TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Opel Zafira User Reviews

Opel Zafira II - 1.7 CDTi and Sprite

Garry from Derby Uk reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.7 CDTi (81 Kw/110 bhp year: february 2008 - september 2011) and a Sprite Alpine 2 of (laden) 1179 kg.

Vauxhall zafira 1.7dci (110bhp) towing a Swift Ace Ambassador 1200kilo which is a special edition by Swift based on a Sprite Alpine 2 berth.
I've been using this combination since February this year (2016) & we have been down to the south west , up to north Yorkshire coast & across to North Norfolk plus various local peak district & it's been a total pleasure to use .
I did wonder if the 110 bhp would be strong enough & did look for a 125bhp model but why did I ever worry , it's taken everything in it's stride , even the A38 hill past Exeter racecourse .
As for consumption , I must be lucky some people have said they are getting around 20 mpg , I can honestly say I'm getting high twenties 28 to max 34 mpg & solo driving 49 + mpg .
All in all I just can't fault it , the more I drive it , the better it gets its on a 2012 plate & just done 21500 miles ex mobility car .

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.7 CDTi and Adria

Graeme reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.7 CDTi (81 Kw/110 bhp year: february 2008 - september 2011) and a Adria Altea 390 DS of (laden) 1065 kg.

Good stable combination, a bit underpowered with 4th often needed for hills and 6th only really usable on the autobahn. Still took us from the north of Scotland to Germany and back without complaint, though as others have mentioned towing mpg is not great at around 20mpg.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.8 16v and Bailey

Stu72 reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.8 16v (103 Kw/140 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of (laden) 1167 kg.

Slightly underpowered, but you always want more power when towing. Adequate performance down to 3rd gear on some steep hills - average mpg when towing 19- 25mpg
(Have seen instant mpg on hills as low as 8mpg on computer)

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi aut. and Compass

Col reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi aut. (88 Kw/120 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Compass Omega 540 of (laden) 1465 kg.

This combination works quite well. As 60mph is the fastest legal speed on GB roads for car/trailer it achieves this comfortably with no worries. At the legal max speed you cannot be accused of holding up other vehicles.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 CDTi Ecoflex aut. [5-seats] and Lunar

S Bates reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 CDTi Ecoflex aut. [5-seats] (121 Kw/165 bhp year: november 2012 - 2016) and a Lunar Venus 490/4 of (laden) 1185 kg.

I am new to caravaning, we have done 3 trips from Sheffield to Scotland and back in 4 weekends and the Zafira does everything required of it with ease. The cruise control and auto box took all the strain out of driving and made the long motorway hauls easy to deal with. Local roads were dealt with easily and there was a a reserve of power if required. This car meets all of our needs as far as caravaning is concerned. Unless you intend to drive up and down farm tracks it should meet yours too.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.7 CDTi and Adria

Josh Kawalek reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.7 CDTi (81 Kw/110 bhp year: february 2008 - september 2011) and a Adria Altea Trent of (laden) 1300 kg.

1.7cdti pulling adria altea trent. Fantastic car, plenty of torque, does lack a little BHP. Towed 1500miles round france with 5 people in the car no problem. Going to cornwall requires dropping to 4th on most of the more serious hill. Although 65mpg solo, towing it is a low 21-22mpg.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 CDTi Ecoflex [5-seats] and Sprite

Stewart Jones reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 CDTi Ecoflex [5-seats] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: november 2012 - 2016) and a Sprite Quattro FB of (laden) 1561 kg.

Hi. Is there a problem with the outfit matching figures for a Vauxhall (Opel) Zafira Tourer 2.0 CDTI Ecoflex (96kw/129bhp) towing a Sprite Quattro FB. Kerb Weight of car 1733kg. Weight of caravan 1561kg making a 90% weight ratio. The Towing Report shows the caravan colour red. Why is this when it is lighter than the car. I would appreciate any advice.

