TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All BMW 3-serie User Reviews

BMW Compact - 320 td 2.0 and Buccaneer

Ian Arnell reviewed on a BMW Compact - 320 td 2.0 (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2003 - march 2005) and a Buccaneer Elan 15 of (laden) 1418 kg.

Was previously concerned even though all manufacturer figures stacked up for this combination. However I cannot praise my baby beemer highly enough, across the M62 and A55 it just kept on pulling like a train, even accelerating up hills, set cruise control and let it do the rest. Brilliant car.

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 320d and Abbey

Richard Ellis reviewed on a BMW Touring - 320d (135 Kw/184 bhp year: september 2012 - up to now) and a Abbey Vogue 470 of (laden) 1310 kg.

After swapping my Audi A4 3L TDi Quattro Advant for a BMW 320d M Sport Touring I was concerned about the loss of power and a lower weight tow car from the Audi to BMW.

How wrong could I have been! After towing to North Cornwall and the Lake District from Hampshire this car still astounds me.

On motorways and A road dual carriageways 60mph comes up with ease and is comfortable in 6th gear. The Blackdown Hills on the Somerset / Devon border where tackled with ease and Shap Fell on the M6 was tackled at 60mph and in 6th gear with ease. When overtaking HGV\'s care has to be taken to remain within the legal speed limit.

The outfit is very stable in crosswinds and there is little fuss under breaking.

There is no loss of grip on wet roads either.

I generally tow in Sports mode to allowing me to have all 184bhp under my right foot. Saying that the car still returns 300 miles plus from 57 litre tank.

More details >>>


BMW - 320d and Sprite

kieran josey reviewed on a BMW - 320d (130 Kw/177 bhp year: september 2007 - march 2012) and a Sprite Musketeer of (laden) 1075 kg.

I find towing my sprite musketeer a breeze. I am an in experienced tower but have had no issues yet with either caravan or car. on most A & B roads I agree with above post I find it more economical to tow in 4th, the mpg is much better than slugging along in 5th or 6th. same with motorways I stay in 5th. I average between 30-40 mpg roughly this way.

More details >>>


BMW 320d and Bailey

Eddie Young reviewed on a BMW 320d (135 Kw/184 bhp year: february 2012 - up to now) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of (laden) 1167 kg.

This summer took the BMW 320D M-Sport & Ranger 470/4 on a tour of Spain & Portugal covering 4000km. Performance including economy was great but a warning - had a rear tire failure on the BMW which as the tyres are run-flats and uncommon size we had no spare and needed to wait 3 days for the local BMW dealer to obtain replacement - lesson - always carry a spare even if you have run-flats. Fitted a rear view camera to the c'van with a monitor on top of the dash which was always on and this gave a great view of traffic behind the unit which made driving in Europe very easy.

More details >>>


BMW 320d and Eriba

Dave Atkinson reviewed on a BMW 320d (135 Kw/184 bhp year: february 2012 - up to now) and a Eriba Exciting 560 of (laden) 1600 kg.

I have used this combination (BMW320D) for two and a half years. We have travelled to south east Scotland, Wales, Cornwall and Brighton. The car pulls the caravan easily and has plenty of acceleration on any road. I often tow in sixth gear. The unit is always stable and hardly effected by bow waves. The towing has had an effect on the mpg it drops by at least a third. I also had to replace the rear tyres at 22000 miles. Traction with the bikes and caravan attached is excellent in a wet sloping field in fact much better than the front wheel drive cars I have towed with. However once the caravan is detached traction especially in reverse is poor. The car is very quick and fuel efficient solo. On a long run during the day it is difficult to get the mpg below 60 if you keep to the speed limits. If you buy a BMW it is advisable to get one with the five year service pack. The caravan is good but the car is outstanding.

More details >>>


BMW - 320d and Elddis

Darren reviewed on a BMW - 320d (120 Kw/163 bhp year: march 2005 - september 2007) and a Elddis Odyssey 544 of (laden) 1560 kg.

didnt realise this van was as heavy as it is but towing it is quite easy lots of power and being sensable and it's quite safe and does'nt snake.

More details >>>


BMW 320d and Bailey

eddie reviewed on a BMW 320d (135 Kw/184 bhp year: february 2012 - up to now) and a Bailey Ranger 470 of (laden) 1172 kg.

first time I pulled the Bailey 470/4 with the BMW 320D today. The drive included city, rural (including steep grades in north Peak District) and motorway. The unit behaved perfectly and at no time was I unable to maintain the legal speed limit. Fuel consumption appears very good. Highly recommended combination.

More details >>>


BMW Coupe - 335d aut. and Bailey

Darren reviewed on a BMW Coupe - 335d aut. (210 Kw/286 bhp year: september 2007 - october 2013) and a Bailey Unicorn Valencia of (laden) 1497 kg.

No lack of power at all. Was a bit concerned to use the car instead of my sprinter van. No regrets at all feels smoother than my van. And I got 26mpg great!!!

