TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Ford C-Max User Reviews

Ford C-Max II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] and Bailey

Mr cooper reviewed on a Ford C-Max II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - april 2015) and a Bailey Pegasus GT65 Rimini of (laden) 1472 kg.

towed with my 2.0 auto diesel c max fantastic towing vehicle best I've had . Van very stable @ 50 to 60 and van behaves very well . Very impressed

More details >>>


Ford C-Max II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] and Sterling

Dave reviewed on a Ford C-Max II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - april 2015) and a Sterling Europa 470 of (laden) 1330 kg.

Ford C-Max 12 plate towing a 2007 model Sterling Europa 470. Have been towing this outfit for three years without any problems at all. Plenty of power and always feels stable. Rear tyre pressures are important to keep the outfit stable.

More details >>>


Ford Grand C-Max - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] and Sterling

mark robotham reviewed on a Ford Grand C-Max - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - april 2015) and a Sterling Eccles Sport 514 of (laden) 1330 kg.

car tows very well. very smooth with plenty of power. Outfit feels very stable. Child seats in rear removed which gives acres of space. I can't find any fault with this match and am very pleased with it. It far exceeds my expectations.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] and Swift

mr e walters reviewed on a Ford C-Max II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - april 2015) and a Swift Charisma 230 of (laden) 1280 kg.

no problems with this outfit.goes prety well on motorways.my mate has a similar caravan and his 115 bhp citroen berlingo 1.6 diesel leaves me standing at roundabouts or junctions.mine is automatic but i do drive it in manual when towing.would go back to citroen but even the 7 seater picasso is too light for my small van only reason i changed to ford.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max II - 1.6 TDCi and Elddis

Kit reviewed on a Ford C-Max II - 1.6 TDCi (84 Kw/114 bhp year: november 2010 - april 2015) and a Elddis Xplore 304 of (laden) 1066 kg.

Was unsure how tow car would perform with the caravan on the back but I am pleasantly surprised. Took it to the lakes from Northumberland and had no trouble at all on hills, motorways and with stability. Even got 35 mpg towing! Would decently reckomend this car for towing a small to medium van.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi and Bailey

Terry Powell reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi (85 Kw/116 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 460 of (laden) 1050 kg.

My car a 1.8 TDCI 2007 Titanium is more than adequate and pulls our 1998 Ranger 460/2 with no trouble

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi and Bailey

Colin Anstey reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/136 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1362 kg.

My C max and Bailey Champagne seem to be the perfect match I have now been towing this combination for two years and have not had any problems in my very varied journeys (Derbyshire to Cornwall ) Motorways , Cornish lanes and hills are absoloutly no problems. returning appprox 30 M.P.G.Overtaking @ 50 M.P.H.(on dual carriageways and motorways )is a doddle.and would not hesitate in recommending C max 2.0 Litre for towing

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v and Adria

Antonio Italia reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v (107 Kw/146 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Adria Altea Tay of (laden) 1153 kg.

Confermo totalmente la vostra valutazione. Il treno risponde bene sia in stabilità, (non ho lo stabilizzatore sulla roulotte) che in assetto. La vettura risponde bene anche in 5° marcia. In montagna con un minimo di attenzione viaggia tranquilla anche su tornanti al 10/12%.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi and Lunar

Chris Shelley reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi (85 Kw/116 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Lunar Stellar of (laden) 1225 kg.

I have a 2008 1.8Durotorq TDCI C Max towing a Lunar Stellar 1200kg loaded. The car overheats on hills and the clutch stinks if you have to slip it or when reversing the van. My previous 1.8 Focus seized up towing and Fords had to put a new engine in.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi and Lunar

Paul Chatten reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi (85 Kw/116 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Lunar Ariva of (laden) 980 kg.

I tow a Lunar Ariva GTS with a 1.8 Ford C max TDCI (114bhp). It is a perfect match and performs really well. We recently returned from a winter rally in Spain completing over 2500 miles at 36mpg

More details >>>


Ford Grand C-Max - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] and Avondale

kevin ryder reviewed on a Ford Grand C-Max - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2010 - april 2015) and a Avondale Argente 555-4S of (laden) 1400 kg.

tows very good,up hill and down,i live in north yorkshire,it as just replaced a volvo v70 2.4d geartronic,
much quicker of the mark and just as stable,maybe slightly more so,i think the better aerodynamics and shorter rear overhang must help,very happy with my new choice,also surprisingly quieter and smoother than volvo and much more agile when solo.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 1.6 16v TDCi and Avondale

Slarti1972 reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 1.6 16v TDCi (80 Kw/109 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Avondale Dart 510-5 of (laden) 1180 kg.

Rather impressed with the performance while towing with this car. Was initially a little concerned regarding the small engine for towing however now I have collected the van and brought it home I have to admit it tows very well. I was able to maintain the speed limit even uphill in 5th gear. A very good car to tow with... The van isn't bad either

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 1.8 16v and Eriba

Ian reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 1.8 16v (92 Kw/125 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Eriba Touring Troll 550 GT of (laden) 1140 kg.

Found the C-max copes well pulling the Eriba Troll when cruising on motorways, average around 27-28 MPG.

Slightly concerned with its ability on hills. When I encountered a particularly steep hill I was forced through the gears all the way down to first. Having said that it probably means that the car is well in need of a good service.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi and Bailey

Ronty reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/136 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Senator Vermont of (laden) 1383 kg.