(Braked trailer weight of this Zafira is restricted to 1400 kg according to our information)

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Adria

pete reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Adria Altea 542 UK of (laden) 1235 kg.

zafira 1.9cdti 150 bhp 6 speed manual, 56 reg. this is an amazing tow vehicle. I hardly know the van is on the back. cruise control @ 56mph all day long. ave 30 mpg up and down M5. Previous tow car was disco td5 auto on 51 plate. I actually prefer the Zaffy for towing. But do miss the Auto box.
p.s. nothing will ever outpull a disco!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 1.8 16v and Bailey

B4zza69 reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 1.8 16v (92 Kw/125 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Bailey Orion 450-5 of (laden) 1287 kg.

Zafira 1.8 Elegance 2003, I am towing at 91%, I altered the car's kerb weight to 1410kg. Be aware that whattowcar makes it up to over 1500kg but the actual kerb weight of this model car is 1410kg. The unladen weight is around 1290. I am towing near to the 1300kg limit (set by Vauxhall for this model) and the Zafira does a great job. A heavier car would make for a more sturdy ride but what the Zafira lacks in Kerb Weight it makes up in manouvreability, it breezes tight miniroundabouts and awkward lanes with the Orion on the back. I have great visability in all 4 side mirrors. Power could be better but the 1.8 125bmp does well and will cruise niceley at 50 in 5th (which is the speed I tend to travel at). 4th Gear is sometimes used if the motorway incline is long and steep but generally 5th pulls up most. Being front wheel drive I do sometimes get a little wheelspin when pulling out from an incline at a junction but this is never a problem (I have very good tyres which keeps it to a minimum - if bad low quality ones were used I imagine wheelspining could be more frequent than one would desire). The Zafira 1.8 will win no towing awards and there are many car's that would do the job better but for a medium sized car with 7 seats (which is what I need) it does the job well enough. Fuel consumption is almost no different to normal driving but I am a very careful driver and drive smooth and steady when towing - no point rushing and causing an accident!! I tend to load the boot with the heavier items to increase the cars weight partly to add to the cars weight and traction and partly because the orion 450 is already sitting at 1200kg thanks to gas, motormover, battery, etc before loading in any food or clothes or awning etc etc.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi and Avondale

Andy reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: july 2005 - february 2008) and a Avondale Dart 545-4 of (laden) 1227 kg.

What ever you do, do not tow with a Zafira, I had it from new and has done 106000, and thats all it will be doing as its now scrap. This car like other Vauxhalss had been fitted with the M32 gearbox, which has over 25 variants, just shows how long it took vauxhalll to get one to work properly. the bearings in the box have melted, the duel mass flywheel has also gone, leaving me with a bill of over 2K, it isn't woth much more than that even though it is a 2007 1.9 cdt1 120bhp. I loved this car, now I'm carless and about to become skint in trying to find another motor that wont go bang when towing, a light caravan too I might add. Gutted.....
You have been warned, DONT TOW WITH A ZAFIRA!

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.7 CDTi and Caravan

sbowman reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.7 CDTi (81 Kw/110 bhp year: february 2008 - september 2011) and a Caravan of (laden) 1300 kg.

12 plate 1.7 diesel zafira with bessacar cameo 1300kg all up. will go anywhere pulls like a train super performance but you need a tanker following you even when you try to be economical 20mpg at best!!

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.8 16v and Lunar

J Macro reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.8 16v (103 Kw/140 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Lunar Ariva of (laden) 980 kg.

Expensive on petrol 18 mpg on the flat and 12 mpg or less on hills. Steep hill starts difficult and almost impossible on loose gravel surfaces.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Caravan

Anonymus reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Caravan of (laden) 1375 kg.

A very good tow car but as we had the Sri one we found the seats too uncomfortable it drove like a train and with the caravan I had to be reminded it was on as I easily started motoring. I got rid of the car after 6 months because of the seats were causing too much trouble. It has been replaced with a new shaped cmax that I no longer need to tow with but I did it at the right time as I found the person that bought it can't stand it and its changing it straight away as it has had troubles with the dual mass flywheel and aircon so overall I wouldn't recomend one too anyone

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Bailey

Stan Padley reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 520/4 of (laden) 1321 kg.

This is the best towcar I have had in 20years of caravaning, depending on the terrain it does 26-32 MPH when towing to the legal limits. The car as done 54,000 miles with no real problems.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Bailey

ken gaston reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Bailey Senator Virginia of (laden) 1459 kg.

