TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Mercedes-Benz E-klasse User Reviews

Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 250 CDI 2.1 aut. and Lunar

S.A reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 250 CDI 2.1 aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: april 2009 - february 2013) and a Lunar Lexon 540 of (laden) 1500 kg.

Great combination pulled like a train .
MPG towing to South of France and returning 28 mpg
cruise control great on the steep down hill roads, set to 50 mph and the car holds the speed using gears and brakes .
Found the caravan swaying a bit at speed,rear tyre pressure increased all is well now, solid as a rock behind even over taking at speed.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 220 CDI 2.1 and Elddis

Paul reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 220 CDI 2.1 (125 Kw/170 bhp year: april 2009 - february 2013) and a Elddis Affinity 540 of (laden) 1450 kg.

E220 diesel automatic towing 1500kg performs as well as any tow car I\'ve had. Did have some concerns has had heard it can be a little lively at the rear end due to soft springs but I have not found any stability issues at all. Cruise control at 60mph on motorway totally stress free and returns 30+mpg

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212-2) Estate - 220 CDI aut. and Bailey

Martin reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212-2) Estate - 220 CDI aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: february 2013 - up to now) and a Bailey Senator California of (laden) 1459 kg.

Just come back from our first outing with our new Merc. Over the moon with how it tows plenty of power nad very stable. Not once did we feel the van moving around. Big vans going past did not move things at all and hills were no problem just a change down from the auto box and away. Economy solo is great and with the van on better than expected.
Great tow car

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 320 CDI aut. and Hobby

Steve reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 320 CDI aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: march 2003 - july 2005) and a Hobby Premium 650 UKFe of (laden) 1910 kg.

Anybody had a problem with the Mercedes brakes overheating due to the weight of the caravan...bags of engine power but does anyone know if high weight ratio..100%.. has caused the car brakes to overheat ?

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 350 CDI 3.0 V6 aut. and Buccaneer

Simon reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 350 CDI 3.0 V6 aut. (170 Kw/231 bhp year: april 2009 - february 2013) and a Buccaneer Corsair of (laden) 1740 kg.

Best towcar I've ever had. Super stable as long as you load caravan properly and get nose weight right. But then I always load my towcar with the heavy stuff.Towing 23mpg to 27mpg, solo 35mpg to 42mpg. Very comfortable ride, the car just pulls and pulls .I have been dragging caravans for 12yrs and have been a professional driver for 26yrs. Recommended the merc 350 cdi sport

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 250 CDI 2.1 aut. and Lunar

John Collins reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 250 CDI 2.1 aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: april 2009 - february 2013) and a Lunar Lexon 540 of (laden) 1445 kg.

I have the 250 CDi auto blue efficiency, a dream tow car, quiet smooth very comfortable plenty of power, I feel totally in control. Using cruise control on motorways at 50 mph returns over 40 mpg, Can't get better than that

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) Estate - 220 CDI 2.1 aut. and Sprite

Nick reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) Estate - 220 CDI 2.1 aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: january 2010 - february 2013) and a Sprite Musketeer EB of (laden) 1252 kg.

Bought the E220 earlier this year (2014) after towing with 1.9 Galaxy autos. The Mercedes tows fine, apart from the drop in performance (and rise in fuel consumption!) I hardly know the caravan is there. I don't tend to rush and normally tow between 50 and 60. I must confess I bought the car and only then read the first review above which did get me worried, but I have never felt any instability at all. Don't know if it makes a difference or not but I had the dealer fit the Mercedes towbar which is great as it swings out of sight when not in use. Not a cheap option though!

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212-2) - 250 CDI aut. and Lunar

J Collins reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212-2) - 250 CDI aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: february 2013 - 2016) and a Lunar Lexon 540 of (laden) 1445 kg.

I would say, the combination of a Mercedes E class 250 auto diesel towing a Lunar Lexon is about as perfect as you will get, I would also comment that rear wheel drive is always preferable to a front wheel drive.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 280 CDI aut. [4Matic] and Swift

Geoff reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 280 CDI aut. [4Matic] (140 Kw/190 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Swift Conqueror 645 of (laden) 1804 kg.