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 320d and Adria

Paul Chapman reviewed on a BMW Touring - 320d (130 Kw/177 bhp year: september 2007 - september 2012) and a Adria Altea 542 DK of (laden) 1270 kg.

I've been towing the Adria 542DT with my 2008 320D Touring for the past 3 years. Towing performance has been always been great including each annual trip to Spain through France and the Pyrenees.

More details >>>


BMW - 320d [5MT] and Bailey

J.Hooper reviewed on a BMW - 320d [5MT] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2001 - march 2003) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 460/4 of (laden) 1252 kg.

This is my second Ranger GT460/4 and found both very good being towed by my BMW 320d es 150bhp 6 speed
no lack of power anywhere.

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 320d aut. and Abbey

Paul reviewed on a BMW Touring - 320d aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: september 2007 - september 2012) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 217 of (laden) 1300 kg.

We chose the caravan to match the car and it has been a good choice. The car tows really well and with auto box the whole towing experience is much more pleasurable than previous manual cars. We have not loaded the van too highly and tend to keep the awning and step frame in the boot of the car. Really pleased we used this site the do checks before purchase.

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 320d aut. and Lunar

Ray Large reviewed on a BMW Touring - 320d aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2005 - september 2007) and a Lunar Lexon 560 of (laden) 1430 kg.

the series 3 tourer auto does an excellent job of towing the lunar 560. I have found that while towing on the motorway its better to use manual mode to keeps the engine revs down.

More details >>>


BMW - 320d [5MT] and Elddis

brent reviewed on a BMW - 320d [5MT] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2001 - march 2003) and a Elddis Odyssey 524 of (laden) 1499 kg.

Just changed my caravan and was slightly apprehensive at first, big van for the BMW, but cruises along very nicely, travelled to Cirencester from Caerphilly along the M4 and country roads, effortlessly.

More details >>>


BMW - 335d aut. and Sprite

peter reviewed on a BMW - 335d aut. (210 Kw/286 bhp year: september 2006 - march 2012) and a Sprite Alpine 2 of (laden) 1173 kg.

Its early days to give a true picture as we have only towed the Sprite a couple of times since lollecting the van from the dealer.The first thing one is aware of is the bulk of this van in ones mirrors compared with our previous Ereba Trole pop top van.This is because the BMW 3 series tourer sits so much lower than a VW Tiguan As a towing 4x4 the Tiguan was exemplory.Its still very new and strange and will have a better idea in the spring hopefully

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 320i aut. and Abbey

Peter reviewed on a BMW Touring - 320i aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: september 2001 - september 2005) and a Abbey GTS 215 of (laden) 1360 kg.

My BMW touring is actually a 1996 model 320 straight 6 engine. With 150 BHP as standard and updated sports suspension as standard being the touring model this car happily pulls my caravan along no problem,in fact at times I have to check my rear view mirror to ensure the van is still attached to the car. Truly a pleasure to tow. Really IS the ULTIMATE (TOWING) machine.

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 318d and Compass

a bennett reviewed on a BMW Touring - 318d (105 Kw/143 bhp year: september 2007 - september 2012) and a Compass Corona 544 of (laden) 1470 kg.

BMW brilliant for towing and everyday use,great electric towbar that folds underneath car at the touch of a button.

More details >>>


BMW - 320d and Coachman

mr rob hannant reviewed on a BMW - 320d (100 Kw/136 bhp year: april 1998 - september 2001) and a Coachman VIP 520/4 of (laden) 1590 kg.

first time last weekend pulled my caravan which i just purchased back home from kent to norfolk.the chap i bought it off used the anti snake bar for a hammer hence it didnt fit the the slot.any way came home no problems with any sway[60/70 mph].fuel went from 50mpg down to 32mpg, changed 5th gear to 4th up long drags .overall well pleased my beema .never ceases to amaze me love it.

More details >>>


BMW - 320d aut. and Bailey

Wayne reviewed on a BMW - 320d aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: september 2007 - march 2012) and a Bailey Pegasus 546 of (laden) 1461 kg.

This combination worked well except I think that the 3 series isnt wide enough, however saying that the engine and autobox made easy work of the caravan. I am changing to a new 525 auto, will post about that when ive had first outing

More details >>>


BMW - 320d and Swift

chris Richmond reviewed on a BMW - 320d (130 Kw/177 bhp year: september 2007 - march 2012) and a Swift Charisma 565 of (laden) 1459 kg.

I find my 2009 320d M sport struggles with the charisma 565, especially when pulling of from a standing start, even on the flat.
I find I have to slip the clutch substantially to get her of the mark. Also on A-B roads I rarely get into 5th gear never mind sixth. It's probably down to the M sports gearing, but i do find it a struggle.

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 320d and Abbey

Chris reviewed on a BMW Touring - 320d (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2003 - september 2005) and a Abbey Aventura 318 of (laden) 1404 kg.