> I had enter a review before but clicked on wrong model (auto) this is the corrected review, Zafira 150bhp cdti ,6 speed manual. The Zafira is a great tow car but a recent fault has highlighted a problem waiting to happen to many towing with cars fitted with a dual mass flywheels ,loads of forums on DMF, not many extolling the virtues
> of the device . Modern deisel cars seemed to have high ratio reverse
> gears and this is the worst problem involving using clutch control
> when reversing a caravan , even on tick over you go at running pace .
> I have to reverse into a storage space slightly uphill and in a S
> shape manouver , not a problem takes about 5 minutes but the clutch
> alway gets slightly hot ( slight clutch burn smell ) . This I realise
> is also heating the DMF which can then leak grease therefore set it on
> its way to wearing out . After a couple of years of this my DMF is now
> complaining . I just think they are not fit for the job regarding
> towing in all circumstances . I have now fitted a motor mover on the
> caravan . The car is off to the mechanics for £1350 worth of Dual
> Mass Flywheel and clutch kit .

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Bailey

l v hoskins reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Bailey Pegasus 534 of (laden) 1466 kg.

zafira design 06 model 150bhp bailey peggy 534 unstable at speeds above 50 mph

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Caravelair

MAguayo reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Caravelair Antares Luxe 490 of (laden) 970 kg.

I realized what report says

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Bailey

Ray M reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Bailey Olympus 504 of (laden) 1324 kg.

Our first outing with the 504 and Zafira150 BHP very pleased with the car tows first class set cruise control on M4 Reading to junction of M5 then on down to West Devon MPG for the journey down and return 34.7 Placed awning in back of car for ballast a very good match and cant wait for the next trip..

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v aut. and Bailey

Phil reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of (laden) 1167 kg.

I've found the Zafira to be a great towcar. Our caravan is very light (MTPLM 1178Kg) so acceleration is quite impressive. I only get 19-25mpg towing, but suspect this is due to our Bailey Ranger having a very "upright" front profile compared to the sloped fronts of other caravans.

The 6-speed auto gearbox is fantastic. It normally holds 5th gear at 60mph, so long as there is no head wind. It automatically changes down to provide engine braking on hills, and there is no clutch to burn out when reversing onto a pitch :-)

Stability is also very good. The Zafira has a short rear overhang, low profile tyres and "sporty" (i.e. hard!) suspension which all help. The van has an Alko 3004 stabiliser.

DON'T BE PUT OFF BY DEALERS SAYING THE ZAFIRA CAN'T TOW ANYTHING! I've heard this a few times and it seems to be based on the older & lighter Zafira "A" models.

According to our manual, the kerbweight of our Zafira is 1692Kg (1658kg for 150bhp auto + 16kg for "design" trim + 18kg for towing equipment). The optional spare wheel probably adds another 15kg too. The maximum braked towing weight is 1500kg (annoyingly this is NOT stated in the manual)

Negatives? Visibility from towing mirrors is poor if the drivers seat is moved forward, due to the door mirrors being close to the driver. I haven't tried wing mirrors. And given my choice again, I'd have the Vauxhall/Opel OEM detachable towbar fitted rather than the ugly (and ground clearance reducing) Witter detachable system.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v and Bailey

Barrie Harnett reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v (108 Kw/147 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

Had the 2.2 Zaffy for 5 years, was reluctant to change but saw, on this site, 86% and red stars and had already bought the Pageant. fuel consumption is poor at about 22 but isn't good 'solo' either. Learned to tow in the forces so not really a novice, also this isn't my first 'van however it is the biggest. Zafira gets bad press in towing community but it performs admirably albeit a bit worrying on wet grass but there's always a way round that one. pulled up A55 in N. Wales ok, granted I was in 3rd by the time we got to the top but we still found power. never had a problem with temp. maybe just lucky bot if you take your time, don't rush into situations, don't hold the outfit on the clutch for long periods, if indeed at all and you should have an easy life.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 1.8 16v and Caravan

ankirali reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 1.8 16v (92 Kw/125 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Caravan 1000 kg of (laden) 1250 kg.

