which not only tows brilliantly, You don't know the caravan is there.If you buy a 2005 to 2010 Passat, th outcome is awseome.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI and Adria

Guy Lewis reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Adria Altea Tamar of (laden) 1285 kg.

Will let you know! (still awaiting delivery of my shiny new Adria Altea 542dt Tamar (2013)

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 1.9 TDI BlueMotion and Sprite

Altan BEkat reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 1.9 TDI BlueMotion (77 Kw/105 bhp year: june 2007 - february 2009) and a Sprite Quattro FB of (laden) 1496 kg.

Please share your view / comments about my car vs. the caravan mentioned above.
Many thanks,
A.Bekat

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 16v and Compass

David Spencer reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 16v (125 Kw/170 bhp year: march 2006 - october 2010) and a Compass Corona 524 of (laden) 1420 kg.

Very happy with this combination. Towed previously with a 2006 Jaguar 2.4 AWD petrol which was excellent but only returned 20 mpg when towing. The Passat returns 30 mpg towing and 48-52 mpg at 65 mph without the van.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI and Compass

D.Cow reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI (74 Kw/101 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Compass Omega 544 of (laden) 1560 kg.

Towing no problem as long as your keeping the speed down with my passat 1.9 100bhp and compass omega 544

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VII - 2.0 TDI BMT and Bailey

ray miller reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VII - 2.0 TDI BMT (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - december 2014) and a Bailey Unicorn Seville of (laden) 1433 kg.

Love the car and van but not together, the most unstable combo i have had in thirty years towing. I am trying to reduce the noseweight of the van as it is well over the cars limit. unsafe to drive over 60mph and often under that. have towed the van with three different cars with the same result.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 2.5 V6 24v TDI and Abbey

Matt reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 2.5 V6 24v TDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: may 2003 - march 2005) and a Abbey Aventura 340 of (laden) 1568 kg.

We have had no problems towing with our car, a bit concerned as it doesnt match the 85 % rule ...should we be worried ??

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [5MT] and Burstner

José María reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [5MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Burstner Belcanto 500 TK of (laden) 1510 kg.

Mi passat hasta ahora va muy bien con la burstner Belcanto 500Tk,pero adolece un poco de falta de peso y el embrague sufre mucho marcha atrás

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI 16v and Swift

gordon robertson reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI 16v (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Swift Challenger 540 of (laden) 1545 kg.

as the description of this combination suggests the caravan is a bit heavy for the car and subsequently a bit unsteady above 50mph. caravan tends to snake when something overtakes on the motorway when traveling faster. but ive found that its ok if i dont store anything under the bed. put heavy stuff in the car. take the kids for ballast in the car. And this is the best trick if a bit inconvenient, remove the matress from the bed and lay it over the axle

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [5MT] and Bailey

lorraine baxendale reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [5MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Bailey Senator Oklahoma of (laden) 1422 kg.

passat has been remapped,tows well ,stability spot on,less gear work after remap

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI pd [6MT] and Burstner

Francisco valverde reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI pd [6MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - october 2005) and a Burstner Belcanto 460 TL of (laden) 1125 kg.

tira muy bien en todas las situaciones, tanto subiendo como bajando siempre que lleves el peso bien compensado
es muy estable

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VII Variant - 2.0 TDI BMT [DSG] and Sprite

M Goddard reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VII Variant - 2.0 TDI BMT [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - december 2014) and a Sprite Major 6 of (laden) 1375 kg.

Excellent pairing. the car and van act as described with adequate power, braking and handling. So good to drive that my wife likes to drive whenever i let her. It's always a fight for the keys. the response is good on hills but equally at home driving through the hills of the lake district.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Sterling

Gary reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Sterling Europa 540 of (laden) 1452 kg.

Seems to have plenty of power and is more stable than my 2006 Audi A6 with the same outfit. Tows superbly well.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 1.9 TDI and Sprite

Kevin Wilson reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 1.9 TDI (77 Kw/105 bhp year: may 2005 - february 2009) and a Sprite Musketeer TD of (laden) 1252 kg.

This is the first caravan i have ever owned and was a bit concerned about the Passat's abbilities. I need not have worried, we have had a few trips the furthest from Fife to Oxfordshire. The car is an estate and feels very steady on the road with the caravan in tow, on motorways it went really well managing a steady 60 except going uphill with a head wind. Fuel consumption was not bat too averaging 30mpg. In all the car worked well but i just wonder how one with a little more hp would cope.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI pd [6MT] and Swift

Phillip Reade reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI pd [6MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - october 2005) and a Swift Charisma 540 of (laden) 1413 kg.

Pulls like a train even fully loaded. I usually carry the awning in the car for a better weight distribution. The fuel return solo on runs is approx 52 mpg but drops to 28-30 mpg when (depends on the wind) pulling at legal limit. V stable outfit when correctly loaded.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI and Knaus

Alberto Rodrigues reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Knaus Sport 400 LK of (laden) 1135 kg.

