TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Renault Espace User Reviews

Renault Gr. Espace IV Fase II - 2.0 dCi FAP and Adria

Joseph reviewed on a Renault Gr. Espace IV Fase II - 2.0 dCi FAP (127 Kw/173 bhp year: march 2006 - january 2015) and a Adria Adiva 542 of (laden) 1400 kg.

The Renault Grand Espace is a real towing machine,reliable,comfortable and above it all very economical.
We have just driven in France,Spain and Portugal and back to the UK a trip totalling 4.000 miles and we got 30 plus to the gallon .....!make note only Renault intusiastics will understand how wonderful a under estimated fabulous machine the Renault Grand Espace is better and cheaper to run then any VW or Ford.
This one is 2007 2 litter DCI 16 valve 175 horse power Initialle of course the top of the range.

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi aut. and Abbey

Nigel reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2003 - march 2006) and a Abbey Aventura 340 of (laden) 1568 kg.

Have been towing this caravan for two years with the Espace. Tows Abbey Twin Axle very well up to 60mph. Wouldn\'t want to tow faster due to slight movement. Towed across the country in heavy winds last year and at 50mph barely felt any movement. Just don\'t spec the Auto box as it constantly hunts up and down trying to find the right gear (Stick in in 5th on the stick and it will stay there for longer). Will be changing to 4x4 next year as at 85% you do know its on the back all the time.

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 1.9 dCi and Swift

mr jm butcher reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 1.9 dCi (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Swift Challenger SE 480 of (laden) 1283 kg.

i feel i must post this review. im a very experienced tower both commercial and private. and have towed with many cars on the same trip as the one im reviewing.
and i was surprised,no delighted by the performace of the 1.9 dci 2006 espace i used. loads of horror stories about these but i have just towed 1500 miles fully loaded and it has out performed any of the prevoius cars/vans i have used. which include 2x mercs c220cdi/c250 cdi both very twitchy, freelander td4 very good and i thought hard to beat. but this did . rx4 1.9 dci not enough allround, and two 3 d toyota granvias great but thirsty.
i compleated my trip on 4 tanks ie 30mpg but it was the ability to drive long distantces in 6th that really impressed me and in such comfort. so as i say surprised and delighted all in one 5 stars for me

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi aut. and Bailey

Philippe Turner-Loisel reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2003 - march 2006) and a Bailey Unicorn Valencia of (laden) 1497 kg.

Towed a bailey senator Wyoming and now a Unicorn Valencia. Excellent in both cases. diesel consumption is then 25 to 28 mpg.

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi and Caravan

RoRo reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 1400 kg.

Frequently "fuel injection faulty" light lights up, and car looses power. Have to pull over, stop, take out key card and restart. Then it suddenly works fine. However had also problem on wet grass with spinning. The front is too light.

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi and Bailey

Colin reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Bailey Unicorn Valencia of (laden) 1565 kg.

Towed now for over a year and no major problems. Like the space in the rear of espace for loading all the gear,

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi and Abbey

garry fraser reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 416 of (laden) 1413 kg.

having read reveiws i was woried about my espace as i new about the egr valve problem i set of for spain only to have injection light come on at first hill m6 stafford i pulled over reset then drovevat higher revs do not let the car go to slow in any gear when revs drop change down and continue with no problems 3000 miles later i have had superb trip egr valve is only 2hrslabour and 120 to clean they go into limp mode hen under strain or choked up (keep the revs up)12572

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi and Tabbert

joe kildin reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Tabbert Baronesse 740 MDF of (laden) 1860 kg.

Hi just cost me 2800euros for a new gearbox I love the caravan so the espace has to go I think a hyudai terracan 2.9 will do the job you must remember all the bit and bobs you put inside your caravan ann returning from spain that can be quite a load hope this helps nidlikj.

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi aut. and Ace

philip wood reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2003 - march 2006) and a Ace Jubilee Statesman of (laden) 1635 kg.

towed with this match now 18 months no hastle whatever easy pulling hills up or down good combination

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi and Bailey

Matt reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1650 kg.