User Reviews
The Opel towing a Elddis Avante 524 (1300) kg reviewed by Dave:

= 72% = 98 km/u = 9%
Now in my 3rd year with this outfit, have to say the zafira pulls well and gives a return of 25-27mpg with the caravan on the back. Even though I tow at the max for the car it comes up most hills easily just have to change down earlier to keep the power up, it came up the rhuallt hill on the A55 north wales in 3rd gear and held 40mph all the way, but when worked hard the engine does run hot but soon cools when on the flat again.



Tell other caravanners what you think of your Opel Zafira - 1.8 16v towing a Caravan 1000 kg (1250 kg). Please write your review below.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v aut. and Lunar

D.Cowan reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Lunar Delta 540-2 of (laden) 1400 kg.

Vauxhall of course not Opel excellent towing very comfortable plenty of luggage space in 5 seat configuration. My Delta 540-2 1997 model the Mptlm 1500kg NOT 1400kg as stated on this site

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 2.2 Direkt aut. and Coachman

Geoff Sallat reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 2.2 Direkt aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Coachman VIP 460/2 of (laden) 1356 kg.

Foung this to be a good tug, although a little thirsty, will be changing to a DTIi model soon

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 2.2 Direkt aut. and Swift

Richard Wain reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 2.2 Direkt aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Swift Challenger SE 480 of (laden) 1332 kg.

Have found this tow car a bit of a struggle. It pulls off just fine but struggles on long motorway inclines and 'drinks'petrol when hitched. Will be changing to a Galaxy asap.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Caravelair

Manel reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Caravelair Antares Luxe 496 of (laden) 1210 kg.

Mi caravana no es la 496, sinó la 495 (;-)
Estoy más que contento, super contento y satisfecho de como se comporta el conjunto

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Caravan

Richard Phillips reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Caravan of (laden) 250 kg.

Coming home from Cornwall, the Zafira and Conway started to 'snake'. I was able to control it, but I aged 10 years!!! Please be careful when windy, they are light weight cars. Ps I have a stabaliser fitted to towing frame.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Bagagewagen

Richard Phillips reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Bagagewagen (achter MPV of SUV) of (laden) 1000 kg.

My 'bagagewagon' is a 2006 Conway Crusader Folding Camper. Max 1000kgs. Tried it last weekend on M5, no probs. Going to Cornwall this weekend with partner, daughter, 2 grandsons, so will update (god willing!)

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Bailey

John Oxley reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Bailey Ranger 510 of (laden) 1235 kg.

zafira diesal 2.DTi-car 1603kg,Baily 510 1235kg 77% match but this site says the van is too heavy as towing limit for the car is 1100kg-don't know weather now to bid for the caravan?any advice?

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Adria

Fife reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Adria Adora 542 DL of (laden) 1335 kg.

Hi all, I'm new to touring but found towing the Adria 742 DL no problem, I'll be careful to watch how much stuff the wife try's to smuggle onboard though to keep the weight down - anyone else find it difficult to get mirrors out far enough to see down the sides of the van, Zafira quite narrow and Adria quite wide!

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - OPC 2.0 T and Standaard Caravan

RICH KOZIOL reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - OPC 2.0 T (177 Kw/241 bhp year: november 2005 - september 2011) and a Standaard Caravan of (laden) 1500 kg.

Absolutly a breeze to tow with this car, my vxr has more than enough power.Tow bars can be hard to find but a standard zaf one does the job.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v aut. and Dethleffs

Jesper reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Dethleffs Camper 510 TK of (laden) 1350 kg.

Perfectly match no problem even on mountains.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - OPC 2.0 T and Bailey

AnonyMous reviewed on a Opel Zafira - OPC 2.0 T (147 Kw/200 bhp year: january 2003 - july 2005) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 500/5 of (laden) 1305 kg.

Using our GSI to to pull our Bailey GT60 500/5 (1316 kg) and it pulls it okay, Very stable, even in very windy conditions. Just a bit thirsty on the fuel consumption. Have yet to tow with a diesel so have nothing to compare against unfortunately.
Removeable and hidden westfalia tow bar keeps the car looking standard too.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v aut. and Elddis

Laurence Wardill reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Elddis Xplore 596 of (laden) 1498 kg.

