TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Hyundai Terracan User Reviews

Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bailey

John harwood reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: december 2001 - april 2004) and a Bailey Unicorn Seville of (laden) 1350 kg.

Owned from new Terracan 2.9' auto with 22ft Traveller van in Queensland Australia 3 yrs touring east and south coast of Australia, sold van and shipped Terracan to UK it's the must have vehicle for towing, now UK and Europe with Bailey Unicorn hitched up.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bailey

Nick Hillsdon reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

Fantastic tow car, extremely unhappy that unable to buy new

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bailey

j.anderton reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Bailey Senator Louisiana of (laden) 1643 kg.

I must admit I was not impressed with Hyundia, New gearbox when new, new dual mass flywheel and clutch at 51.000 miles new disc's at 61.000, which I had English disc's and decent pads put on, which are much better than the original, But saying that the Terracan tows better than I thought it would, economical 35 on a run towing van 24/26.They still make the Terracan but in China,

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bailey

j manchester reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: december 2001 - april 2004) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

towing a series 5 indiana 1500kg
It tows a dream! .......have we got a caravan behind us?!
53 plate 41,500 on the clock, no probs so far.. plenty of room for gear a strong workhorse but comfy!

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Caravan

Graham Wright reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Caravan of (laden) 1700 kg.

It is now 3 years since I last reported on my car.
We have now done 35000 miles & still impressed with the Terracan.
At the last MOT 1 month ago, the exhaust emissions read 0.002. not bad for a 2.9 Mercedes diesel.
MPG solo still 23 / 24 in town 35 on motorway
Around 25 towing at 60 / 65

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi aut. and Compass

maria lawton reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Compass Rallye 644 of (laden) 1839 kg.

we have a terracan now for 4years and tow a compass ralley 644 bought new 2007 ,we have no trouble towing if anything have to tell husband to slow up as he forgets we have the van on the back! ,been looking for another tow car to no avail nothing is matching the terracan ,shame they stopped making them on major problem is the central locking on the car play's up been told it's a fault on them ,would have another terracan tomorrow if they still made them

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bailey

Matt Chapman reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1559 kg.

This is a good match and my manual 2.9 CRDI makes the Wyoming a pleasure to tow. The rear suspension may be a little soft though meaning correct loading of the caravan is quite important avoid the rear van wheels skipping. Clutch can smell a bit on slow manouvering on grassy inclines. 4WD low range does help here.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bailey

Tony Ash reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: december 2001 - april 2004) and a Bailey Senator California of (laden) 1459 kg.

I have a 2003 Terracan & it has only done 25000 miles as I only use it for towing. I have a new 2009 California & the Terracan just pulls it so easily, when going uphill it just goes like a train up & down dale. I had a shogun before but the Terracan is by far the better 4x4! I am sad that hyundai do not make these 4x4's anymore, because if they had I would buy another one tomorrow & thats why i have kept this one for so long! excellent on fuel & power. regards, Tony

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Ace

Steve reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Ace Supreme Twinstar of (laden) 1732 kg.

Drove from Cumbria to Dover towing my van (430miles) on 1 tank and still had fuel when I reached France? Never had any probs with the car I just kept my speed around 60-65 mph just to keep a head of the lorries, the trip to the south of France was fantastic I did'nt feel tired at all due to the comfy seats it was like sitting on my couch at home. The only thing that I could complane about is that Hyundai have stopped making these fanstastic cars I will be keeping this car forever as long as I can get parts for it If you are reading this review and thinking of buying a new tow car please give this model a look and remember it will do every thing a Land Rover will do if not better.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Sprite

craig and clare reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Sprite Alpine 4 of (laden) 1199 kg.

frustrated with freelander td4 for two years first time out with terracan worlds apart masses of power loads of torq through the gears. Huge amount of space inside perfect love it cannot praise enough.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi aut. and Bailey

John Warrack reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

Pre Reg by Hyundai in Dec 2007, I purchased May 2008 with 17 miles on clock and immediately left for France, St Goar on Rhine, Arnhem and Groningen Holland and Belgium running in. Towing a Bailey Vermont was a dream after towing with a MB 220 CDI auto Tourer with which I had some very nasty moments on French autorotes, due to low profile tyres and alko stabiliser locking car and caravan into vice like grip , luckily kept it on the road after a frightening .75 mile before regaining control( no snaking)..Exchanged Vermont for S6 Indiana in Novmber 2007 and Terracan tows heavier van, at legal limit with very good reserve to keep up any incline on all motorways in Europe including Alps, very stable witn ALKO ATC traction. About 30mpg solo, towing about 21-22mpg, when averageing 57-59 mph on motorway journies circa 170 -220 miles.Always arrives within 10 minutes of Tom Tom arrival. Always increase tyre pressure by 2 psi for towing
Rarely use for Solo use Hence now at 4 years, only has 24000m on clock, Never put oil in always fully serviced to Hyundai Schedule, paid last week 468 for full 40,000- 4 year service-ouch! but has I year warranty remaining and goes in to Hyundai dealers on 25th for new differntial-nasty whine at certain sppeeds up to 60 when accelerator lifted . Thank goodness for 5 yr warr. Very good value for money, only ever been in 4X4 in snow this winter. Recent MOT & service reported tyres tread at Front 7mm and rear 6mm.- 50% worn. Powerful car-need to watch back end solo on wet roads in 2 wh drive

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Sterling

Alan Turner reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: december 2001 - april 2004) and a Sterling Elite Onyx of (laden) 1553 kg.