Just returned from 4600 km trip to Italy and the towing has been perfect. Usually used cruise control and 5th gear around 90 to 100 km/h. It goes well in 6th gear, although the engine shows slight knocking on incline road. Consumption is 10 l/100 km, solo is 6 l/100 km.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI and Bailey

John Cairns reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 520/4 of (laden) 1321 kg.

I have towed Bailey Ranger GT60 520/4 to France and all over UK. An absolute dream to tow. No problems whatsoever. Can return over 30 MPG towing. Solo will return 50+ MPG.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI cr and Bailey

Ceebee reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI cr (81 Kw/110 bhp year: october 2008 - october 2010) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Monarch of (laden) 1239 kg.

Tows my Bailey Monarch S6 as though its not there ! I have left cars behind on slopes up to 5% and hill started on a 10% hill .
The Towing Control through the car's EPS is a real bonus

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI and Hobby

Gary reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Hobby Prestige 560 UFe of (laden) 1585 kg.

I have towed this single axle hobby 560 prestige with no problems at all with my passat 2006 140bhp 2.0tdi saloon averaging around 30mpg since 2009

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [5MT] and Compass

Gareth W reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [5MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Compass Omega 505 of (laden) 1475 kg.

Passat pulls my Omega 505 really well. Plenty of poke. If weight is distributed properly, there is no problems at all.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 4-Motion and Sterling

Robert Bebbington reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 4-Motion (103 Kw/140 bhp year: december 2005 - october 2010) and a Sterling Europa 620 TA of (laden) 1615 kg.

I have a 57 plate 4 motion sport, i find it tows my twin axle Sterling Europa 620 twin axle very very well, The torque that the engine produces seems perfectly matched to the weight of the caravn as I sit very comfortably and very stable on motorways and motorway climbs, the car aslo performs bery well on hilly single carriagway roads. This is a very good towcar, better than the P38 Range Rover 4.0V8 I had previously.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.8 and Burstner

Gianni Bortolazzo reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.8 (92 Kw/125 bhp year: october 1996 - november 2000) and a Burstner Belcanto 490 of (laden) 1260 kg.

my car is vw passat wagon 1.8 (92 Kw,125 hp) of 1998,your weight in order to march is 1460 Kg ,the weight max is 1865 Kg, the weight max to tow is 1300Kg.my caravan is Burstener Belcanto 490 Tk (2006) ,the weight empty is 1190 Kg ,max 1300 Kg.The match beetwin car and caravan is plausible and opportune ? ( the car work also by G.P.L. ) Thank you ,best regards Gianni B. (Padova ,Italy) Excuse me for my English not perfect.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 2.8 V6 4-Motion aut. and Fleetwood

limecc reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 2.8 V6 4-Motion aut. (142 Kw/193 bhp year: november 2000 - october 2005) and a Fleetwood Heritage 640-EB TA of (laden) 1725 kg.

I agree with the other reviewer here that four wheel drive is a MUST for towing. When you have had it you would find it very difficult to go back to slipping and sliding on icy roads or a muddy field.

Anyway, my Passat also has an LPG conversion, and it's just as well because towing the Fleetwood makes the economy dip to as low as 15mpg, but in price terms its still quite good (=30mpg). I'm towing at 93% and have checked the car and van several times on a local weighbridge to make sure and this was confirmed. Towing wise its far more stable than my old 1500kg single axle van, as you would expect from a twin axle, and I don't have to be so fussy about nose weight anymore. The only point of concern for me is worry about the gearbox overheating in the summer, so I will be having the OEM transmission cooler uprated soon.

The car has plenty of power on the motorways, but don't expect the same acceleration from roundabouts and traffic lights with a heavy van. This is the most noticeable thing, apart from the welcome extra stability from the second axle. This is a great towcar, but people do give you a few looks as they expect to see a huge 4x4 towing a van of this size. (Maybe it's in my head or they like the van!)

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [5MT] and Compass

david reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [5MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Compass Omega 544 of (laden) 1522 kg.

this car pulls like a dream loads of power 130bhp over takes well but i think it is a bit too light for the van the cluch starts too burn if you go in reverse up a hill over all it dose well if you load your van right i find it tows better if you get your noze weight at 75k no more or less its better too pull its fab too go up hills and drives better in 4th

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 2.0 20v and Swift

Jim fenwick reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 2.0 20v (96 Kw/131 bhp year: january 2002 - october 2005) and a Swift Challenger 550 of (laden) 1414 kg.