I find that the Zafira pulls the twin axle 6 berth caravan with ease it has brisk accelleration and I get around 29mpg whilst towing. The caravan is very stable to tow with no extra stablization system employed even with heavy side winds and the caravan brakes are very good as there is very little extra force required on the pedal when braking even on downward slopes and hills.Considering the total train weight is around 3 and a half tonnes it is a very well matched combination.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Caravelair

giacomo Minaglia reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Caravelair Antares Luxe 400 of (laden) 970 kg.

No problems also in mountains.Very stable with lateral winds

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 1.6 16v and Caravan

Mark reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 1.6 16v (74 Kw/101 bhp year: may 1999 - july 2005) and a Caravan 1000 kg of (laden) 1100 kg.

Ok so don't expect me to rave about how good this combination is. It coped with cruising & steady hills OK but you had to really work the Zaf hard. Where it really falls down is traction. As soon as the back end of the car is loaded (even with careful attention to nose weight) the already light front wheels become positively feather weight. Also on reversing the clutch just dose not seam to be up to the job making some smashing burning smells on even moderate effort. But as this was a stop gap car for this van it was not really too much of an issue.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

Michelle Beech reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: july 2005 - february 2008) and a Bailey Ranger 540/6 of (laden) 1263 kg.

We bought our Bailey Ranger 540/6 last April and used it round the north of England and in the summer towed it round France for 6 weeks doing over 3000 miles. It towed great although at one point stuck in traffic on a hill for nearly an hour seemed to affect the clutch on the car and there was a burning rubber smell! Once we got moving all was ok. Probably we were a bit overloaded for the start of the journey due to planning for 6 weeks but as the holiday went on the van probably got lighter. Love the caravan thou!

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Bailey

Norbert Thirrouez reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Bailey Ranger 540/6 of (laden) 1263 kg.

Take a gander at this review of 1.9 DTi hauling your new van!

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Coachman

brian L reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Coachman Amara 520/4 of (laden) 1500 kg.

This outfit works verywell the power of the 150bhp is great. Stability is excellent, no problem from lorrys on motorways etc.Towed over 4500 miles with this car ecomoney not great approx 25/26mpg,but it is a heavey caravan.Tows better when car is well loaded.Good tow car.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Swift

Graham White reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Swift Challenger SE 530 of (laden) 1374 kg.

It's the first time I have towed a caravan this year. I would highly recommend the 150bhp to both new and old users alike. On average I get a return of 34-36 mpg with the caravan on the back. In 5th gear I can set cruise control at 60 mph, and happily cruise beside lorries. coaches etc without experiencing any snaking. On the flat, 6th gear can be achieved without head winds. The sport button is very effective when on severe inclines, and the whole outfit climbs without effort. From my limited experience, I would recommend using the user payload of the car, opposed to the caravan for a smooth ride.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi and Elddis

Bryan smith reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: july 2005 - february 2008) and a Elddis Avante 556 of (laden) 1414 kg.

I have just brought an elldiss avante 556 from the north of england and towed it down to lincoln,although according to the it books is a little on the heavy side it pulled perfectly, i was most impressed, good pulling power and a decent mpg return---34mpg at a steady 55mph

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 2.0 Turbo and Bailey

ijk reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 2.0 Turbo (147 Kw/200 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Bailey Pageant Monarch of (laden) 1295 kg.

great car for towing but 24mpg when towing?

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 1.8 16v and Elddis

Dave reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 1.8 16v (92 Kw/125 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Elddis Avante 524 of (laden) 1300 kg.

Now in my 3rd year with this outfit, have to say the zafira pulls well and gives a return of 25-27mpg with the caravan on the back. Even though I tow at the max for the car it comes up most hills easily just have to change down earlier to keep the power up, it came up the rhuallt hill on the A55 north wales in 3rd gear and held 40mph all the way, but when worked hard the engine does run hot but soon cools when on the flat again.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Caravan

Barry Needham reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Caravan of (laden) 1025 kg.

