TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Audi A6 User Reviews

Audi A6 - 3.0 TDI quattro aut. and Coachman

Paul Harrison reviewed on a Audi A6 - 3.0 TDI quattro aut. (200 Kw/272 bhp year: april 2016 - up to now) and a Coachman VIP 460 of (laden) 1415 kg.

Hi,

Only had one outing with the outfit but very impressive. No movement even in side wind. Averaged 26.4 mpg over a 140 mile run. The car has so much power I had to keep on looking in the mirror to make sure the caravan was still there.
The only downside I have found up to now is that the cars13 pin plug is a little awkward to connect. I had to go on one knee to connect it.

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 2.7 TDI Quattro aut. and Elddis

Phil reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 2.7 TDI Quattro aut. (132 Kw/180 bhp year: june 2006 - october 2008) and a Elddis Avante 636 of (laden) 1657 kg.

This car was my tug for 14,000 miles in 2014 around Spain with a big twin axle van.
It was the SE model with a factory fitted towbar and all round air suspension.

The quattro 4WD kept things in order but I did notice that the tailgate had started to rub marks onto the boot lip where the body had been flexing. I think the 75kg nose weight was too low for a big twin axle.

The car had very little problems taking the van where I pointed it, up steep hills and on twisty bumpy roads. It was pretty unremarkable to be honest, it did the job with no drama.
Free from the van it was very nice to drive and possibly something I could consider owning as a year round driver.

Fuel economy was not bad towing, around the late 20\'s to early 30\'s and solo typically above 45mpg.

Its a very nice and reliable car, but for a big twin axle, its Achilles heal is its low nose weight allowance. The allroad is a better bet.

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 2.7 TDI Quattro aut. and Geist

David reviewed on a Audi A6 - 2.7 TDI Quattro aut. (132 Kw/180 bhp year: june 2006 - january 2011) and a Geist Xklusive XK555 of (laden) 1533 kg.

I have used a 2007 TDI 2.7 Audi A6 Le Mans Quattro to tow the Geist LV555 for the last few years and it is incredibly good at towing this heavy caravan. very stable, plenty of power with no stability issues. It makes for very relaxed towing especially using the cruise control on long motorway sections, highly recommended

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 2.0 TDI and Compass

Dave Hulbert reviewed on a Audi A6 - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2011) and a Compass Corona 540 of (laden) 1450 kg.

A6 2.0 TDI saloon 58 plate + Corona 540 - Perfect match, happily tow above "speed limit" & pass all lorries on motorway. Very stable, very comfortable driving, 30 + mpg

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 2.7 TDI Quattro aut. and LMC

ant downey reviewed on a Audi A6 - 2.7 TDI Quattro aut. (132 Kw/180 bhp year: june 2006 - january 2011) and a LMC Ambassador 560 RBD of (laden) 1689 kg.

very good tow car with this size caravan and more have been all over /netherlands/spain/switzerland/belgium/france/italy and so on and it has been 100% 5 star

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 2.0 TDI - C7 and Compass

ken foster reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 2.0 TDI - C7 (130 Kw/177 bhp year: september 2011 - 2016) and a Compass Rallye 524 of (laden) 1527 kg.

been towing 10 years with audi a6,and compass rallye 524.very stable and matched outfit even if it is at 89% weight ratio.always level and smooth.would recomend this car for caravan of 1527kgmax for this car would be 1600kg.and what other car would tow this van and give 35mph?

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 1.9 TDI [5MT] and Abbey

Allan Lowson reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 1.9 TDI [5MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: june 2001 - december 2004) and a Abbey Vogue 470 of (laden) 1310 kg.

We have owned the Audi and Abbey for 5 years now and the car has pulled us all over with out any problems up hill down dales and to France 3 times now thinking of getting another as it has now got 120000 on clock i get 30MPG with van on back solo average is 52MPG great car dont see many towing van and i dont know why very stable outfit

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 2.0 TDI [Multitronic] and Elddis

Gerry reviewed on a Audi A6 - 2.0 TDI [Multitronic] (125 Kw/170 bhp year: may 2007 - january 2011) and a Elddis Odyssey 534 of (laden) 1490 kg.

This car tows with ease and sits easily at a steady 60MPH (with cruise control on) on motorways and dual carriageways. I used the tiptronic on hills and on twisty roads. I have many years towing experience and find this car on the best i have had for comfort and ease of driving. If fuel economy is a big issue with you STOP TOWING CARAVANS ! ! 21 MPG avarage whilst towing caravan was more than acceptable to me !

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 2.7 TDI Quattro aut. and Bessacarr

Huw Morris reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 2.7 TDI Quattro aut. (140 Kw/190 bhp year: october 2008 - september 2011) and a Bessacarr Cameo 550 of (laden) 1699 kg.