Van sits very well behind Passat. Only slight problem is on steep hill starts-it requires clutch/brake coordination to get going.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [6MT] and Lunar

traverlin man reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [6MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Lunar Delta 640-EW TA of (laden) 1640 kg.

i have just bought my lunar delta my passat towed the caravan just as good as my older abi brightstar 2 birth

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI 4-motion and Elddis

Jamie reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI 4-motion (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Elddis Odyssey 524 of (laden) 1310 kg.

this is by far the best towcar i have had although because its a sport model it does ride slightly lower than the base model. It pulls really well and it is quite easy to forget about the outfit on the back sometimes. I have fitted a chip which takes it from 130bhp to 155bhp and this makes a big difference, even towing it returns an average of around 36mpg. thouroughly recomended,very stable as it is a 4motion model but i would think the 2wd model is just as good.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Elddis

LB reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Elddis Crusader Hurricane of (laden) 1400 kg.

power ok handling ok stability up to 50mph ok after 55mph stability is not good.Tyres stabalizer nose weight all checked and still disapointed in stability

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Elddis

LB reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Elddis Crusader Hurricane of (laden) 1400 kg.

power ok handling ok stability up to 50mph ok after 55mph stability is not good.Tyres stabalizer nose weight all checked and still disapointed in stability

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI 4-Motion and Abbey

david batty reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI 4-Motion (103 Kw/140 bhp year: december 2005 - october 2010) and a Abbey GTS 418 of (laden) 1490 kg.

this car does not falter,apart from the steeper hills it will pull in 6th gear quite easily.Average consumption towing is around 28mpg .this is the newer engine fitted after april 2008 and sold in england from then onwards

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] and Dethleffs

andy jones reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Dethleffs Camper 520 of (laden) 1500 kg.

plenty of power weight ratio means van is a bit heavy this was due to errors in vw literature prior to purchase.It does however travel well with plenty of power except on steep take offs where due to front wheel drive wheel spin can be a problem.We use a mover and you will need one as dsg is no good at shunting. On the whole we are pleased with it but given my chance again i would have the 140hp variant with 4motuon as there is no substitute for grip

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Avondale

Ronald Sandeman reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: october 2005 - october 2010) and a Avondale Argente 640-6 of (laden) 1600 kg.

Someone ran into the back of my Volvo just before going on holaday. The insurance company gave us the VW to pull the van. The car pulled extreamly well although felt rather to light when being passed even by a smell car. Pulled very happely at 60 to 65

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI and Abbey

Mike Hughes reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Abbey GTS 416 of (laden) 1550 kg.

I have towed an Abbey 416 GTS 2005 with my Passat sport 140TDI since 2006 and was a dream to tow, I have now changed to a 2009 Abbey GTS which is heavier and the car still pulls the van with no issues at all, still getting +32mpg when towing and +50 on run with car only.Love the both.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 2.8 V6 4-motion aut. and Bailey

Simon reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 2.8 V6 4-motion aut. (142 Kw/193 bhp year: october 1996 - march 2005) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of (laden) 1167 kg.

Tows the Bailey with ease. LPG conversion makes it cheaper to fuel than a diesel. Auto box tiptronic option make towing on winding A roads so much simpler than using a clutch pedal in a manual. Permanent 4 wheel drive has never failed to pull van out of soggy fields. Wheels have never spun even in waterlogged conditions.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 4-Motion and Avondale

Stewart Dick reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 4-Motion (103 Kw/140 bhp year: december 2005 - october 2010) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1245 kg.

I find the passat 140ps 4 motion a superb car to drive and tow with. It has no problems pulling my caraven at 1350kg infact some times you have to remember its on the back. The sore point i have with this car is the Fuel consumption when towing it average about 25mpg even when sitting at 60mph in 6th gear

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Bailey

d stokes reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: october 2005 - october 2010) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

The Passat copes well with the Bailey in all conditions,I cruise on motorways at 60-65 in gear 6. I load the van to its max at 1400kg,Overtaking heavey traffic has little or no affect to the stability. Fuel is good between 25-27 mpg when towing and 44mpg when solo.Need to load nose weight on van to 75kg for good tow. Would not change outfit, have towed with Kia Sorento just as good but half the cost.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI and Ace

Ron Francis reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Ace Award Firestar of (laden) 1490 kg.

Well matched outfit; I have towed to France and UK and never experienced any issues. Copes well on motorways, even on incline in 6th.gear; normally is used on cruise control without problem.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI and Abbey

Mac Philipson reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI (81 Kw/110 bhp year: october 1996 - november 2000) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 416 of (laden) 1413 kg.

This outfit is, when setup right (nose weight ), is realy ok no problem at all pulling the van, and in the right gear hills do not seem to be a problem

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] and Swift

Lionel reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] (125 Kw/170 bhp year: march 2006 - october 2010) and a Swift Challenger 470 of (laden) 1292 kg.