Hi All,
My Caravan is a Elddis Crown Sceptre 5 Berth the Zafira 2.0 DTI pulls this no problem MIRO 929.64 only and MTPLM 1198.88 its a very light caravan with all extras it's a shame that they're no longer in production

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - OPC 2.0 T and Bailey

STEVE RICHARDSON reviewed on a Opel Zafira - OPC 2.0 T (147 Kw/200 bhp year: january 2003 - july 2005) and a Bailey Pageant Auvergne of (laden) 1385 kg.

I have been using my Zafira GSi 2.0L Turbo to tow my Bailey Auvergne caravan all season and can say that the power of the car make towing this heavy caravan easy! Hill starts are no problem either, The only downside is the fuel consumption! but if taken easy i can get 19 mpg. Not bad for a 200 bhp performance car! (7 seater at that)

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Lunar

david garbett reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Lunar Quasar 462 of (laden) 1250 kg.

hi all
my caravan is a lunar twin wheeler 1060 unladen,got 150 kgs of stuff to go in it. me car is opel zafira 2.0 dti. i compared it and it shud pull it ok. any 1 got any more advice plz

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Ace

Arthur reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Ace Jubilee Aristocrat of (laden) 1454 kg.

Vehicle and caravan both very stable well over 2500 miles covered good mpg had seven up and pulled caravan with no problem

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Sprite

Vikki B reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Sprite Major 6 of (laden) 1375 kg.

I was worried intially about towing this van as it is quite a bit heavier than my last one, however it tows with no problems. The fuel consumption is not as good as before but is not too bad. Very stable and good acceleration made driving a dream.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v and Abbey

Tony Booth reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v (108 Kw/147 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Abbey Aventura 315 of (laden) 1264 kg.

I tow a Abbey Aventura 315 with a 2.2 Petrol Zafira and matched it on this site, the almost 5 star rating looked good but fuel consumption is very poor 22 ish and performance on flat ok but any sort of gradient you are through the gears sadly poor choice

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v and Bailey

Derrick Thornton reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v (108 Kw/147 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Bailey Ranger 540/6 of (laden) 1360 kg.

Just started towing a Bailey Ranger 540/6 with our Zafira 2.2 petrol auto. It handles up to a mild incline fairly well, but show it a more serious slope and its a problem. Temp often climbs, and it revs quite hard. Fuel economy is low 20s. Sadly, not such a great match.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Lunar

Paul B reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Lunar Quasar FB TA of (laden) 1510 kg.

It appears that this outfit is a little overweight for the Zafira although the performance and stability are outstanding. I generally tow with a diesel Range Rover and only used the Zafira as the Rangie was in for repairs. I now prefer to tow with the Zafira, it just seems to work better.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi and Avondale

Tim Murray reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: july 2005 - february 2008) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1245 kg.

This is the first caravan I have towed for years and I was concerned about the size of this 6 berth over the car. But the car tows this car very well, crusing in 6th gear the majority of the time and tackling hills easily. Repeated hill starts in a roadwaok queue recently were no problem.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v and Abbey

Andy du Cros reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v (108 Kw/147 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Abbey Aventura 317 of (laden) 1243 kg.

Great towcar, stable and plenty of power as long as your not on wet grass or loose gravel. stick to club sites with hard standings. or change it for a Fourtrak like I did. Awesome.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi and Swift

Mark reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: july 2005 - february 2008) and a Swift Charisma 535 of (laden) 1290 kg.

I bought my first caravan this year and was concerned about the weight of the car not being heavy enough. Very difficult to work out the exact weights on Special Editions like mine. As this is the first time I have personally towed a caravan, i am very pleased with the performance. Vauxhall/Opel do indeed a maximum of 1300kg which i am within and it pulls the caravan easily without any problems. Uphills seem to be fine even when fully loaded and i would recommend this outfit.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Bailey

ken gaston reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

Towing a series 5 Pageant Vendee was my first experience at caravaning.The combination was effortless and comfortable. The car a Zafira 2.0 ltr 150 bhp deisel 2006 and achieved 33 MPG, travelled to the Lake district and Scotland from Hampshire sharing the driving with my wife.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Sterling

JohnO reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Sterling Europa 540 of (laden) 1452 kg.