I tow a Bessacar Cameo 550GL(1800kg) with a 2011 model yearAudi A6 Avant Quattro(last of old model) and find it can be a little tail happy if the car is not loaded sufficiently.The gear ratios are also more suited to sporty driving rather than towing. Not as good a towcar as the VW Touareg 3.0 Altitude I drove previously which was a superb towcar except for towing consumption of 20mpg compared to Audi's 24mpg. Suggest you stick to 85% rule if using this towcar.

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 2.7 TDI [Multitronic] and Sterling

IAN CREDLAND reviewed on a Audi A6 - 2.7 TDI [Multitronic] (132 Kw/180 bhp year: january 2006 - january 2011) and a Sterling Europa 550 of (laden) 1470 kg.

Have found that my care tows this caravan with ease and its not the quattro model.

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 2.0 TDI and Bailey

I Pritchard reviewed on a Audi A6 - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2011) and a Bailey Pageant Moselle of (laden) 1337 kg.

In low gears you wouldn't know that you were towing. Pulls really well and acceleration is good. Can cruise at 60mph using cruise control in 6th gear and achieve approximately 35mpg. Towing is also stable thanks to the alko stabliser. Only been towing a year and very pleased with this combination.

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 3.2 FSI Quattro aut. and Fendt

Josep reviewed on a Audi A6 - 3.2 FSI Quattro aut. (188 Kw/256 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2011) and a Fendt Saphir 510 TK of (laden) 1488 kg.

El conjunto fenomenal el coche va de maravilla, solo puedo decir que muy bien, unicamente el consumo se va a 17 litros de gasolina.

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 2.0 TDI and Compass

J. Wood reviewed on a Audi A6 - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2011) and a Compass Omega 524 L of (laden) 1475 kg.

I find the Audi A6 TDI SE a very good stable towing vehicle and very comfortable ride with my Compass Omega 524,. compared to a 4x4 which I had before.good full consumption average 33mpg

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 2.5 TDI Quattro aut. and Geist

leonard askew reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 2.5 TDI Quattro aut. (132 Kw/180 bhp year: june 2001 - december 2004) and a Geist LV550 of (laden) 1490 kg.

must be the ideal outfit for todays conditions.

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 3.0 TDI Quattro aut. and Bailey

ant burrows reviewed on a Audi A6 - 3.0 TDI Quattro aut. (171 Kw/233 bhp year: june 2006 - january 2011) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1635 kg.

a6 tdi le mans quattro auto. new for 38K. 42 mpg solo,24 mpg min towing.the gearbox is fantastic and works well with the paddle shift when towing.sat nav isnt the best but the mmi system is easy to use.massive boot.must agree with the above that the dealer network can be shocking to deal with.recently went to px for a q7 but there didnt seem as much space across the cabin. my a6 does everthing i want and it tows very well.

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 1.8T Quattro and Bjolseth

Tore M reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 1.8T Quattro (110 Kw/150 bhp year: june 2001 - december 2004) and a Bjolseth 550 of (laden) 1300 kg.

this car and a bjølseth 530 boggi is ok, the total weight was 3260kg. I didnt need to use 3 gear driving upp hills. on the flats i cruised at 5 gear at 80-90 km\h. fuel consumption is also good, 13L\100km

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 2.5 TDI aut. and Sterling

Ben Gill reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 2.5 TDI aut. (132 Kw/180 bhp year: june 2001 - december 2004) and a Sterling Europa 540 of (laden) 1452 kg.

Tows ok, but Audi developed fault whilst towing over the alps and ended up with 2k Audi repair bill.

Now considering changing car for a 4*4

More details >>>


Audi S6 Avant - 5.2 FSI V10 Quattro aut. and Swift

Richard Padmore reviewed on a Audi S6 Avant - 5.2 FSI V10 Quattro aut. (320 Kw/435 bhp year: july 2006 - 2015) and a Swift Challenger 520 of (laden) 1391 kg.

Clearly more than enough power to pull any caravan. The S6 is effortless whether towing or not. We average 21mpg motorway driving solo and around 17mpg with the caravan. It feels very solid and composed when towing. With the Avant the in-car storage space is great and there's a full size spare. We're planning on switching caravans soon to a twin axle.

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 2.0 TDI and Abbey

Mike B. reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: august 2005 - october 2008) and a Abbey Vogue 520 of (laden) 1372 kg.

The 2.0 TDi A6 is stable and pulls the van easily once moving, can sometimes struggle pulling off from standstill uphill due to front wheel drive traction and limited torque below 1800 rpm. Non-Audi factory fit towbar wiring with model specific electronics can create ESP faults when the electronics are energised. This requires reprogramming to reactivate ESP with the towbar option enabled (£150). Alternativly use the cheaper option of installing conventionally wired electrics. On the whole a good tow car for a medium size / weight van.