This car has no problems at all towing, plenty of torque allows for smooth pull aways at lights etc, hills are no problem for the same reason. Fuel consumption is not affected much if driven sensibley and using correct gears for the conditions you face, there is no need to use 6th gear at all.
Overall I am very impressed with this as a towing car, it offers the acceleration, torque and towing weight without having to go for a 4X4.

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 320d and Compass

TSE reviewed on a BMW Touring - 320d (130 Kw/177 bhp year: september 2007 - september 2012) and a Compass Omega 524 of (laden) 1435 kg.

Tows very well with plenty of power and stable with my 2005 Compass Omega 524 (With 75kg nose weight and little load in the van) only problem is weak clutch with judder & smell if moving off on an incline (Less than 12%)

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 320d and Compass

TSE reviewed on a BMW Touring - 320d (130 Kw/177 bhp year: september 2007 - september 2012) and a Compass Omega 524 of (laden) 1435 kg.

Tows very well with plenty of power and stable with my 2005 Compass Omega 524 (With 75kg nose weight and little load in the van) only problem is weak clutch with judder & smell if moving off on an incline (Less than 12%)

More details >>>


BMW - 320d and Swift

James Lawton reviewed on a BMW - 320d (130 Kw/177 bhp year: september 2007 - march 2012) and a Swift Charisma 570 of (laden) 1500 kg.

A very competant tow car, with more than enough power and stability. I tow mine all the way down to Spain with a full outfit and four of us in the car with no problem whatsoever. Thos of you who know the caravan club reccomendations will have worked out that the outfit is nearly at 100%, but with sensible driving I have never experienced a problem.

More details >>>


BMW - 320d aut. and Bailey

Dave T reviewed on a BMW - 320d aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: september 2007 - march 2012) and a Bailey Pageant Bordeaux of (laden) 1321 kg.

Really good tow car-better than my Volvo V70 diesel makes the difference

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 320d [5MT] and Bailey

jbradbury reviewed on a BMW Touring - 320d [5MT] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: september 2001 - march 2003) and a Bailey Pageant Champagne of (laden) 1300 kg.

I have not yet towed with the car but I am looking forwards to it tremendously, after my first tow out I will inform your goodselves of the result.

More details >>>


BMW Touring - 320d and Caravan

BILL MENZIES reviewed on a BMW Touring - 320d (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2003 - september 2005) and a Caravan of (laden) 1250 kg.

EXCELLENT TO TOW WITH CAR THAT SEEMS TO BE MISSED OUT ON ALL TOW CAR AWARDS BECAUSE ITS SO GOOD, BEING REAR WHEEL DRIVE YOU GET PLENTY OF TRACTION AS ALL WEIGHT IS ON THE REAR WHEELS IDEAL CAR IF YOU DONT WANT TO GET A 4X4 AND BE TAXED SILLY

More details >>>


BMW - 330d and Abbey

Jim reviewed on a BMW - 330d (170 Kw/231 bhp year: september 2005 - march 2012) and a Abbey Vogue 540 of (laden) 1452 kg.

We've had one of these for 4 years and used it to tow first our Elddis Avante 475 and now our Abbey Vogue 540. The car has bucket loads of torque and tows extremely well.

Solo the fuel / performance balance is great, acceleration is available in any gear and overtaking multiple vehicles can be achieved with a gentle push of the accelerator in 5th gear.

As a towing vehicle the only thing limiting this car's potential is it's 1585kg kerbweight. However we currently tow @ a 92% match without any problems.

More details >>>


BMW - 320d and Abbey

trevor wilkinson reviewed on a BMW - 320d (120 Kw/163 bhp year: march 2005 - september 2007) and a Abbey GTS 416 of (laden) 1535 kg.

very happy with the bmw i find it has plenty of power per weight ratio ,good braking, handling on bendy roads very good very pleased with fuel economy, was surprised to find that the caravan is somewhat heavy for this vehicle as i have found no difficulty with braking ,handling or power.

More details >>>


BMW - 320i and Sprite

Mark B reviewed on a BMW - 320i (125 Kw/170 bhp year: september 2001 - march 2005) and a Sprite Musketeer of (laden) 1154 kg.

I have a old BMW (1991) 3 series 320i and a Sprite firebrand 474. Bought the caravan 2 years ago. Never towed before.
Plenty of power from the BMW if you gear down to go up the steeper hills. Fuel economy at best is 24 mpg at worst 20mpg. Unit is fine upto 60mph, had a scarey moment on M5 last year, had a snake that lasted for 30 seconds plus caused by me going too fast and passing a lorry. The uint finally became stable when my speed reached <55mph. Thankfully the unit is a good match otherwise I would have lost control of the unit. Break the 85% rule and drive over 60mph you are asking for trouble. Very Happy with unit now!
Getting a Skoda next fancy the 35 mpg.
Mark

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us