I've towed with ford mondeo. and thought that was good.But the C Max is just as good.Very pleased with mine after 16 month's .

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi and Ace

Paul reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/136 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Ace Jubilee Envoy of (laden) 1310 kg.

I've towed my full loaded Jubilee Envoy to Spain with the CMax for the last three summers. It tows exceptionally well and returns around 30 mpg on a mixture of roads and I tend to keep off the tolls. 6th gear has only limited use when towing but it will sit all day at 60mph in 5th with only the steeper hills needing a change to 4th. The clutch is not easy to prevent from slipping (and smelling) when siting the van on awkward slopes but mine has survived nearly 70k miles with no problems.
Solo, the Ford is a nippy little runaround so makes a good all round choice. Its been reliable enough but build quality is not up to other makes though.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 1.6 16v and Bailey

Christoff reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 1.6 16v (74 Kw/101 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of (laden) 1167 kg.

My C-Max 1.6 and Baily Ranger 470/4 have now been on some great runs over the past 18 months. We towed the van from Hoddlesden, Lancs to Swanage last summer ( with 2 young children and all the bits that go with a family on a two week holiday).We were a little bit cramped in the car. I also had to hold my breath going up the bigger hills but I found if we all rocked backwards and forwards in our seats we eventually got to the top (a bit like a child on a swing trying to build up some momentum!!) Sereously, this has been our first caravan and we knew the C-Max would just about do the job and therefore I have no complaints about the cars' capabilities. We are due to swop the car this year and I am contemplaiting a Mondeo 2.0 TDI estate which should eat our Baily Ranger.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi and Bailey

Patrick Elliott Cousins reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi (85 Kw/116 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Champagne of (laden) 1407 kg.

I have 1 2006,1.8durotorq HD TDCI,Ford Focus 'C' max, pulls the carvan like a dream. For a small car it is heavy performance is good

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi and Hobby

J Carlow reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/136 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Hobby Excellent Easy 495 UK of (laden) 1329 kg.

C Max is a great tow car. At 87% it's a tad over the ideal with the Hobby, but driven at legal and sensible speeds you couldn't wish for better. Very powerful engine.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi and Fleetwood

Tony reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/136 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Fleetwood Meridien 520-EB of (laden) 1350 kg.

We have been towing a Fleetwood 520 EB for six months with a Ford C-Max 2.0 Tdci. It has been a very comfortable towing experience, cruises at 1800 revs with cruise control on in 6th gear (on the flat). I am very happy with the combination.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v aut. and Elddis

trevor jones reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v aut. (107 Kw/146 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Elddis Odyssey 524 of (laden) 1525 kg.

no trouble at all towing with car goes like a dream gets 26 miles to a gallon of petrol which is very good for automatic

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 1.8 16v and Abbey

Adam Donald reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 1.8 16v (92 Kw/125 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Abbey Vogue 470 of (laden) 1290 kg.

The Cmax tows exceptionally well, my previous towcars have all been diesel, whilst lacking the lugging power of the diesel i am very impressed. Drop into 4th gear and effortly cruise at 50/55 mph on a quite steep incline. Very stable at motorway speed even with a fairly strong crosswind. Against-- easily stalled when starting off on an incline, Overall for petrol very good, towing MPG. 28.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi and Caravan

rob calderbank reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 1.8 8v TDCi (85 Kw/116 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Caravan of (laden) 850 kg.

Great car,good balance, great economy, I get 38mpg towing through Wales. One word of caution, switch off the traction control when you are towing. If you are required to stop on a good gradient, ie 16% you are in deep do do. the clutch is a bit lightweight anyway so a bit of slipping to get going really gets it stinking, but the worst thing is that if you spin either front wheel the traction control cuts in and cuts the power, which is fine if you are solo, but on a hill with a ton behind me I dont care if its wheels are spinning as long as we get going again. and cutting the torque to the drive isnt going to get you to the top of the hill.

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi and Bailey

dave reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/136 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1405 kg.

We've been towing a Bailey Ranger (1200kg MTPLM) fully loaded (over 3000miles) and have just upgraded to a Pageant Provence (1420kg MTPLM) which is loaded pretty close to it's max. The C-max 2.0tdci heaves it along as though it's not there. Steady and manouverable, plenty of acceleration and cruises well at 60mph in sixth gear at about 1700rpm (cruise control on). If we keep the speed to about 55 when towing then the fuel consumption is a very reasonable 28-30mpg. Solo we get 40mpg around the country lanes and about 50 on a motorway run.
And as Robin says it'll tow quite happily on tickover 5mph in first and 10mph in second

More details >>>


Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi and Adria

Robin reviewed on a Ford C-Max - 2.0 16v TDCi (100 Kw/136 bhp year: may 2007 - november 2010) and a Adria Adora Plus 532 UP of (laden) 1425 kg.

Combination works really well under normal conditions. Steady as a rock (Al-Ko tow ball stabiliser) at all sensible speeds. Bags of spare power for acceleration and will tow up a gentle slope at a tickover (got stuck in aftermath of an accident east of Oxford on M40....) Only downside is clutch is a bit lightweight so you have to be very careful especially manoeuvring on soggy grass! So far (4 months practise) very happy!

More details >>>


© 2004-2016 Mobile website About us