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 3.2 FSI Quattro aut. and Swift

Jim Abbott reviewed on a Audi A6 - 3.2 FSI Quattro aut. (188 Kw/256 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2011) and a Swift Conqueror 645 of (laden) 1690 kg.

Outfit works well. The car is petrol and has plenty of power but sometimes changes down from 6th on inclines. Boot and interior are big and auto box can be used as a manual. Fuel economy is 18-20 towing (focuses the mind!), 25-30 solo. The towing figure is the penalty for towing a heavy caravan with larger petrol engine I guess and a classic case of buying a car before I got into caravanning. I use a stableliser but as this is my first outfit I can't comment on how much difference this makes.

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 3.0 TDI Quattro aut. and Swift

Willy Wilson reviewed on a Audi A6 - 3.0 TDI Quattro aut. (171 Kw/233 bhp year: june 2006 - january 2011) and a Swift Conqueror 655 TA of (laden) 1680 kg.

Bought this "car" on the advice of the salesman that it would be an "ideal towcar" He really should boe up on his figures again. I have never driven such a noisy, uncomfortable, uneconomical car in my life!! It isnt even that good pulling up hills. The economy is down to 18mpg towing and struggles to rise much above 30 on a long motorway run. Best figure achieved 34 at 60 on A roads. Went to dealer to enquire if there was a problem with it and was given the cold shoulder and at one point told I was naive to expect more from such a big car. Audi customer services never even replied to my complaint. I can think of a lot better ways to waste 41000 pounds than to spend it on a new one of these. Will never purchase Audi again and am returning to BMW which is on order just now.

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 3.0 TDI Quattro aut. and Swift

Phil Esson reviewed on a Audi A6 - 3.0 TDI Quattro aut. (171 Kw/233 bhp year: june 2006 - january 2011) and a Swift Conqueror 580 of (laden) 1527 kg.

What can I say..... Audi A6 3.0tdi Quattro!! What a complete waste of 32000 quid. Its uncomfortable, noisy, harsh to ride in, auto box is ridiculously slow to change and thats with the "sports paddle shift" option!! What a joke!! Only thing thats sporty about this vehicle is the fuel economy!! 19.5mpg streching to a lofty 31 running solo!!!! Vorsprung durch garbage would be better tag line for them!! Dealer in Aberdeen even worse. Sales manager was abusive when I had the cheek to complain about it!Never will I darken the door of an Audi dealership again!!!

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 1.9 TDI and Sterling

Roger Coalter reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 1.9 TDI (85 Kw/116 bhp year: january 2001 - june 2001) and a Sterling Europa 520 of (laden) 1400 kg.

Car has plenty of power to cope with this caravan, pulls well in all gears although i like to drop down to 4th gear when the revs drop below 1900 as to keep up the torque. on a journey recently i averaged 32 mpg towing.
The car is very stable and i feel happy towing consistantly @ 55mph and at time was at more but i do not make a habit of going harder as a safety point of view, the only time you feel unsteady is with gusts of side winds.
At time of purchase the van was loaded badly and did feel a bit unsteady but the nose weight was over 95kg when i checked it AND with the 75kg nose weight it was totaly fine.
I am very happy with the combination !

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 2.5 TDI Quattro and Bailey

Graham Robinson reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 2.5 TDI Quattro (132 Kw/180 bhp year: june 2001 - december 2004) and a Bailey Pageant Auvergne of (laden) 1385 kg.

An excellent outfit. The audi gives the normality of a car, with the benefits of a 4x4. Have been to France many times, and bobbed along at 80mph (permitted over there), and been v. stable. All the traction and pull needed in a 5 year old car. The Auvergne is lovely - why have they stopped making it? 2 double beds and when needed, one lounge, one playroom when wet with the kids. Lots of space, kit is great.

More details >>>


Audi A6 - 2.7 TDI and Swift

Rob Fletcher reviewed on a Audi A6 - 2.7 TDI (132 Kw/180 bhp year: january 2005 - january 2011) and a Swift Charisma 620 TA of (laden) 1615 kg.

The outfit tows like a dream plenty of power and stability it is even better than my old Abbey 21' 2 berth to tow.

More details >>>


Audi A6 Avant - 2.7 TDI [Multitronic] and Avondale

gary waller reviewed on a Audi A6 Avant - 2.7 TDI [Multitronic] (132 Kw/180 bhp year: january 2006 - october 2008) and a Avondale Argente 550-4S of (laden) 1431 kg.

suspension a bit choppy?apart from that perfect

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us