Great towing car, plenty of power & stability. No issues at all!

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 220 CDI and Abbey

Graham reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 220 CDI (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - june 2006) and a Abbey Aventura 318 of (laden) 1404 kg.

great towcar, cheap to run, alot of car second hand for Mondeo money

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 220 CDI 2.1 and Sprite

A Graham reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 220 CDI 2.1 (125 Kw/170 bhp year: april 2009 - february 2013) and a Sprite Major 4 FB of (laden) 1343 kg.

Manual 2012 vehicle, towing Sprite Major 4FB (Ace Statesman special edition). No problems at all, plenty of power and no snaking tho' suffer from the normal MB Saloon challenge of soft rear springs (much better when spare wheel moved to under bed storage). Normal conditions see about 29 mpg - motorway about 34 mpg tho on recent trip achieved 37! A good outfit

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) Estate - 220 CDI 2.1 aut. and Elddis

Stephen Scott reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) Estate - 220 CDI 2.1 aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: january 2010 - february 2013) and a Elddis Crusader Superscirocco of (laden) 1825 kg.

Sorry to hear about your problems but i have a 2011 220 Estate and i pull a 2014 Elddis Super Sirocco and on normal figures should be unsafe but i put all heavy gear into the back of the car and just light stuff in the van.So the towing ratio is about 88%. Tows like a dream, have drove sprinters for over 10 years so i may be used to the light front. If i did have one complaint it would be the noseweight 85kg for a car this size.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 350 CDI 3.0 V6 aut. [BlueTEC] and Bailey

dave stokes reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 350 CDI 3.0 V6 aut. [BlueTEC] (155 Kw/211 bhp year: september 2009 - february 2013) and a Bailey Pegasus GT65 Verona of (laden) 1448 kg.

What a car! The best tow car I have had, 4 wheel drives and saloons. Good average milage solo about 48 mpg and towing can get 37 mpg, but right foot gets to I want to get where I am going quicker so 32 mpg. Enough power to pull any good match, towing 78% is no challenge at all.The only problem is you need to watch the speedo all the time, as the comfort in the car can make it hard to judge your speed. LOVE IT.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 320 CDI aut. and Bailey

Bill Boland reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 320 CDI aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Bailey Unicorn Valencia of (laden) 1497 kg.

Best car we have ever had for build quality and towing a large caravan, the luggage space with the rear seats down is massive, allowing for all the stuff and bits that you don't want to put in your van to be placed out of harms way. After having the engine re-mapped, (not the cheap option of "chip tuning")this has increased the power and torque by over 25% and also giving me an extra 3-5 mpg. Hardly know that the Valencia is on the back, especially going up hills or overtaking. The Bailey Valencia with the traction control is about as smooth and safe to tow as it gets, swaying about passing trucks and also side wind deflection are a thing of the past, and with the extra engine power we just fly down the road, even at 80mph this rig is as straight as an arrow. Buying quality in your tow vehicle and caravan will always save you money in the long run.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 220 CDI 2.1 and Elddis

Cliff Still reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 220 CDI 2.1 (125 Kw/170 bhp year: april 2009 - february 2013) and a Elddis Affinity 540 of (laden) 1450 kg.

Towing the caravan is no problem,I am getting about 32miles to the gallon witch is a lot better than I was getting when I towed the Elddiss Odyssey. My car is a automatic and works good with this outfit.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 270 CDI aut. and Eriba

Jan Jensen reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 270 CDI aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: march 2002 - july 2005) and a Eriba Feeling 440 of (laden) 1190 kg.

Actually our combination is a Hymer Feeling 425 Model 2012 towed by MB E270 CDI. At a speed of 80kms/hour we go 11,0 kms/liter, at 95 kms/hour we go 10,3 kms/liter. We never had been in trouble even we have reach 120 kms/hour downhill on Kassel hills in Germany. MB270 goes well and Hymer 425 too!
Jan Jensen Tversted Denmark

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 320 CDI aut. and Elddis

Andy Moorey reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 320 CDI aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: march 2003 - july 2005) and a Elddis Avante 636 of (laden) 1657 kg.

