TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Jeep Cherokee User Reviews

Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

Chris reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Bailey Pageant Moselle of (laden) 1337 kg.

I have had many 4x4 cars for safe towing
Over the years had many green oval and always tend to be underpowered on big towing vans except Range Rover V8
This car was a bit weird when I bought it fuel was not much better than V8 so off it went for full service and Re-map now runs at 190bhp 420nm torque this car is now by far the best tow car I have ever had
If you want to put your foot down pulling away on dual carriageway you will be amazed the amount of cars you leave behind upto the 60mph speed limit
Totally effortless and fantastic drive the 5 speed auto is silky smooth
Definatley a car to consider if you have never owned
Parking is where it comes into its own reverse gear on tick over will point it anywhere you want to go and on sites I have manoeuvred many twin wheel huge vans for people
All in all 5* all the way with huge pulling power and now great fuel consumption

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Caravan

Mark fogarty reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Caravan of (laden) 3500 kg.

I love my jeep. Towing is NO PROBLEM. My van is only 1300 k laden the jeep in auto 2.8crd is a torque monster. Tends to tick over on 1750 rpm in 5th except on steeper gradients. Does about 23-25 mpg when towing. Just be sure it has had regular service should be no problem. Full of character machine and looks good as a bonus. It passes the always look back test in the carpark. I still do after 6 months and admire her every time. It's 2007 kj bought with 234,000 km on it has never let me down. Better than that charisma free oriental stuff. Pride of ownership is important

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD and Swift

Jan reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: september 2001 - december 2003) and a Swift Challenger 490 of (laden) 1250 kg.

Fantastic tow vehicle but only when the suspension is in good order. A weakness in the rear suspension design causes premature wear in the rubber bushings in the two lower trailing arms. This allows the rear axle to move in relation to the body, having an uncontrolled steering effect at the rear. This is exaggerated considerably when towing, as described by others. Heavy duty rear arms can be purchased for under 80 and fitted without too much trouble. If you're having problems then get them replaced and you'll be over the moon!

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD [2004] and Swift

Andrew McReynolds reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD [2004] (105 Kw/143 bhp year: december 2003 - january 2005) and a Swift Challenger 560 of (laden) 1493 kg.

This is where the Jeep Cherokee KJ (Liberty) really stands out from the crowd. It is a real workhorse and excels at caravan towing. The Cherokee has never failed to deliver in any environment when towing the van.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD and Sterling

Glenn reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: september 2001 - december 2003) and a Sterling Eccles SE Moonstone of (laden) 1474 kg.

Loved the Cherokee but towing it can become unstable. I could only do 50 mph safely. Tried everything to rectify it, Nose weights tyre pressures ect, but to no avail. In good weather could perhaps nudge it up to 55mp but was always wary it could start swaying at any moment. I think the problem lay in the soft suspension set up, the caravan would move which would start the car moving which would start the caravan moving more. The long reach of the tow bar didn't help either. Loved the truck but towing with an Vauxhall Antara now, difference? I can set the cruise at 60mph and leave it there. Never tried spring assisters, perhaps they would have made some difference, but don't hold your breath.

It wasn't just my Cherokee either, on speaking to others they also had the same problems. One even dashed across when I pulled up on site to ask if I was suffering problems with stability, It was his first trip with the Cherokee he thought there was something wrong with his car.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee III - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

Andy reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee III - 2.8 CRD aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: march 2008 - january 2011) and a Bailey Olympus 624 of (laden) 1593 kg.

2 yrs towing in all conditions and on many difficult to access 5 van sites. Excellent traction and stability in all weathers. Low range makes for good mobilty on wet sites reversing even uphill with ease. Temp guage never moves on long gradients unlike other 4wd towcars I've had. 22mpg motorway & mixed roads. 18mpg into strong headwind on motorway. Solo 27 - 33mpg. Some say this is US gals but brim to brim the mpg reading seems to be true to UK gals.
90% of the the ability of the leading brands at less than 50% of the price at 3yrs old. worth a look if you need to tow large van.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee - 4.0 aut. and Elddis

Richard reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee - 4.0 aut. (131 Kw/178 bhp year: march 1997 - november 2000) and a Elddis Crusader Hurricane of (laden) 1050 kg.

