TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Volkswagen Golf User Reviews

Volkswagen Golf - 1.6 TDI BlueMotion and Avondale

allancameron42@gmail.com reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf - 1.6 TDI BlueMotion (81 Kw/110 bhp year: march 2013 - february 2017) and a Avondale Dart 510-5 of (laden) 1180 kg.

Great stable little car for towing. Powers up hills no bother at all and on the flat I can put it in to fifth and the cruise control does the rest. Downside is golf is small and we need an estate car. If your towing a lightweight van and are confident with the extra weight then in my view the car we have is fit for purpose.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf - 2.0 TDI and Lunar

Robb Burn reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf - 2.0 TDI (110 Kw/150 bhp year: november 2012 - february 2017) and a Lunar Quasar 462 of (laden) 1147 kg.

I have used the car towing the equivalent of a Lunar Quasar 462 and experienced no difficulties, generally achieving 35/38 mpg when towing. Although specifying that we were towing a caravan a Via Michelin route erroneously took us through the Puy Mary mountain pass in France and, being unable to turn around, we completed the crossing with no problems. This is a good towing car and a very economical car when being used solo.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf VI - 2.0 TDI and Knaus

Per reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf VI - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: october 2008 - november 2012) and a Knaus Starclass 560 of (laden) 1800 kg.

My caravan is 1600 kg. I made a test running forth and back on the highway in order to test fuel consumption: Cheapest at 80 and 90 kph is 5th gear! So when driving I make use of 5th gear and rarely have to change to 4th. Distances between each gear is perfect. Without caravan I make 22-23 kpl when keeping to the Danish speedlimits.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf VI - 1.6 TDI [DSG7] and Lunar

Glyn reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf VI - 1.6 TDI [DSG7] (77 Kw/105 bhp year: april 2009 - november 2012) and a Lunar Venus 490/4 of (laden) 1199 kg.

Was a little concerned if Golf was up to towing the Lunar Venus but cannot fault the outfit match after more than six outings. Would recommend the Golf Match 1.6 TDI as a towcar returning approx 38 mpg while towing. Good acceleration & always feels in control of caravan in all conditions.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf V - 1.9 TDI [5MT] and Coachman

Gd485 reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf V - 1.9 TDI [5MT] (77 Kw/105 bhp year: november 2003 - february 2008) and a Coachman Amara 450/2 of (laden) 1330 kg.

My golf engine has been remapped from 105bhp to 143bhp by Superchips. The performance is excellent and the caravan is fitted with ALKO ATC to aid the stability. Prior to the remap the engine pulled well but needed careful planning when hill climbing.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Abbey

Peter Thomson reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: october 2008 - november 2012) and a Abbey GTS 215 of (laden) 1360 kg.

Have been very pleased with the Golf as a tow car. Four years of annual holidays in France and Spain using cruise control set at 60 mph on motorways giving 27 to 30 mpg in windless conditions. No trace of a wobble in spite of the van being rather heavy for the car.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf VI - 1.2 TSI BlueM. Techn. and Eriba

Alan Cruickshank reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf VI - 1.2 TSI BlueM. Techn. (77 Kw/105 bhp year: october 2009 - november 2012) and a Eriba Touring Puck 230 GT of (laden) 790 kg.

First time towing I was little worried as the golf was new with only 700km (500miles) on the clock and it hadn't been used before for towing. Anyway, it turned out that it towed perfectly down through France. just a matter of setting cruise control at 110 K.p.h. on the motorway in 6th gear returned 73 k.p.l. fantastic. Since that time we've revisited France, each trip being a perfect journey.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf VI - 1.6 TDI BlueMotion and Eriba

chrisandmeera@gmail.com reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf VI - 1.6 TDI BlueMotion (77 Kw/105 bhp year: july 2009 - november 2012) and a Eriba Puck 230 of (laden) 790 kg.

Towing a puck 120 is a dream, mpg and stability is perfect.
All this without doing my sums as far as nose weight ect goes.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf VI - 2.0 TDI and Lunar

David Atkinson reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf VI - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: october 2008 - november 2012) and a Lunar Quasar 462 of (laden) 1200 kg.

The Golf 140 is very stable when towing. The acceleration in gears one to five is strong as long as the revs are kept above 1600 after changing gear. Sixth gear is fine at 60mph but best not to use it on inclines. Traction is excellent due to the electronic differential even on wet grass. Depending on the wind I average 36 to 42 mpg when towing the caravan and carrying two mountain bikes externally. For the previous sixteen years we used 4X4's for towing and this was a very expesive mistake. The Golf does everying they could and is great to drive. Solo the Golf has averaged 61.4mpg over the winter. My previous Freelander 2 could not average half this! The Golf 140 is a very capable car and tows 1260Kg with ease.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf V - 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Sprite

Russell reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf V - 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: march 2004 - october 2008) and a Sprite Alpine 4 of (laden) 1199 kg.

Used this site to choose a caravan that a Golf TDI would tow well and the Sprite Alpine 4 fitted both the car and our requirements perfectly and we are so pleased with the combination. The Golf tows as well as our old Volvo 850 but does almost 30mpg compared with 15 and we get 57mpg in solo use. Cannot recommend this combination highly enough.
Thank you WhatTowCar.com your results were spot on!

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf III - 1.9 TDI and Elddis

Howard reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf III - 1.9 TDI (66 Kw/90 bhp year: march 1994 - november 1997) and a Elddis Avante 462 of (laden) 1320 kg.

I have towed this combination (caravan mtplm 1320 and car 1360kg). I had the car modified for increased torque and BHP so the performance was ok but the combination didn't feel stable even with an Alko stabiliser hitch. I'm looking for a heavier car ...