This car had to replace my Citroen 2.5 turbo desiel XM. It has surpassed it in every performance except it does not have auto suspension.

Every caravanner would enjoy the estate.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI pd 4-Motion and Bailey

autobahn reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI pd 4-Motion (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - october 2005) and a Bailey Senator Louisiana of (laden) 1643 kg.

This is a superb tow car and being a 4x4 passat fourmotion means you have massive traction and power

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI c.r. [5MT] and Bailey

simon hughes reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI c.r. [5MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - october 2005) and a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of (laden) 1258 kg.

what a fantastic tow car very stable with this caravan on the back and returns a respectable 30mpg all day long plenty of power as well

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [5MT] and Bailey

Craig Findlater reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI [5MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Bailey Senator Virginia of (laden) 1459 kg.

No results for Passat var Sport
103KW TDI SG6
Estate

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI pd [6MT] and Sterling

Bob Hine reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 1.9 TDI pd [6MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2000 - october 2005) and a Sterling Eccles Onyx of (laden) 1431 kg.

Great towcar, totally reliable. Pulls well. Caravan behaves well, just make sure any weight (awning etc) is central over the axle. Keep nose weight on maximum of 75kg. Only put lightweight items under the rear bed or it can become tail happy! Drain the water heater.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 2.5 V6 24v TDI and Caravan

Dave reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 2.5 V6 24v TDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: may 2003 - march 2005) and a Caravan 1000 kg of (laden) 1250 kg.

good car, easy to drive and efficient, prefer to use a touareg though

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] and Caravan

MOHAMMED reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI 16v [DSG] (125 Kw/170 bhp year: march 2006 - october 2010) and a Caravan of (laden) 1250 kg.

best tow car iv ever driven if u like caravaning get this car. better than audis

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI aut. and TEC

Thorsten reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI aut. (74 Kw/101 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a TEC Travel King 540 GK of (laden) 1400 kg.

I tow the caravan now for over a year, and had never any problems with it! Of course it's not the fastest one to go, but i managed every mountain so far!

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Bailey

p justice reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2005 - october 2010) and a Bailey Senator Vermont of (laden) 1383 kg.

not had this outfit long, but towed on mainley motorway, and it is very stable, and makes rapid prgress. Towing in 6th gear is a pleasure on motorways. 25-28 mpg towing. 50mpg solo

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI - 1.9 TDI and Swift

alf jasinski reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI - 1.9 TDI (77 Kw/105 bhp year: may 2005 - february 2009) and a Swift Charisma 230 of (laden) 1295 kg.

Ahough this vehicle is only 100 bhp TDI, it tows remarkably well. It is an estate version and towing, the best I can achieve is 29-31mpg It is the last of the old body shape Passat. My only problem is that we cannot get the 12v fridge the red warning light on the fridge keeps flashing on and off. I have replaced the relay with a 30 amp to no avail

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI and Lunar

R Gabbitas reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat VI Variant - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: october 2005 - october 2010) and a Lunar Lexon EW of (laden) 1520 kg.

I tow with the SE estate version, although the weight ratio is near to 100% I have towed for many years and after much research decided that this was a good match. The Passat tows the EW with ease, the outfit is very stable even in high winds. I have not had any problems on hill starts as the electronic hand brake works a treat. I am careful with the nose wieght and tyre pressures and keep to the speed limit. In all I am very happy with this outfit.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat Variant - 2.8 V6 4-Motion aut. and Bailey

Simon Burton reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat Variant - 2.8 V6 4-Motion aut. (142 Kw/193 bhp year: november 2000 - october 2005) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of (laden) 1167 kg.

A very refined towcar.
Pulls away on any incline smoothly and effortless. Even a wet field is no problem with all 4 wheels driven.
Tiptronic gearbox makes gearchanging a breeze. Full automatic mode seems to get confused under the load of towing so I tend to stick with the tiptronic.
Very quick even when towing, however, if you are tempted to use all the power, it will cost in petrol.
Yes, the bad point is fuel consumption. Manages 30 - 33mpg (English) solo, but its the low 20'smpg towing.
I have found 4wheel drive is a must for all-year caravan pulling on basic, remote sites. However, I prefer a "normal" car to a more traditional 4x4 such as a disco and this 4motion passat works for me.
The boot is adequate if not massive, but check the size of the opening, it maybe too small for some.
Unlike most passats, (I think), this can take 85KG nose weight. I load my Bailey at 80KG nose. It is rock steady. No swaying in any direction. I do not use a stabiliser either, just a plain hitch. (Its all in the loading every time).
I would recommend this car for towing, but make sure you can afford the fuel!!

More details >>>


Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI and Bailey

john dalton reviewed on a Volkswagen Passat - 1.9 TDI (74 Kw/101 bhp year: november 2000 - march 2005) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

i have had no trouble towing with the passat 1oo bhp

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us