Effortless towing. Without any doubt the best tow car I've had. Also pulled our 3000kg (laden) Ifor Williams van trailer effortlessly. Only down side is 12 - 16 mpg. Safest tow car I've owned. Performs at its best at around 62mph on motorways. Stays locked in top gear better at that speed. No problem overtaking lorries. Aks1300 hitch fitted works well too. First time I've not used a Scott stabiliser.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

david steele reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1559 kg.

2005 jeep cherokee sport 2.8 auto pulling a bailey senator wyoming fully loaded. the jeep accelerates upto all speed limits with ease.a comfortable and easy car to tow with, my wife has driven this combination without any trouble. performes well on wet muddy fields or towing the boat off the beach.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD and Knaus

Daniel reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Knaus Sport 400 LK of (laden) 1150 kg.

The combination of the Knaus Sport and Cherokee is perfect, I have made many thousands of miles and I'm very happy. Jeep tows it perfectly, almost effortlessly ... and how I enjoy the off road!

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee III - 2.8 CRD aut. and Ace

Jackie reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee III - 2.8 CRD aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: march 2008 - january 2011) and a Ace Award Transtar of (laden) 1391 kg.

Towing our Ace Award Transtar with our 2008 Jeep Cherokee K. 2.8 Automatic CDR. is Great. You feel so comfortable with the caravan on the back, it is as if it was not towing any thing.
fuel consumption is also very good considering the size of the vehicle. Towing at an average of 50 MPH on main roads gives us an average of 25+ MPG and it increases on motorways when sticking to 60 MPH using the cruise control.

We towed our caravan with the Jeep in January through snow and ice no problem.

We had to drive up and down a very steep long hill in wales and it made no difference our jeep never struggled or any thing, it just went up effortlessly. Even carrying 4 adults +luggage.

I would recommend this Jeep for towing any time. Why spend out on more expensive well known top of the range 4x4's when this Jeep has all the same refinements and looks impressive. My Jeep really turns heads.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Abbey

Geraint Jones reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 215 of (laden) 1319 kg.

2005 Limited towing 2006 Abbey 215 GTS Vogue. The Jeep is a very competent tow car which is very stable in all conditions. It is very good off road, far better than most other 4X4s of similar size. Fuel economy is not fantastic (26 - 28 mpg solo 22 - 26 towing) but this is a heavy car with a massive 2.8 Ltr turbo diesel motor. This is a cool looking car with very good level of kit and so far has proved to be very reliable. I have yet to tow in snow/off road but I would expect this car to perform admirably in these conditions also.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD and Sterling

leigh reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: september 2001 - december 2003) and a Sterling Europa 620 TA of (laden) 1615 kg.

our jeep tows fantastic!! she's a 2.5 crd manual and the van 620 twin axel love towing this van with jeep average 28 mpg with bikes on roofrack.. on motorways drops to 22-26 mpg not bad for size of outfit

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD and Abbey

Nigel reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: september 2001 - december 2003) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 418 of (laden) 1427 kg.

The Jeep tows beautifully. No loss of power, and very stable. Sometimes you can forget you are towing. Doesn't seem to lose too much fuel economy either with the van attached. Good all round match.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee - 2.5 TD and Swift

Reg and Pat reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee - 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: january 1995 - september 2001) and a Swift Challenger 490 of (laden) 1550 kg.

The best ever old banger for towing and less that 1000 to buy road tax 215 with cheep insurance.
I hope it last for ever...

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee - 2.5 TD and Bailey

Liz Wakefield reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee - 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: january 1995 - september 2001) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 520/4 of (laden) 1321 kg.

I love the comfort of the cherokee and my husband has to keep reminding himself we are towing. For those of you familiar with Telegraph Hill near Devon all I can say is what hill. This car never struggles

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD and Bailey

John Vann reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Bailey Unicorn Barcelona of (laden) 1756 kg.

Can't really fault the Jeep as a towing vehicle, powerful and smooth on the road, picks up speed well when pulling off and just eats hills up (even very steep hills). absolutely no complaints fuel consumption great too for engine size

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

Stevie reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1735 kg.

My Jeep has been re-mapped to increase performance as the Wyoming has been up-plated. A real pleasure to drive towing as well as solo. My only complaint is that it is a little noisy at low speed. 28mpg solo and 23mpg towing with 2 bikes on the roof. Performes well, especially on wet rally fields.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee III - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

Andrew Lovatt reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee III - 2.8 CRD aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: march 2008 - january 2011) and a Bailey Unicorn Barcelona of (laden) 1756 kg.