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf Plus - 1.9 TDI and Eriba

MacLachlan reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf Plus - 1.9 TDI (77 Kw/105 bhp year: february 2005 - february 2009) and a Eriba Triton 420 of (laden) 1091 kg.

Golf Plus 1.9 TDI is an excellent towcar for the Eriba Triton. At 55mph we get 35 to 40 mpg depending on the inclines. Very stable outfit.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf Plus - 1.9 TDI [DSG 7] and Eriba

MacLachlan reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf Plus - 1.9 TDI [DSG 7] (77 Kw/105 bhp year: january 2008 - april 2009) and a Eriba Touring Triton 420 of (laden) 1000 kg.

Trouble free combination with plenty power and excellent consumption figures. Average 40mpg while towing. Have towed for 40 years and this is best combination yet.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf VI - 1.4 and Caravan

brian dodd reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf VI - 1.4 (59 Kw/80 bhp year: october 2008 - november 2012) and a Caravan of (laden) 1050 kg.

I used my1.4 mark 6 six golf, to pull a 1992 elddis mistral 2 berth from glasgow to fife. Was my first time towing a caravan so i was a bit nervous that the car wasnt powerful enough,According to vw the caravan was already 250kg overweight but the car towed caravan with no problems, uphill was a bit of a struggle but 3rd gear manages it. will sit in 4th gear no problem, and fifth gear only really on straight roads.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] and Coachman

Roger reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf VI - 2.0 TDI [DSG] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: october 2008 - november 2012) and a Coachman Amara 380/2 of (laden) 1205 kg.

We have 30 years in and around towing using every towing combination including about 20,000 to 30,000 miles per year. This is our first Golf & Coachman and have own the car since March 2009 and the caravan since October 2009 and have already covered some 3,000 miles towing and have found the combination very good current mpg about 28 to 30 at 55mph. Handling is good and performs well at this time all is well.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf IV - 1.9 TDI and Caravan

dan west reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf IV - 1.9 TDI (81 Kw/110 bhp year: march 1998 - october 2001) and a Caravan of (laden) 250 kg.

ive owned my avondale perle adonis for a few years now and have towed it all over the country in my 1998 vw golf 1900 gt tdi ive towed it in all sorts of wheater and the car pulled like a train ps; the caravan weight was 692 kg unladen

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf VI - 1.6 and Standaard Caravan

mr m maddock reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf VI - 1.6 (75 Kw/102 bhp year: october 2008 - november 2012) and a Standaard Caravan of (laden) 1050 kg.

towes very well,i towed a swift corniche 14.4 weight 1050 full laden.nose weight 68kg.well on top of the job.out fit felt very stable.2007 1.6 FSI.GOOD MILES PER GALLON36MPGTOWEING

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf V - 1.9 TDI [5MT] and Knaus

Jesús Reverte reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf V - 1.9 TDI [5MT] (77 Kw/105 bhp year: november 2003 - february 2008) and a Knaus Sport 450 FU of (laden) 1115 kg.

Last summer we drove for about 1,400 km with very low payload in the caravan, and about 250 Kg. payload in the car, the outfit runs well in motorways. 5th gear's usability is too low, in my oppinion only usable with very good conditions, no wind, no slope and perfect asphalt. For using the 5th you have to drive between 110 and 120 Km/h, and this is too high speed for this outfit. Under 105 Km/h, the engine seemed to have better performance in 4th gear.
Driving under 90 km/h the outfit stability is quite good under crosswind conditions or also when being overtaked by heavy vehicles.
My own conclusion is that the match between car and caravan is quite good, but if I had to buy the car now, I'd buy the 2.0 TDI 140 hp.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf V - 1.6 FSI and Caravan

MARK MADDOCK63 reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf V - 1.6 FSI (85 Kw/116 bhp year: november 2003 - october 2007) and a Caravan of (laden) 1025 kg.

very stable pulls well plenty of pulling power in 3rd/4th 6thgear most of the time.caravan swift cornche 14ft4' unladen 885.pay load 150

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf IV - 1.9 TDI and Knaus

Per H. Kristensen reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf IV - 1.9 TDI (110 Kw/150 bhp year: august 2000 - november 2003) and a Knaus Azur 500 FU of (laden) 1500 kg.

22 km per liter that is ... :)

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf IV - 1.9 TDI and Knaus

Per H. Kristensen reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf IV - 1.9 TDI (110 Kw/150 bhp year: august 2000 - november 2003) and a Knaus Azur 500 FU of (laden) 1500 kg.

I tow 1500 Kg with my 6-speed 1,9TDI with absolutely no problems. It does 1500 rpm at 80 km/h in 6th and 10 km per liter. Solo it´s about 22 km/h (I do stick to the speed limits, 80 km/h on main roads.

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf IV - 1.9 TDI and Caravan

DAVIE DUKE reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf IV - 1.9 TDI (81 Kw/110 bhp year: march 1998 - october 2001) and a Caravan 750 kg of (laden) 1000 kg.

TODAY I TOWED FROM INVERARY TO LIVINGSTON . ABOUT 100 MILE . IT WAS REALLY WINDY AND HEAVY RAIN .THE CAR PULLED REALLY WELL FOR A Y REG ..

More details >>>


Volkswagen Golf V - 2.0 TDI GT and Fleetwood

paul Quinn reviewed on a Volkswagen Golf V - 2.0 TDI GT (125 Kw/170 bhp year: april 2006 - october 2008) and a Fleetwood Sonata Rhapsody of (laden) 1375 kg.

I have driven about 1500 miles so far with this van I bought a few months ago.The car pulls very well giving about 30 MPG. I can't use 6th gear except for down hill and best fuel consumption is using lower gears even on slight inclines as revving the engine a bit more uses less fuel.The power is very good and pulls like a train. Vert impressed.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us