TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All BMW X5 User Reviews

BMW X5 - 30xd aut. and Swift

Andy reviewed on a BMW X5 - 30xd aut. (190 Kw/258 bhp year: september 2013 - up to now) and a Swift Challenger SE 645 of (laden) 1745 kg.

Car is X5 sd M sport remapped to 348bhp, caravan is Swift Ace Pioneer 6 berth. The X5 is by far the best tow vehicle I have ever had. We have the 7 seat model and have towed all over France with family of four and grandparents. The stability of the X5 is outstanding, the increased torque makes towing an absolute breeze. I would highly recommend, MPG low 20's when towing.

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 3.0d aut. and Bailey

ted reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 3.0d aut. (173 Kw/235 bhp year: january 2007 - march 2010) and a Bailey Orion 530-6 of (laden) 1380 kg.

Where to start, with self levelling suspension, from the out side, looking at vehicle did not even look as though was towing at all. On driving, could not even tell there was a caravan on the back, on flat motorways acceleration not really affected. mpg not really affected,when driving high speed, sometimes would forget vehicle was towing, was a dream to drive with. no snaking issues felt, at any speed.
a totally brilliant vehicle to tow with.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0i aut. and Lunar

Ken Hart reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0i aut. (170 Kw/231 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Lunar Delta 640-EW TA of (laden) 1640 kg.

Purchased this set up after my Isuzu broke down with gear box trouble
Vehicle is now a BMW X5 E53 Sport 2005, what a great car, it has a lot of use full accessories to help with driving etc.
Caravan is a Lunar 640 EW 2005 van. This unit is twin wheeled The two together are a great unit to pull
I travel around Wales, Somerset, Dorset, Devon Cornwall and at all times it pulls perfectly.
I am getting around 26 mpg which is great as my old Isuzu was only returning 18 to 22 mpg
I now have a very comfortable set up and recommend to all

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 3.0sd aut. [5-seats] and Lunar

Keith Lewis reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 3.0sd aut. [5-seats] (210 Kw/286 bhp year: september 2007 - march 2010) and a Lunar Delta RS of (laden) 1695 kg.

Just returned from from France towing my 2014 Lunar Delta RS and I am pleased to say the BMW X5 sd is the best towcar I have ever owned. With the power and torque of the engine, auto height control the outfit was completely stable when overtaking HGV's and I averaged 25 mpg on the French A roads! Excellent.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 4.4i aut. and Knaus

Richard Smith reviewed on a BMW X5 - 4.4i aut. (235 Kw/320 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Knaus Starclass 560 of (laden) 1775 kg.

My 4.4i V8 (E53) X5 Sport package- manages to pull the Knaus with ease. Autobox at times stay's in 5th gear before dropping down to 6th with a significant decrease in rev's. MPG on average whilst towing is 18mpg. My X5 has been LPG converted with zero difference in performance compared to Petrol function.
Acceleration is amazing with or without the caravan and must remember its there at times. X5 is such a wide vehicle that the original wing mirrors without the extenders are great. Highly recommend the x5 with the 19'' tyres.

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 3.0d aut. [7-seats] and Adria

tim dryden reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 3.0d aut. [7-seats] (173 Kw/235 bhp year: january 2007 - march 2010) and a Adria Adora Thames of (laden) 1800 kg.

Thanks to previous reviews I chose the BMW X5 3.0d to pull an Adria Thames. Combo is superb! Was a little concerned with the Adria choice due to the single axle set up & over 8ft wide....How wrong was I to be.....the unit is a perfect match with no deviation even when trapped between HGV' s. The motor pulls like a train while still returning a very respectable 25+ mpg....would recommend the combo to anyone

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. and Hobby

Trevor reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Hobby Premium 650 UFf of (laden) 1961 kg.

I have found my X5 very good with the Hobby 650 Uff and need to take care not to over speed as this increases fuel consumption we have just changed caravans next is a jeep upgrade to a younger X5

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. and Compass

ian reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Compass Omega 534 of (laden) 1560 kg.

my m-sport X5 is the perfect towcar. effortless and stable,this car always stays in control.mpg when towing 26-28. previously towed a heavier twin axle with ease.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 4.6 is aut. and Lunar

Andy reviewed on a BMW X5 - 4.6 is aut. (255 Kw/347 bhp year: april 2002 - october 2003) and a Lunar Lexon SB of (laden) 1410 kg.

Towing a 1200Kg lunar lexon with X5 4.6is. During a 100mile trip on dual and country roads the rig handled well and posed no problems moving from a hill start. Computer was reading 17mpg after returning home which is the same as the urban cycle despite the added weight.The car on it's own on the same journey it was showing 28mpg with a light foot.

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 30d aut. and Bessacarr

Lesley Smith reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 30d aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: march 2010 - 2013) and a Bessacarr Cameo 645 of (laden) 2100 kg.