Well I had a Terracan towing a Bailey Senator Indiana and I thought that was good! The Jeep is really amazing with the new Bailey Unicorn Barcelona, we have towed during the winter of 2010, all over christmas and new year and into january 2011 in all the snow and ice, we even had 10 inches of snow in scotland and it didnt bother the jeep one bit. Loads of power, great auto box, resoably economical, drags the big twin axle around like a rag doll, really compfortable with all the toys. Would recommend anytime.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee - 2.5 TD and Bailey

Colin Gallagher reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee - 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: january 1995 - september 2001) and a Bailey Senator California of (laden) 1459 kg.

The Jeep has been the best vehicle I have had for towing (and we have had quite a few). It tows effortlessly in all conditions and fuel economy is hardly effected. I get an average 32 mpg normally on combined moting and 30 while towing. Looked after a jeep will serve you well for many years.15277

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.4 [5MT] and Bailey

S Bakewell reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.4 [5MT] (108 Kw/147 bhp year: september 2001 - january 2005) and a Bailey Pageant Limousin of (laden) 1578 kg.

Having brought this jeep i have towed with it once and that is the last time i will tow with it as its up for sale, as it is crap spent most of time in third gear on slight inclines with my foot flat to the floor.Solo no problem but put some weight on it and its like hitting a brick wall.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

Andy reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Bailey Olympus 624 of (laden) 1593 kg.

2006 sport towing Bailey Olympus 624. plenty of power for acceleration and hill climbing. temp needle rises on long climbs but never overheated. plenty of traction on soft ground plus full time 4wd mode. terrific value secondhand compared to usual 4wd wagons. buy pre march 2006 for lowest road tax.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD and Elddis

Carole reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: september 2001 - december 2003) and a Elddis Odyssey 484 of (laden) 1465 kg.

Brilliantly paired outfit. Tows Odyssey Sunseeker like a dream. Very stable. Pulls away very well. Four wheel drive also made easy work of getting the van off water soaked mud slopes. LUVIT.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Compass

chris kearns reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Compass Rallye 635 of (laden) 1820 kg.

Bought the Jeep as previous car (Grand vitara XL7) was too light for heavy caravan. This is a joy to tow with. Take off from standing start (roundabouts etc) is effortless and it will cruise all day long at legal limit and cruise control is great. Fully loaded my caravan weighs in at 1900 kg but that's no problem I love it, the styling of my model (2006) makes it stand out from the usual Japanese/Korean makes and it has electric everything. Even heated leather seats!. So far no problems at all

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD and Elddis

John Bunning reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: september 2001 - december 2003) and a Elddis Avante 524 of (laden) 1420 kg.

Excellent towing. You may forget that there is a caravan on the back. Pulls away easily on steep hills and can keeps up with the traffic. Always in control of the van. Very stable. You are not a snail with a jeep.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee - 4.0 aut. and Lunar

Terry Coleman reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee - 4.0 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: january 1989 - march 1997) and a Lunar Solaris TA of (laden) 1525 kg.

The combination tows much better, more stable, than when I had an Elddis Hurricane . The performance level available is easily capable of keeping up with, and often better than "normal" traffic. You can`t beat a big, torquey engine for towing. The 4lt 6cyl Jeep motor is more like a diesel than a petrol, and it doesn`t use as much fuel as you might think, it`s almost the same as the 2.5 Jeep deisel !

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee III - 2.8 CRD and Sterling

Ken Walker reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee III - 2.8 CRD (130 Kw/177 bhp year: march 2008 - january 2011) and a Sterling Elite Emerald of (laden) 1590 kg.

Excellent.Tows like a dream.Never had aproblem even though the caravan is heavy for a single axle..Maybe a bit noisy but it pulls the van no problem.Not bad on fuel .Getting about 25mpg on a steady run.Just come back from Devon (up hill and down hill) and averaged about 23 mpg.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee - 2.5i and Lunar

Adam Wheeler reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee - 2.5i (87 Kw/118 bhp year: january 1993 - november 2000) and a Lunar Quasar 566 of (laden) 1345 kg.

A very good towing vehicle for this size of caravan. Much more torque than by old Range Rover 2.5 turbo Diesel. Pulls up hill very well , and crusies along the flat with no issues.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Adria

Ian Hastings reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Adria Adiva 543 UL of (laden) 1610 kg.