Towing a Bailey Senator Indianna with a 55 plate 2.2 dci Espace.
First problems, warning lights " check injection". Followed by egr valve blockage, followed by blown engine and 2000 repair bill. The common theme here is it was a good match on paper. The 20 hours spent in truck cabs with RAC recovery drivers confirmed that although a reasonable normal fanily car it has a reputation of being a particularly bad tow car. Had to sell caravan to pay for repair and we are now happy campers. Needles to say the car has gone.

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi and Swift

Mark Phillips reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Swift Conqueror 650 of (laden) 1646 kg.

Bought an '06 Grande Espace 2.2 dci on 01/02/10, it was working fine until I towed the caravan with it!!!!! I checked the spec before hand and it said that it should be a perfect match. The match was good to be fair...... the car..... well my advice is before buying check the reviews online via google with "injection errors"...... new engine required, and it seems as though it is an everyday thing expected with a renault. A load of people have had their fingers burned...... I'm bailing out now..... 3 grand down the line......good luck!!!!

More details >>>


Renault Espace III - 2.0 16v and Caravan

e bragg reviewed on a Renault Espace III - 2.0 16v (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 1999 - september 2002) and a Caravan of (laden) 1325 kg.

As a tow car the espace is great unless you happen to have an electronic fault on the gearbox which when going up long climbs causes the gearing to jump from 2nd to 3rd and back the only thing to do is pull over and let the temp drop.i would be interested if anyone else has had the same problem

More details >>>


Renault Gr. Espace IV Fase II - 2.0 16v Turbo and Swift

ian lynn reviewed on a Renault Gr. Espace IV Fase II - 2.0 16v Turbo (125 Kw/170 bhp year: march 2006 - january 2015) and a Swift Charisma 570 of (laden) 1452 kg.

this is my first caravan and my first time towing with this car. provides good stability and power. when towing it is returning 20.9 mpg with combined mpg of 25mpg and solo 30.9mpg. i am not sure if this is good bad or normal for a petoral car to acheive when towing. however i am realy enjoying towing and find the outfit to be a good match.

More details >>>


Renault Gr. Espace IV Fase II - 3.0 dCi aut. and Bailey

Colin B reviewed on a Renault Gr. Espace IV Fase II - 3.0 dCi aut. (133 Kw/181 bhp year: march 2006 - january 2012) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

We love our Espace, we've had five of them up to now & the 3.0dci Garnd Espace is by far the best we've ever towed with. It's a very powerful vehicle, easy to drive with lots of passenger comfort for long journeys.

Anyone considering an MPV as a famliy/towcar would be well advised to go to your Renault dealer & test drive one before buying any other make. The 3.0dci isn't a common vehicle & you might need to get the dealer to locate one for you on the Renult database, we were lucky with ours & found it 2 miles from home. Superb vehicle towing & Solo.

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi and Bailey

craig reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

bought 53 reg espace to tow bailey bretagne after looking at specs + weights.Absolute waste of money problems with egr valve, intercooler,turbo and now engine.Reliability is a joke and renault know it just read reviews ie parkers forum or honest john etc and make your own mind up before buying one.

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.0 16v and Sterckeman

Pedro Luque reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.0 16v (100 Kw/136 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Sterckeman Starlett Evolution 470 of (laden) 1160 kg.

It's a perfect combination...

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi aut. and Bailey

martin reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2003 - march 2006) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1635 kg.

I towed with this combination for many thousands of miles in the UK and in France, it was stable, comfortable and performed really well.
Keeping up with the flow of traffic was never a problem, either on the motorway or fast A roads.
It was pretty heavy on fuel though, giving about 17-19 mpg whilst towing at 60 (ish)

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi and Sprite

ben reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.2 dCi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Sprite Major 6 of (laden) 1325 kg.

the espace towing a sprite 6 handels the job with no probs unfortunate the noise weight is only 80 kg so loading has to be accuarate. 27mpg towing so a bit thirsty but with full load and kids it feels very safe

More details >>>


Renault Espace III - 2.2 dt and Lunar

Adam reviewed on a Renault Espace III - 2.2 dt (83 Kw/113 bhp year: january 1997 - september 2000) and a Lunar Quasar 615 of (laden) 1450 kg.