Although the wight ratio is high stability was never a problem provided fastidious attention was paid to loading and especially to noseweight. The Merc was never bothered by the caravan and returned 29mpg most of the time after fitting a tuning box (55mpg solo) Long motorway hills and passes are taken with no fuss at all, occasionally it might down shift but not that you'd notice. The wide tyres could have been a problem on waterlogged grass but we never got it stuck. Perfect towcar, plenty of room in the back for all the heavy stuff you dont want in the 'van, the self levelling takes care of it with no drama.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 320 CDI aut. and Ace

Terry Hall reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 320 CDI aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Ace Award Tristar of (laden) 1438 kg.

Can't fault the car for power. Towed our Ace Tristar from Rosslare to Portrush. We found the stability of the outfit unsuitable with minimum weight in Caravan and car still found it very difficult to achieve 75kg tow hitch. The jockey wheel is very close to the ground due to the low suspension on these cars. When we arrived home Mercedes serviced the car and found two broken rear springs. We have just bought a used Kia Sorento as our tow car now and will not tow with the Mercedes again.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 320 CDI aut. and Elddis

Andrew Moorey reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 320 CDI aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Elddis Avante 636 of (laden) 1657 kg.

Although this is marginal on the weight ratio (95%) as long as you are a seasoned tower there are no real issues. Oodles of power to spare this is a very stable outfit. Hills have never presented a problem and after fitting an Essing DPT tuning box I can easily achieve 30 mpg (55 solo) Massive amounts of torque make hill starts and overtaking positive and fuss free. Only downside is that you are as long as many artics which can make life 'interesting' manoeuvering on site........motor movers recommended!

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 270 CDI aut. and Hobby

patrick.marcel reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 270 CDI aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: march 2002 - july 2005) and a Hobby Excellent 540 UFf of (laden) 1497 kg.

ma E270CDI de 2003 tracte une HOBBY 540 UFF de 1500 kq.aucun problème, conduite trés stable testée jusqu'a 126 kms/h.pas de balancement,en cote bonne performance, et en consommation 8.4l/100 a 95 km/h de moyenne.c'est top.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 220 CDI 2.1 and Abbey

Jack Butterworth reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 220 CDI 2.1 (125 Kw/170 bhp year: april 2009 - february 2013) and a Abbey Aventura 312 of (laden) 1205 kg.

Towing my caravan with the Mercedes is very good. No problems with snaking or any other towing problems. Mine is a diesel automatic and I don't think I am getting a good miles to the gallon rate. Averaging 25miles to gallon at the moment. This might be normal. I dont know as am new to car and caravan.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 220 CDI aut. and Swift

Colin Phillips reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 220 CDI aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2003 - june 2006) and a Swift Conqueror 580 of (laden) 1527 kg.

I am amazed at the way this car tows such a large caravan. It pulls like a train and is very stable at speed, returning 27mpg on a recent trip to the Cotswolds. I do tend to load the car as much as possible before loading the caravan. The Conqueror tows a dream!

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 220 CDI aut. and Eifelland

Massimo reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 220 CDI aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: june 2006 - november 2009) and a Eifelland Holiday 520 TKM of (laden) 1455 kg.

Su strada è veramente eccezionale, sia in pianura ma anche e soprattutto in salita anche con macchina carica. Ottima anche nelle manovre grazie al grande raggio di sterzata che la rende estremamente agile. Consumi in autostrada con condizionatore sempre acceso e biciclette sul tetto, ad una velocità media di 95 km/h 8 km al litro. Un pò tanti, ma la vettura merita.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) Estate - 220 CDI 2.1 aut. and Bailey

Martin Lewis reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) Estate - 220 CDI 2.1 aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: january 2010 - february 2013) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