We have towed this outfit for two years now with a 60 day tour of south west england this year and Scotland last year it is a cracking match with the van up to weighing up to 1600kg. its towing abilitys are unsurpassed ( I have not tried a discovery or range rover
as I cannot afford them).Fuel consumption is not wonderful at an average of 22 to 26 mpg but that is at motorway speeds staying ahead of the HGV's but in this life you cannot have everthing. Does what is says on the "Tin"
Regards
Alant.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Elddis

Chris Simkins reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Elddis Crusader Storm of (laden) 1830 kg.

We have caravanned for 40 years, And in that time we have towed with all types of vehicles. Our terracan which we got new in 06 tows our supercyclone (1900kg) without a second thought it,s the best tow vehicle we have ever used, the Alps, pyrenees, long hauls to Portugal have never ever, ever presented a problem I love this vehicle and will run it for as long as I can.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bailey

andrew reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

Fantastic towcar. We have bought an 04 plate and its like a dream to tow with. Ideal family car - economical for its size and bags of power. Would recommend to anyone.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi aut. and Caravan

Roger Brearley reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Caravan of (laden) 1250 kg.

I tow a Elddis Avante 505 Tabago with a Hyundai Terracan 2.9 CRDI Automatic and I can honestley say that I dont know that Im towing it. MPG is around 25 to 28 when towing and anything upto 30 when solo. Im really impressed with this car and it certainly makes towing effortless and it feels extremely safe. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a large 4x4 that has comfort and great fuel consumption when towing and solo.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bailey

Mathew Fern reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Bailey Pageant Bretagne of (laden) 1458 kg.

The Terracan is a very capable tow car indeed. Masses of torque mean limited gear changes on inclines. Fuel consumption very good for a car of this size. Unbeatable value compared to a Shogun / Land Cruiser / Discovery. Spare wheel is located underneath car, so no problems hitching up. If you tow a large van I can highly recommend the Hyundai Terracan.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Fendt

brian clowes reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Fendt Platin 650 TFK of (laden) 1951 kg.

this is the bestest best tow car i could wish for, the fendt caravan is wide and with the bit of extra width of the terracan i can easily see down the sides. my 'van is heavy but the terracan pulls it great and also returns excellent fuel consumption figures. (the book says 32mpg but i only got 31.2mpg, sorry) and about 25mpg towing.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Geist

alan stewart reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Geist Xklusive 630 of (laden) 1720 kg.

the best tow car i have ever used and the best fuel returns for a3ltr engine and the best price if you add a chip tuner 60 quid from germany you can even improve on it power torque and m.p.g. the caravan fraternity will miss this car as it is no longer made anymore

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Abbey

philip davidson reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Abbey GTS 416 of (laden) 1535 kg.

This is my first year towing a caravan.Started with a mondeo but not the best.The terracan is great at towing.We have towed all over Ireland and met with every problem be it steep mountains or slippy fields.No problem with this jeep.Its sweet.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Burstner

Graham Wright reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Burstner Trecento 530 TS of (laden) 1715 kg.

In 21 years of towing, this has got to be the best yet.
The car will be 3 years old in Jan 09, but has only done 12500 miles.
Stop start in the city it returns between 23/25 mpg
On the m/way solo 36 mpg
Towing 23/26 mpg at 60 mph (depending on wind)
So when the engine is run in, I expect better fuel returns

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Sprite

rob davies reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Sprite Quattro FB of (laden) 1518 kg.

On the road a fabulous tow vehicle effortless , some trouble when reversing caravan onto its pitch the clutch soon starts to smell ? 23mpg towing upto 29 mpg solo not bad for a heavy vehicle .

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Compass

Dave Thorpe reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Compass Rallye 640 of (laden) 1830 kg.

towed down to Forest of Dean & Swansea from Barnsley with no problems, plenty of power in reserve, towed off a grass pitch up a slope in 4wd with no trouble, but you must remember 4WD CAN ONLY BE USED WHEN WHEELS ARE SLIPPING AS THERE IS NO CENTRE DIFF. - average 27mpg towing, superb outfit all round better than previous Santa Fe & that was good towing Compass Rallye 640

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bailey

colin reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

had an x trail before towing a series 6 Bailey Burgendy.
had problems with clutch burning smells.
changed to the Terracan and what a difference it makes.
better fuel returns than the x trail more reliable and a pleasure to drive when towing or not.
reccomend this vehicle to anyboby.
a first clas winnere for the money

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bailey

john hastings reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Bailey Pageant Moselle of (laden) 1337 kg.

just back from our annual jaunt into europe towing a bailey pageant moselle. this machine far surpasses any previous 4x4 I have used to tow. absolutely no effort, a joy to tow.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Ace

Tony Shaw reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Ace Jubilee Statesman of (laden) 1383 kg.

