TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Toyota RAV4 User Reviews

Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D and Swift

john reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 bhp year: june 2001 - january 2006) and a Swift Toscane 410 of (laden) 1145 kg.

I tow a Swift Challenger 400se with my 3dr Rav4 D4D...
effortless road driving and brilliant in slippery/muddy fields.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D and Bailey

t turner reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 bhp year: june 2001 - january 2006) and a Bailey Pageant Champagne of (laden) 1407 kg.

hi if your having trouble with the handle of the alco take it off and but a 4x4 handle you just slip the handle over and pull down no opening the back door to hitchup cheers .tom

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Peter Lloyd reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2006 - february 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of (laden) 1244 kg.

Rav 4 57 plate is the perfect tow car,the gearing & torque give it a real gutsy feel you will enjoy towing effortlessly with this superb vehicle !

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Simon Farrant reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2006 - february 2009) and a Bailey Pegasus Milan of (laden) 1499 kg.

The Rav 4 06 plate 136bhp is somewhat lights for this van as a little over 85% weight ratio, but have towed for 2 yrs ,and travelled around 200 miles on single journey's and the Rav has coped admirably and no problems. Important not to drive over the permitted speed of 60 mph as then feels more unstable. I have had the Rav chipped and makes massive difference towing, especially uphill. On recent journey Aug 13 back from Cornwall got 36 mpg so very happy.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D and Sprite

william rawlins reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 bhp year: june 2001 - january 2006) and a Sprite Alpine 4 of (laden) 1199 kg.

have rav 4 towes great same as above lowe ti jockey wheel ,pumping sursprinion up may left body work up enough to cure it

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.0 VVT-i aut. and Sterling

jim reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.0 VVT-i aut. (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2006 - february 2009) and a Sterling Europa 470 of (laden) 1138 kg.

I tow a Europa 480 with a weight of 1195kg (model not listed in programme) with a RAV 4 2.4 4wd (also not listed). Towing is not a problem although the tyres tend to get hot sometimes depending on condition and have a hot rubber smell. The car can struggle a bit in mountainous areas but some of our hills are a bit steep. Other than that it is fine

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 and Lunar

Paul reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2000 - january 2006) and a Lunar Quasar 534 of (laden) 1320 kg.

We have been towing with our Rav 4, 2 litre petrol for over 5 years now.Firstly with an Eldiss 482 Oddysey, then from last summer a new Lunar Quasar 534.
The Rav has performed very well indeed taking us on 10 to 12 towing trips every year. It has never let us down and i would say the only downside has been, towing on very steep hills where you need to use the gears more, but saying that the lunar loaded is over 90% of the Rav,s weight.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D and Lunar

Denboy reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 bhp year: june 2001 - january 2006) and a Lunar Lexon SI of (laden) 1476 kg.

my weight ratio is 95% but the car pulls well and I have not been embarassed with the performance except when starting off on an incline --result clutch fumes.
I too find the rear door opening too restrictive, and I had spring assister inserts to raise the vehicle about 50mm
higher which avoids jockey wheel grounding.
Definately the most comfortable and stable car that I have owned.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D and Bailey

R JAMES reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 bhp year: june 2001 - january 2006) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

I HAVE RAISED TOWSURE TOWBALL BY PUTTING A SCREW IN BOTTOM OF DOOR TOWBALL AT TOP SETTING AND ADDING SPRING ASSISTERS TOWS LIKE A DREAM 14 TO 17 INCHES NO JOCKYWHEEL GROUNDING

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D and Ace

Dave Taylor reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D (110 Kw/150 bhp year: february 2009 - march 2013) and a Ace Jubilee Statesman of (laden) 1383 kg.

What a car this is, but never reviewed properly in the caravan press.
We have just toured france with the RAV and our Ace Jubilee Statesman, without any problems, until we had a tyre blowout on the caravan, before I could react the RAV4 had already taken control,traction control, Vehicle stability all working to control the vehicle.
The caravan never wavered, and we made it safely to the hard shoulder.
I would recommend The latest RAV4 to anybody, either towing or solo, amazing car. Oh nearly forgot to mention TYRON bands another life saver.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Dave John Croker reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D (110 Kw/150 bhp year: february 2009 - march 2013) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1362 kg.