Been towing for 10 yrs mostly with a Seat Alhambra all over Europe and have had no problems. Towing with the New E class Estate has been a nightmare. {factory fitted towbar] The match has been totally unstable, feeling the car out of control and snaking on relative low speeds 55 - 60 mph, even though Alko towbar fitted on caravan. Had the car checked at the dealers for any suspension problems etc but OK. Basically had to load the boot of the car up to try and stabilise the car to reduce the loading from the van. Will have to change car for towing if we continue to tow our caravan.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 230 aut. [W124] and Lunar

bobby nash reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 230 aut. [W124] (97 Kw/132 bhp year: september 1989 - march 2002) and a Lunar Lexon 640 of (laden) 1475 kg.

tows very well no proplem up rated rear susspention average 22 to 26 mpg

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 250 CDI 2.1 aut. and Swift

Phil Tompsett reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E (W212) - 250 CDI 2.1 aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: april 2009 - february 2013) and a Swift Charisma 570 of (laden) 1452 kg.

Switched to the Merc from a Volvo XC90 so there is an obvious difference in the feeling of stability but the Merc pulls very well and never feels underpowered.

The Factory fit towbar is reasonably priced compared to other cars and is excellent. Twist the handle in the boot and it swings down do the same again to swing it back up out of view and you can tell it is a towcar. Naturally it cuts off the park sensors unlike most aftermarket.

Car itself has a few niggles. It has been off the road twice since i bought it 6 months ago. There was a problem with the fuel injectors which they took 12 weeks to work out but I guess the fault is known now and will be repaired more quickly for anyone else.

Great to drive and fairly fast. Audio jack for Ipod is poorly designed as it is in the golvebox so if you want to use your Ipod controls to change tracks etc you have to have the glovebox open (it wont close as the cable to your ipod gets in the way). This means that the glovebox hangs open (impossible for passengers) and that the light stays on which is very distracting when you drive in the dark at night or early mornings.

I struggle to get the seats to be comfortable too but this could just be me.

Other niggle is the park sensors, the lights are OK at indicating your distance but the beepers only come on when you are very close and seem inconsistent often only working once you are at the maximum/closest point. Could be just my car as I've only done 7500 miles and not had first service yet.

Would I buy another - probably not purely because I'm wary of the reliability having spent half the 6 months I have had it, at the repairers. However, Mercedes were very good at providing a courtesy car - 12 weeks in a superb range rover. You need to say that the replacement car has to have a towbar. I then had to wait a week for them to find one as the hire car company only had 3 out of 10,000 vehicles on their fleet.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 320 CDI aut. [4Matic] and Bailey

zx81xz reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 320 CDI aut. [4Matic] (165 Kw/224 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

Great car to tow with. You sometimes actually forget you are towing. Very smootha nd quiet. Great with Sat Nav as you just sit back and wait to arrive at your destination.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 320 CDI aut. and Ace

Michael Sacre reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 320 CDI aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: march 2003 - july 2005) and a Ace Jubilee Viscount of (laden) 1635 kg.

I have had this combination for about 8 months now and have found it to be perfect. The mercedes is an absolute powerhouse
and is up to the challenge no matter what we come across.
My fuel consumption depends on the terrain, but on most level areas it is about 25 mpg, all in all no complaints.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 280 CDI aut. and Bailey

Tim reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 280 CDI aut. (140 Kw/190 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Monarch of (laden) 1239 kg.

The Mercedes E Class E280CDI Estate tows like a dream. Solo MPG 40mpg Touring. 25/26 When towing.
The estate is the the better bet than the saloon, as it has self levelling. Choose to have a factory fitted foldaway towbar with factory fitted 13 pin socket.
This is best car I have towed with. Better than a Mercedes M Class ML270CDI and much more comfortable.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 270 CDI aut. and Coachman

Richard Jeffery reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 270 CDI aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: march 2002 - july 2005) and a Coachman VIP 530/4 of (laden) 1575 kg.

The E270 cdi is an excelant tow car with a very stable ride with good performance and resoanable economy although the match with the Coachman VIP 530 is 93% there are no stability problems for an experienced caravaner.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 320 CDI aut. [4Matic] and Lunar

Brian Rogers reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 320 CDI aut. [4Matic] (165 Kw/224 bhp year: february 2006 - november 2009) and a Lunar Delta 540-2 of (laden) 1400 kg.