2nd Terracan, 3rd Caravan, what can I say, the best I've had. Not been anywhere were the car couldn't cope.Would highly recommend.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Burstner

andrew cloete reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: december 2001 - april 2004) and a Burstner S 630 TS of (laden) 1730 kg.

We bought a new 630T burstner caravan , and we collected it from Adelaide South Australia, we are in Western Australia we used $480 worth of fuel to Aderlaide and we used $600 coming back it's a pity we did not take actual milage but as we were going overseas in 10days we rushed through to collect our van, we were very sceptical about towing with our Terracan but does it tow well, like that fellow said you some times get a fright when you dont feel as if you are towing, this match is made for the two, all the best
Andy Cloete

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Bessacarr

Chervanna reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Bessacarr Cameo 645 of (laden) 1769 kg.

Beginners at towing, did the course but already i can already forget i have a caravan on the back, done some rallies and very happy with the terracans ability to get us off the mud, shame thev'e stopped making it.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Jurgens

Terry Prior reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Jurgens Penta of (laden) 1390 kg.

Terracan towing Jurgens Penta. Been caravanning for many years now and the Terracan is undoutably the best tow vehicle yet.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi aut. and Fleetwood

NB HEWITT reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Fleetwood Heritage 640-ES TA of (laden) 1630 kg.

I have been towing our Heritage with the Terracan for 2 years now. Both vehicles were new in 2005 and serviced regularly. The Terracan has proved to be the best tow car i have ever had. It tows the very large twin axle Heritage with no effort whatsoever. It will cruise all day at the legal speed limit and doesn't even slow down when going up long sloped stages of motorway.Being automatic is fantastic and pulling away on steep gradients is no bother. The other great thing about this set-up is the Terracan is very heavy and the caravan has little influence over it's driving characteristics.Being a diesel the car is very fuel efficient, averaging about 30 mpg on mixed driving without the caravan, and 25 mpg when towing. In the 27 months i have owned it the car has needed no repairs or parts, and the tyres have done 43000 miles and have a possible 12 months wear left in them. With it's 5 year warranty, low running cost, and reliability it really is a great car. Don't let it's slightly dated looks put you off.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Hobby

beejay reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Hobby Excellent 540 UL of (laden) 1546 kg.

Superb. Those above have said it all. Forty years caravanning. I am now on my second Terracan

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Elddis

John Trow reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Elddis Odyssey 482 of (laden) 1368 kg.

Terracan currently towing Elddis Odyssey 482 (1368 kg) - surpasses previous towcars of V8 RangeRover(Classic) and Saab 95 turbo. Excellent mpg solo or towing -plenty of power with solid stability when towing.Highly recommended

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Elddis

gail meade reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Elddis Crusader Super Storm of (laden) 1810 kg.

This by far the best tow car we have ever had and I thought our VAuxhall Frontera was excellent pulling our other van eldiss sirocco- over the Massif Central in France. This is a superb vehicle and we have managed to convince my brother-in-law to buy one. He tows an Eldiss Avante twin axle and is very very impressed- he is usally had to impress ! need we say more.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Knaus

malcolm barker reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Knaus Starclass 550 of (laden) 1767 kg.

the hyundai terracan 2.9 crdi pulls my knaus starclass 550 (1800kg) with ease it is far suprerior than previous cars i used (shogun),and still returns good mpg

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Swift

gerard choynowski reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Swift Charisma 570 of (laden) 1402 kg.

This is an absolutely fabulous combination. Totally ROCK solid on and off road. Consumption is around 33 mpg solo and 25 mpg towing this rig. Fantastic tow car for this price new-makes others look positively overpriced

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Adria

John T reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: december 2001 - april 2004) and a Adria Altea 461 of (laden) 1037 kg.

Towing with the Terracan is a breeze- the only problem is you are likely to forget the caravan is there! The car doesn't even blink and we've towed over mountains! Fuel consumption doesn't suffer too much either. Generally I get about 29 mpg when I'm not towing and about 27 mpg when I am. And thats maintaining a steady maximum motorway speed whenever I can.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.5 TCI and Hobby

Christian Chipolina reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.5 TCI (74 Kw/101 bhp year: july 2001 - december 2001) and a Hobby Excellent 540 UL of (laden) 1337 kg.

I have been towing my caravan through the south of spain where there are a number of good inclines and i have not had any problems with my car towing the caravan.. Even when overtaking the car goes very smoothly

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Lunar

Tom Findlay reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Lunar Lexon EW of (laden) 1620 kg.

The Terracan pulls the van with ease. Great tow car and great van.

More details >>>


Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi and Burstner

j bashford reviewed on a Hyundai Terracan - 2.9 CRDi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2007) and a Burstner Ventana 590 of (laden) 1520 kg.

in 34 years of towing this is the best matched outfit i have ever owned.it is 5*

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us