I have found this car very good for towing,I get about 28 MPG towing and sits at 60 MPH all day.Solo I return 47 to 52 MPG.If you have a detachable tow bar fitted I under stand there is only one type that fits.Mine is a Witter and goes in upside down then turns up 180 degrees to lock in.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Andrew Williams reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2006 - february 2009) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

I would question the last review showing 75% it was more like 87%

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Andrew Williams reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2006 - february 2009) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

We have had no problems towing a Bailey Indiana from west wales all the way down to Newquay in cornwall providing it is properly loaded , there was plenty of power available from the engine and was very stable.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D and Tabbert

Steve Ellis reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2006 - february 2009) and a Tabbert DaVinci 525 HE of (laden) 1480 kg.

After a series of problems towing with a 3.0 Espace, our new Rav4 (albeit 3 years old) drove Vienna to Dresden without breaking sweat. So far, very happy with the towing capabilities of the Rav4!

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.0 VVT-i aut. and Lunar

ANDY reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.0 VVT-i aut. (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2006 - february 2009) and a Lunar Lexon EB of (laden) 1370 kg.

I have towed with a Landrover Discovery 1993 200TDI and recently changed to a Rav4 2.0lt Auto this has a very stable and good ride towing my Lunar Lexon EB.There is plenty of power available and copes with steep hills without too much trouble. I have to says it suprised me thats its better than the Discovery.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D and Abbey

paul keeble reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 bhp year: june 2001 - january 2006) and a Abbey GTS 418 of (laden) 1490 kg.

Currently towing a Bailey Discovery 400 with my 2001 Rav4 D4D. Love the car and it tows the Bailey easily. The 4 wheel drive is a godsend on grass pitches and slippery fields. I have a removeable Witter tow ball which works OK but the caravan angle is wrong. It doesnt ground the jockey wheel but the caravan isnt being towed level which I dont like. I love the RAV4 D4D and as I say it does tow well so I wont change it but I am looking for a solution. Next weekend I am changing the Bailey Discovery 400 for an Abbey 418 GTS which is a heavier van (at 1490 MTPLM) which is close to the RAVs max allowed towing weight of 1500kgs. I am confident the RAV4 will be happy towing this van but I am talking to garages about modifying the towbar and bottom of the back door to raise the tow ball height so that the van is towed level.
I will report back how the RAV4 tows the Abbey 418 GTS and how I get on with the modification. (The tow bar is easy as the Witter removeable tow bar lends itself well to raising it with two strong brackets but the door customising is not so easy.)

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D and Caravan

Kevin reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 bhp year: june 2001 - january 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 1050 kg.

I have had the same problems as above, so i got myself a detachable tow ball, but had problems when trying to hich up as i have ths alco hitch. when the handle is in the vertical position it catches the spare wheel cover, so iam still try to sort the problem.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D and Dethleffs

Albert Hall reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2006 - february 2009) and a Dethleffs Camper 540 SK of (laden) 1400 kg.

I have a Dethleffs 540SK and have towed with a 57plate rav with no problems at all. You hardly know you're pulling one and a half tons and would recommend the rav as a cracking tugging motor.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D and Bailey

Peter Wood reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 bhp year: june 2001 - january 2006) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bordeaux of (laden) 1300 kg.

We have just come back touring France with our Rav 4 with a Bailey Pagent Bordeaux S6 and we found the car did its job very well.
My only concern was the height of the tow ball but i took it to my local towbar fitter and he solved the problem by raiseing it from 14inches to 17 inches and took a bit out of the rear door at the bottom and you cannot tell and the door still opens ok.
I cannot fault the at all for towing it did a good job.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D and Swift

Linda reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 bhp year: june 2001 - january 2006) and a Swift Challenger 460 of (laden) 1284 kg.

Our 2003 Rav 4 diesel pulled the Swift challenger caravan well. You cannot open the rear door without
removing the towball. So anything left out has to be
put in through the rear passenger doors. Looking into
buying a removable towball for the future. A great car
though as we had the older petrol version for
10 years. Extremely reliable.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 and Bailey

Steve reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2000 - january 2006) and a Bailey Ranger 460/2 of (laden) 1131 kg.