OK on the flat open roads but tends to struggle on steep hills. Pulls away nicely , no fuss. can mamage 60 mph easliy with full car and 7 occupants.

More details >>>


Renault Espace IV - 2.0 16v Turbo and Caravan

JFH reviewed on a Renault Espace IV - 2.0 16v Turbo (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2002 - march 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 1550 kg.

Has towed both Hobby 720 (dual axel) and 560 (single axel) on curvy, hilly and steep Norwegian roads. Both caravan from 2006. The car had no problem either pulling or braking this load, and the cal/caravan were very stable and nice to handle.

More details >>>


Renault Espace III - 2.2 dCi and Bailey

les shipp reviewed on a Renault Espace III - 2.2 dCi (95 Kw/129 bhp year: september 2000 - september 2002) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1405 kg.

very good towing car ,i have being nearly everywhere in g/b and it as never let me down yet .best car i have ever had. this car is all ways loaded with 4 kids and the wife and goes anywhere

More details >>>


Renault Gr. Espace IV Fase II - 2.0 dCi FAP and Knaus

Petr reviewed on a Renault Gr. Espace IV Fase II - 2.0 dCi FAP (127 Kw/173 bhp year: march 2006 - january 2015) and a Knaus Sport 420 LD of (laden) 1240 kg.

Renault 2.0 dci 175 k has a different Torque ! Look at http://magazin.auto.cz/index.php?seo_rubrika=999&im_id=46d267f51d49c&ga_id=46d267f6464be&cr=1


More details >>>


Renault Espace II - 2.0i 8v and Bailey

Beverley Grainger reviewed on a Renault Espace II - 2.0i 8v (76 Kw/103 bhp year: may 1991 - january 1997) and a Bailey Ranger 470 of (laden) 1122 kg.

An overwhelming urge to get out and push makes towing with the Renault Espace a stressful experience. The car seems to labour on the mildest of inclines and struggles with any headwind. Long slopes, such as those on the M20 approaching Dover and the M5 in Somerset require 2nd gear.We are always thankful to arrive, the car giving the impression that it is panting for breath and longing for a quiet sit-down.
We have towed a camping trailer on many occasions with no trouble, the only danger being that you can forget it is there. The bulk of the caravan and the unforgiving squareness of the Espace are not a good combination even though we chose a lightweight 'van knowing that the torque on our petrol model would be no more than adequate.

More details >>>


Renault Gr. Espace IV Fase II - 3.0 dCi aut. and Eriba

John Terry reviewed on a Renault Gr. Espace IV Fase II - 3.0 dCi aut. (133 Kw/181 bhp year: march 2006 - january 2012) and a Eriba Nova 570 of (laden) 1610 kg.

I chose the 3 litre diesel Grand Espace to match with my Nova 555 LTB, and it proved a good match. Rock steady on motorways, lots of power and I love the electric handbrake, makes moving off on an incline real easy. I also like the visibility from the Grand Espace with great all round vision, allowing easy manouvering of the rig.

More details >>>


Renault Espace III - 2.2 dt and Fleetwood

jack reviewed on a Renault Espace III - 2.2 dt (83 Kw/113 bhp year: january 1997 - september 2000) and a Fleetwood Colchester 520 of (laden) 1330 kg.

i find this car great for towing i have fleetwood sumatra that has a payload of 1340Kg and it tows has if it is not there

More details >>>


Renault Espace II - 2.1 dT and Sterling

t. bonser reviewed on a Renault Espace II - 2.1 dT (65 Kw/88 bhp year: may 1991 - january 1997) and a Sterling Eccles Emerald of (laden) 1333 kg.

i have found my 1994 espace rt dt to be extremley reliable and very stable when towing my eccles emerald, its reasonably economical when towing, and extremley so when solo, we have towed all over england and scotland and have had no problems in 4 yrs of ownership, i have found the engine to be very reliable.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us