Towing our Adria Adiva 532UP across Spain with the Jeep fully loaded up (Full awning,2 Bikes, Washing machine, 4ft Satellite dish and all the goodies) is a doddle. Solo, the Jeep is a bit bouncy on rough tarmac but on the open road its very comfortable. Off Road this is a seriouse piece of kit and will go anywhere. We get about 28MPG on average over 3 years including lots of towing every winter in Spain. Reliability is 100%.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee - 2.5 TD and Avondale

HEATHER HILL reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee - 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: january 1995 - september 2001) and a Avondale Dart 630-6 of (laden) 1431 kg.

while towing with my on holiday for the time, i overheated while climbing a hill i left it in 5TH gear, WOULD THIS OF CAUSE THE PROBLEM. TO ALL JEEP TOWERS.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD and Elddis

J.Taylor reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Elddis Odyssey 525 of (laden) 1560 kg.

I have aJeep Cherokee ltd. 2.8 crd. I find most of the time it is fine but needs to drop down a gear on inclines. I am getting an overall average of 25.2 to the gallon, all in all it is satisfactory

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

Kevan Millar reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: december 2002 - january 2005) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of (laden) 1415 kg.

I found the Jeep Cherokee 2.8CRD sport auto and my Bailey Vendee an excellent combination with power to spare. Fuel economy not great 23-25 mpg, But the comfort and drive make this a top tow car. It looks good as well.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Ace

Dave reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Ace Jubilee Statesman of (laden) 1383 kg.

The Jeep never struggles to perform and is a joy to drive whilst towing .Sidewinds are hardly noticable and although our caravan is nowhere near its abilities we have towed other trailers including a car trailer complete with large car ...still very stable and with little effort .

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee - 2.5 TD and Lunar

Mike Hodgins reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee - 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: january 1995 - september 2001) and a Lunar Quasar 525 of (laden) 1350 kg.

I tow a Lunar 5.25 Freelander (Same Spec) the performance with the nearly 12 year old jeep cherokee 2.5 TD has been first class Please do not let your jeep be touched by anyone other than a jeep dealership. They are are a great friend when well looked after
I Have 120000 miles on the clock and still purrs in front of the lunar. (Caravaners from 1982)

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD and Bailey

NIGEL KENT reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Bailey Senator S5 Oklahoma of (laden) 1447 kg.

Excellent tow vehicle. Absolutely awsome towing up steep, winding hills. Mpg is 24/25 towing and 30/32 solo. The low box is very good when towing across less than perfect farm meadows. Very laid back vehicle solo.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD and Burstner

BOB MILLER reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: september 2001 - december 2003) and a Burstner Ventana 430 of (laden) 1200 kg.

NO PROBLEMS TOWING EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE LITTLE DIFFERENCE IN MPG ALL ROUND EXCELLENT PERFORMER

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD and TEC

ken platt reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a TEC Weltbummler 560 TF of (laden) 1390 kg.

I am very pleased with my Cherokee, the pulling power is awesome. Fuel consumption towing average out at 24mpg and solo at 32mpg. Acceleration is very brisk but noisy, although when cruising normal conversation is possible.Highly recommended as a towing vehicle, great fun off road,no problem on straight roads, need respect on bends like most 4x4s.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Avondale

Barry Hodgson reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: december 2002 - january 2005) and a Avondale Argente 550-4S of (laden) 1325 kg.

I have just changed my Abbey Spectrum 535 for an Avondale 550 (1400KG) because I feel the 1700kg of the Abbey made my Jeep Cherokee 2.8GRD Sport Auto feel slightly lightweight on motorways and medium hills. Not any longer the 300kgs makes all the difference.

More details >>>


Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

Graham Griffiths reviewed on a Jeep Cherokee II - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: january 2005 - march 2008) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1356 kg.

The Jeep has been used heavily for towing including a 3500 mile tour of Europe. Performance is excellent. Tows comfortably at 70 mph in France. Hillclimbing is very strong. One slight reservation is on long alpine climbs the temperature can climb if the speed is kept high, although never a real problem. There is a button on the auto gear stick which disengages the overdrive 5th gear and gives incredably strong acceleration, ven on hills. Always very stable and will tow anywhere, including unsurfaced 1 in 4 hills in the Ardeche. Fuel economy solo is 30 mpg and about 22 when towing maintaning 60 mph.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us