The mercedes E320cdi is a magnificent car for towing tha Luna Delta 540-2 easy driving no stress bags of power.and gets 26 mpg under load,highly recomended

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 200 Kompressor aut. and Solifer

Peter Fernkvist reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 200 Kompressor aut. (135 Kw/184 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Solifer Finlandia 560 of (laden) 1400 kg.

Mercedes E200 Kompressor AUT 2006 + Solifer 5602i-1992. I think that this configuration works great, smoth acceleration , very steady driving. Perhaps even better with a safety couppling (spelling??)

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 270 CDI and Avondale

Ronald Sandeman reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 270 CDI (130 Kw/177 bhp year: march 2003 - july 2005) and a Avondale Argente 640-6 of (laden) 1651 kg.

We have just purchased the Avondale Argent twin axel, 650-6 and are towing with the Mercedes 270 Auto CDI Estate. We have driven from Scotaldn down to Devon, the car is happy y on the cruse control at 60MPH all day and returns approx 24 MPG. The steep hills of North Devon proved to be absolutly no problem and the car took anything put to it in its stride without appearing to have to work hard at any point, it just goes.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 280 CDI aut. and Eriba

David Willdigg reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 280 CDI aut. (140 Kw/190 bhp year: june 2006 - november 2009) and a Eriba Nova GL 435 of (laden) 1350 kg.

I have now towed just over 5000 miles with my E class estate, well loaded both in the car and the van. I have found it to have plenty of power and it consistantly returns 24mpg. With my caravan, a Hymer Nova 470 I feel confident of its stability up to 60 mph but more often feel happier nearer 50.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 300 D W124 aut. and Caravan

Dogan reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 300 D W124 aut. (100 Kw/136 bhp year: june 1993 - april 1996) and a Caravan of (laden) 1300 kg.

My merc. is an 1991 AT 300d estate (113 bhp) and been towing for 4 years with it.

It returns a very stable outfit. High mass of car, high towbar loading limit(85 kg) and self levelling allows comfortable drive at 90-100 km/h witout stabiliser.

Power is not superior but satisfactory. The first gear is very good at hill starts. Consumption on tow is around 13 lt/100 km.

Overheating never happened but always an issue to check for these models. Changing radiator works well. When hot summers and steep hills come together you should not only turn off the AC but also give a go to cabin heating for safety.

"Reliable towing" is best to describe how this w124 diesel works.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 200 Kompressor aut. and Knaus

m m reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 200 Kompressor aut. (135 Kw/184 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Knaus Sport 500 QDK of (laden) 1390 kg.

Mercedes-Benz E - 200 Kompressor 1998

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 320 CDI aut. and Coachman

James Holton reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E Combi - 320 CDI aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: march 2003 - july 2005) and a Coachman Amara 520/4 of (laden) 1490 kg.

I am fairly new to caravanning and was a bit nervous about towing but this combination is faultless. The Merc has bags of power and torque and having the caravan in tow is hardly noticable.

The ride on country roads is a bit more bumpy but the self levelling suspension keeps the outfit nearly level with the nose of the caravan slightly downhill which is ideal.

I was quite surprised how much the fuel consumption suffered when towing, it drops to 24mpg and when solo it usually does 38-44mpg.

My only concerns are when it comes to driving the outfit off a wet field, the tyres are very wide and offer little grip on the slippery stuff. I also have a Discovery but the Merc is the better towcar purely because of the power and comfort.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz E - 300 D W124 and Caravan

Rainer B. reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz E - 300 D W124 (83 Kw/113 bhp year: october 1989 - june 1993) and a Caravan of (laden) 1275 kg.

The MB 300 D W124 is a nice towing car. Not very powerful, but easy and very stable to drive and very quiet on the road. The automatic leveling system of the rear suspension in the 300D touring is great for caravaning. The W124 300TDT Automatic with turbo would be still better...

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us