The Zafira was a Design Model. Excellent to tow with - plenty power and very stable. Cruise Control a real bonus when towing long distance. Excellent

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi and Compass

Derry O'Keeffe reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: july 2005 - february 2008) and a Compass Omega 524 L of (laden) 1500 kg.

I bought this caravan in Wales at the beginning of August. I had a problem towing at the beginning but checked the tyre pressures and found the tyres to be down by 30psi once I pumped to correct pressure (65psi) all my problems ended. Great on the motorway (5th and 6th gear), great on the hills around Narberth. Towed it back to Clare in the west of Ireland without problems. I live up a big hill and got up in first gear easily. I would recomend this outfit but be aware that it is too heavy according to Opel (1300kgs max) when filled with your personal gear.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Bailey

Kieran Sisk reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

Lots of power in the car and a very smooth combination. Fuel consumption was a little higher but the caravan is not light.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Caravan

s barton reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Caravan of (laden) 1050 kg.

would love to hear from people towing with a zafira I am going to but have only heard bad comments I will be towing a swift danette 1060 fully laden with a 2.0 dti deisel zafira!

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Caravan

s barton reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Caravan of (laden) 1050 kg.

would love to hear from people towing with a zafira I am going to but have only heard bad comments I will be towing a swift danette 1060 fully laden with a 2.0 dti deisel zafira!

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v and Avondale

Mark Davies reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v (108 Kw/147 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1245 kg.

As a 2.2 Zafira user I concur with the report, very good performance but expect to change down on motorway inclines and prepare in advance to keep revs up. Happily used for a year towing a Dart 556.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Avondale

Antony reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1245 kg.

I bought a Zafira 1.9cdti sri diesel in October 07 and have found it brilliant for towing. The accellaration is really good considering you have a caravan on the back. No one can accuse you of holding up the traffic whilst towing with this car. Had a 1.8 petrol before this and it was nowhere near as good at towing.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Bailey

Rodney Clements reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of (laden) 1258 kg.

Hi all,
My caravan has the AL-KO hitch fitted and is very well behaved on the Zafira.The outfit pulls well and has plenty of power on hill starts.I think that if you are careful about the nose weight the zafira is competent and I should point out that this is my first touring caravan

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v and Coachman

Carl reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.9 CDTi 16v (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Coachman Amara 520/4 of (laden) 1300 kg.

Towing with this car is a dream, very stable, quite and at times you have to check the speedo as its easy to forget the caravan is there! It takes steep hills with ease, only occasionally needing to drop to 5th. Recently completed a 1000miles + of towing and enjoyed every second of it

More details >>>


Opel Zafira II - 1.6 16v Twinport and Caravan

tony gallagher reviewed on a Opel Zafira II - 1.6 16v Twinport (77 Kw/105 bhp year: july 2005 - september 2011) and a Caravan 1000 kg of (laden) 1250 kg.

pulls well but struggles on hill start. the familiar smell of burnt cabbage when reversing uphill means the clutch struggles occasionally.60 mph all day long though. Looking forward to the continent with a saab cabriolet pulling my clarion 420/2 80-90 mph no problem.....

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v and Avondale

Paul Edwards reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.2 16v (108 Kw/147 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1280 kg.

As report says very good performance. Does need changing down on inclines but most of the time can be left in 5th.
Also very stable with Alko stabiliser hitch. Have heard you need spring assisters with Zafiras but I have not needed.
Only downside is fuel, expect about 20mpg when towing.
Also check issues with cam chain on 2002 and older cars.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Bailey

kirsty reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Bailey Discovery Neptune of (laden) 1098 kg.

hi all id love to tel you but even though this says mycar will pull one a dealer wont sell me one . but i pull a old avondale sand martin with this car no probs.

More details >>>


Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti and Bailey

kevin pannell reviewed on a Opel Zafira - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2000 - july 2005) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1362 kg.

hi all
on the tow safe site it says im at 91% as the car is 1503kg kerb weight and the bailey pageant champagne caravan im towing is 1362kg??? yet on my bailey booklet and on the side of the caravan (dates and weight)says the van is only 1314kg MTPLM.
so this puts me at 91% but i towed it down to brean sands for a week from oxford on the m4/5 and had no problems with it at all.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us