We have a Bessacar 645 and have found the car performance ok. We up graded the ventilator system on the advice of the BMW garage but on towing to Germany had problems on a short 23 mile journey in heavy traffic. The warning light came on to say engine over heated please stop. This resulted in BMW in Holland having to do a temporary bi-pass which enabled us to continue our holiday. The car is still under warranty, however the BMW garage in UK feel the caravan is to heavy for the car!!!

We have been told that a fuse has gone in the main ventilation system box and they are to send for a part.

We are trying to decide whether or not this is the car for us despite having had previous X5. At the moment a little disappointed and have lost confidence.

Hopefully we may be persuaded otherwise...we wait to see.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 4.8is aut. and Coachman

Richard B reviewed on a BMW X5 - 4.8is aut. (265 Kw/360 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2007) and a Coachman Pastiche 560/4 of (laden) 1630 kg.

Just back from a trip to the French Alps. The X5 is a very satbel towcar with a good amount of pulling power. We did 2600 miles of which 2100 were towing and the car did an average of 19MPG. We drove mostly none tool roads and went up a lot of the big hills even towing.

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 30d aut. and Geist

Gary Satterthwaite reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 30d aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: march 2010 - 2013) and a Geist Xklusive XK555 of (laden) 1483 kg.

What a fabulous effortless tow car. Tows like there is nothing on the back, the new 8 speed auto provides instant power on any road. Set the cruise control to 60MPH and it stays there downhill and up dale in top gear, even on the longest motorway inclines. With the 18" wheels the ride is smooth and compliant at all times. I averaged 25.9 MPG on a 600 round trip from Cumbria to Somerset, no complaints with that at all. This has to be one of the most perfect tow cars there is on the road today.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. and Bailey

steve bennett reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. (135 Kw/184 bhp year: september 2001 - october 2003) and a Bailey Olympus 624 of (laden) 1593 kg.

This outfit is perfect. Have put tuning box on X5 to increase torque get about 22-24 towing with amazing performance. Luxury motoring done safely. recommended.

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 30d aut. and Swift

David Lower reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 30d aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: march 2010 - 2013) and a Swift Challenger 620 of (laden) 1774 kg.

I have found the X5 3.0d to be a great tow car. The Swift is a large twin axle caravan but you always feel the car is in control and has plenty of power to make towing as effortless as possible. The ride is firm but comfortable, long trips are a pleasure and I would definitely recommend this vehicle.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. and Abbey

Mick reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Abbey Spectrum 520 of (laden) 1651 kg.

Towing with the 2004 X5 3.0d Sport is effortless with an average of 22-24MPG uk rising to 26MPG in France and Spain its simply superb. I leave in cruise control when i can at 55-60 but have also overtaken at higher speed and the outfit is stable as a rock.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. and Elddis

ian reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Elddis Crusader Storm of (laden) 1600 kg.

Like most x5 owners,sometimes forget the caravan is on the back.Effortless and stable.I previously towed with a 2004 Disco 2 and never thought it could be bettered.The BMW is better.MPG when towing about 24.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 4.4i aut. and Hobby

sandy morrison reviewed on a BMW X5 - 4.4i aut. (235 Kw/320 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Hobby De Luxe 650 KMFe of (laden) 1601 kg.

Just towed a Hobby 650 with an X5 4.4 petrol 2005, pretty easy tow by all accounts, the narrow roads in the highlands were the most worry with the wide caravan. 150miles and half a tank of gas, but did it with ease.

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 30d aut. and Jurgens

Markham Smith reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 30d aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: march 2010 - 2013) and a Jurgens Exclusive of (laden) 1530 kg.

This is an absolutely awesome combination. All aspects of towing are as close to perfect as possible and as such can find oneself cruising at speeds one should not generally entertain with a close to 4 ton rig. I could not be happier!

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 30d aut. and Caravan

Dean Illingworth reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 30d aut. (180 Kw/245 bhp year: march 2010 - 2013) and a Caravan of (laden) 250 kg.

The X5 30d tows my Coachman 655 Twin Axle like a dream. You almost forget that it is on the back.
Considering changing to an Audi Q7 and I really hope that this is as good.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. and Elddis

Alan reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. (135 Kw/184 bhp year: september 2001 - october 2003) and a Elddis Crusader Aurora of (laden) 1572 kg.

This outfit is a perfect match t-esp works fantastic fuel consumption aprox 28mpg uphill is no struggle and 4x4 is a gondsend on slippy sites

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. and Geist

Bill reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Geist Aktiv 565 of (laden) 1440 kg.

We have towed our Geist Active 564 with the X5 3.0d Sport for 2 years. France Spain and UK.
The car is fantastic a towing and sometimes you forget it is behind you. Self levelling suspension and great power keeps the caravan straight even when overtaking.
Fantastic and so is the Geist

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 3.0d aut. [7-seats] and Sterling

s makin reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 3.0d aut. [7-seats] (173 Kw/235 bhp year: january 2007 - march 2010) and a Sterling Elite Explorer of (laden) 1824 kg.