I tow a Bailey Ranger Series 5 2 berth.It handles this with no problem in general. The only time it gets a bit tricky is pushing backwards on grass or bumpy ground, its does it but can struggle.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D D-CAT and Ace

David Taylor reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D D-CAT (130 Kw/177 bhp year: january 2006 - march 2013) and a Ace Jubilee Statesman of (laden) 1383 kg.

I have towed with the RAV4 all over England and through France in the last 18 months, with no problems at all. It is an excellent tow car and I would recommend it to anybody.
The power is there when you need it, motorway driving is a breeze. The car feels stable in all condition.
The comfort level of the RAV4 is also very good, high driving position giving you brilliant vision.
With combination I have I like to run with a about 85Kgs on the nose weight this make for a very comfortable journey.
I have heard complaints that you can not open the rear door when hitched up, but this is not true, and you do not have to change the handle on the AL-KO stabliser.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D and Bailey

Andy reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 D-4D (85 Kw/116 bhp year: june 2001 - january 2006) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

All the above info is exactly true. I think the RAV is a great towcar. The only problem and its quite annoying is the towbar height is very low. Due to the fact the back door will not open with a proper hieght towbar fitted. I find the jocky wheel will scrap the ground now and again (my nose weight has been checked and is perfect). The only solution I seem to have found is rear Air Suspension. Basicaly the van is hitched on. The rear suspension is then adjusted upwards to provide the correct ride hieght. Unsure how much they are or who fits them, but I am looking. I like the jeep too much to change it for another.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D and Lunar

Iain Leith reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2006 - february 2009) and a Lunar Quasar 462 of (laden) 1250 kg.

We have a 2 year old Lunar Quaser and a new Rav4 2.2D-4D and we have been right down into England and the match has been perfect. I have been a caravanner for 25 years and i would say that the RAV4 is up there with the best tow cars i have owned and that includes good old Ford Granadas, Senators and Jaguar X type. We are in the process of waiting for our new Swift Challenger 540 so will write a report on that outfit when we return from our holidays.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 and Gypsey

Dawid Fourie reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2000 - january 2006) and a Gypsey Regal of (laden) 1250 kg.

I have towed my gypsey down to the coast 1300 km.and it pulled like a dream. 5th gear usability was low on any up gradient. a Bit of swing over 130 km/h or passing big trucks

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 and Avondale

R.J.Brown reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 - 2.0 (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2000 - january 2006) and a Avondale Dart 470-2 of (laden) 1120 kg.

I have towed with a Toyota Rav 4 for nearly 9 years, & I have driven in some very rough conditions ie: very muddy & very windy, without any problems, in fact it out performed our friends much heftier & more powerful engined Vauxhall Frontera 2.8.on a very muddy slope on a camping field that we were both on, even though it was horendous conditions both wet & extremely muddy & others were being towed of by tractors & even they had problems at times. The only thing that the Rav4 misses out on is steep hill climbs & by that i mean from a standing position or very slow run up to the hill with a gradient of approx 17%, which believe me was a little daunting but it managed to cope in first & second gears fairly well & we have done this climb many times over the years, so it was not just a one of time at 17%. It is also good when you are overtaking which is know made even better with the new Alko 3004 Stabiliser a real god send. All in all i have nothing but praise for the Rav4 & I will certainly keep on towing with one as long as they carry on making them.

More details >>>


Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D and Bailey

Steve Jones reviewed on a Toyota RAV4 III - 2.2 D-4D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2006 - february 2009) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1362 kg.

We have recently purchsed a 56 plate 2.2 diesel RAV4, which has got approx 5,500 miles on the clock. Our Bailey Pageant Champagne is a 2005 model. I'm very impressed with the towing capacity of the RAV4, and the way it controlled the Bailey Pageant.
There is ample power and strong acceleration, which felt effortless for the RAV4.
This is our fisrt caravan and having not towed a caravan before, I was a little bit nervous on our first outing.
But the RAV4 filled me with great confidence and I can't wait to get away again.
Overall I think the RAV4 and Bailey Pageant are a perfect match.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us