Stability superb .
Power .Best i have towed with without compromise.
25 mpg long distance towing.
Forget 20in wheelson your x5.
Put 18in wheels on with all weather tyres and you can virtually take a large caravan anywhere a land criser or land rover will go with better economy and much better reliability. Initial cost expensive so keep x5 10yrs and you will be more than happy with total expenditure of your bm incomparison with other tow cars.

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 3.0d aut. [7-seats] and Sterling

s makin reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 3.0d aut. [7-seats] (173 Kw/235 bhp year: january 2007 - march 2010) and a Sterling Elite Explorer of (laden) 1732 kg.

superb towing with no deviation even with passing coaches. 24mpg towing all over UK and to med in spain. Can highly recommend both x5 o.0d se and sterling explorer. Recommend 18in. wheels and all weather run flats on x5 due to any relacement tyres only £180 as against £300 to £420 on 20 in wheels and you are better prepared for winter and any mud.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0d and Lunar

Michael Lack reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0d (160 Kw/218 bhp year: october 2003 - october 2005) and a Lunar Delta TI of (laden) 1620 kg.

Absolutely brilliant, 22mpg when towing doesn't struggle at all. I don't know itís on the back

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 4.4i aut. and Abbey

Darren reviewed on a BMW X5 - 4.4i aut. (235 Kw/320 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Abbey Spectrum 620 of (laden) 1657 kg.

I've recently had our x5 fitted with the detachable tow bar and been away a few times now a brilliant car to tow with, as stated by many others you have to remember the caravan is still there as for fuel economy will it made little difference to the 19 mpg i get anyway around town. A very smooth ride kids loved the dvds and play station

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. and Sterling

ALAN BERRIMAN reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Sterling Elite Explorer of (laden) 1732 kg.

This is an excellent outfit comparison site.
I have had my X5 3.0d Sport super chipped, it now produces approx 265bhp and nearly 600NM of torque - well worth the money (£500)!
My van is a 2009 and fitted with the latest shock absorbers and ATC.
I must say the X5 hauls nearly 1,900kg of caravan with ease and grace. It's very very stable at high speed to a point you forget it's on the back as the speedo creeps well above the allowed speed limit without realising -oops!
I think the van shockers have made a real big difference too, compared to my previous van 2006 Elddis Crusader it feels much more stable.
Thanks and regards.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. and Knaus

Luis Oliveira reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0d aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Knaus Sudwind 400 FD of (laden) 1200 kg.

first of all, congratulations on your valuable site. Very helpful.
My personal experience of driving this outfit (BMW X5 3.0d + Knaus Sudwind 400FD) is that most of the times I have to keep control not to go over 120/139 Kph.
Never had a problem of caravan trying to get out of control.
Car is fitted with dettachable factory mounted towball and I was told that when this is ordered the car comes with a built-in program to automatically compensate for odd behaviours from the caravan. However I never felt that such a system kicked in.
Regards

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 3.0i aut. and Swift

wayne hughes reviewed on a BMW X5 - 3.0i aut. (170 Kw/231 bhp year: october 2003 - january 2007) and a Swift Conqueror 580 of (laden) 1527 kg.

the x5 tows the van as if its not even there, powers up hills and easily accelerates to overtake if needed but beware expect an average mpg of around 12-14 miles but other than that brilliant .

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 3.0sd aut. [5-seats] and Swift

frank reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 3.0sd aut. [5-seats] (210 Kw/286 bhp year: september 2007 - march 2010) and a Swift Challenger 560 of (laden) 1493 kg.

the X5 drives more like a top saloon than a 4x4, ride is first class, power is awesome ( it's as fast as my 323i convertible ) towing is a doddle, you'd be pushed to find better.

More details >>>


BMW X5 II - 3.0d aut. [7-seats] and Sterling

Ray Roberts reviewed on a BMW X5 II - 3.0d aut. [7-seats] (173 Kw/235 bhp year: january 2007 - march 2010) and a Sterling Elite Explorer of (laden) 1732 kg.

An excellent Tow Vehicle, with exceptional levels of comfort which makes long journeys a pleasure. With 235 through bread German Horses under the bonnet it makes towing even an 1800 kg Caravan seem quite effortless. Whilst like say a Land Rover, itís not a renowned for itís off road ability, contrary to popular belief it does cope with damp grass so it will survive most Caravan Parks.

More details >>>


BMW X5 - 4.6 is aut. and Lunar

Tanya Cloutt reviewed on a BMW X5 - 4.6 is aut. (255 Kw/347 bhp year: april 2002 - october 2003) and a Lunar Clubman 530-4 of (laden) 1350 kg.

What can I say? PERFECT. Stable & Efortless tow. However this X5 is very costly to run unfortunatley!!!!

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us