TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Audi A4 User Reviews

Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI and Elddis

Daryl Phillips reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI (130 Kw/177 bhp year: november 2011 - september 2015) and a Elddis Avante 564 of (laden) 1415 kg.

Brand new to caravanning and already had a 2015 A4 model 2.0tdi 177 Quattro. Settled for an Elddis Avante 564 2012 and thanks to the review on this site I was confident in the outfit match.
My third time out using this outfit was a trip to Cornwall from the North East then back again via North Wales. These journeys saw me using two, three and four lane motorways, A and B class roads. In total around 1100 miles in a week. I have to say as a caravan mere novice this car and this van are perfectly matched.
I\'ve had only a small amount of clutch smell and that was when the sat nav directed me down a road I immediately saw was not caravan friendly. To get out I had to reverse out up a quite steep incline back onto the A road.
The stability of this outfit is fantastic running with an 80kg nose weight, so much so I easily built up the confidence to pass many an HGV (or slow moving car)
The car returned an MPG figure of 30mpg travelling to Cornwall and took it all in its stride. Whilst the match says 6th gear is not of much use I did find I slotted in to it to give the 5th cog a rest and to drop the revs for better MPG. On a whole I\'d wholly agree on the 4 1/2 stars for the match of this outfit

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI [6MT] and Coachman

Andy Alexander reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI [6MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: january 2002 - november 2004) and a Coachman Amara 560/6 of (laden) 1467 kg.

The Audi A4 pulls the Amara 560/6 no problems. Plenty of power with approx. 32-33 MPG. The noseweight has to played with as the first time out the whole this was a bit lively. Once I got that sussed we rode a lot better. The car is getting on so may change it for a Santa Fe.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 1.8T [Multitronic] and Lunar

chris barney reviewed on a Audi A4 - 1.8T [Multitronic] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: november 2004 - november 2007) and a Lunar Solaris of (laden) 1410 kg.

Had car chipped mainly to increase torque to make it compatiable with a TDI. Some confusion of max braked towing weights, as some other sites show this as 1400kg, wheres this site and Audi state 100kg.

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI Quattro and Coachman

Ben reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI Quattro (125 Kw/170 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2008) and a Coachman Pastiche 460/2 of (laden) 1400 kg.

Out on the open road, the Audi towed reasonably well, pulled well and was stable, I think helped by the 4 wheel drive. Rarely got into 6th even on motorways, and neeed to travel at 60+ mph to avoid having to drop gears on inclines.. Issues came when moving and reversing van on sites, simply this car is to highly geared for this, and resulted in clutch abuse. Quattro is awesome, and would recommend only with lighter vans.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI Quattro and Sprite

Mike Audsley reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI Quattro (125 Kw/170 bhp year: june 2006 - november 2007) and a Sprite Alpine 2 of (laden) 1173 kg.

Excellent - wouldn't know we had a caravan if it wasn't for that big white thing that keeps following us, great on diesel consumption

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.5 TDI quattro and Caravan

guy day reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.5 TDI quattro (132 Kw/180 bhp year: january 2001 - november 2004) and a Caravan of (laden) 1400 kg.

I've had the car (an auto) from new in 2001 and still don't want to change it. It is used for trailer towing (caravan chassis) rather than caravan and goes like a train! Marvellous on hills and has kept 120mph with the trailer fairly heavily laden on a gentle uphill for 3miles or so. The 4WD is good for wet grass sites and I've sailed past others with spinning wheels. 25-28mpg when motorway towing. I can't fault it.

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI e and Swift

ANDY GAMBLES reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI e (100 Kw/136 bhp year: may 2009 - september 2015) and a Swift Challenger 510 of (laden) 1535 kg.

Seems to tow well.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.7 TDI and Fleetwood

R. Lake reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.7 TDI (132 Kw/180 bhp year: june 2006 - november 2007) and a Fleetwood Heritage 560-4 of (laden) 1480 kg.

Audi 2.7 tdi tows very well plenty of power and has plenty of power to overtake easily. Only slight problem is pulling away from standstill on a 1/10 hill. Have towed 2000 miles this year with no trouble

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI Quattro and Bailey

Tim reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI Quattro (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - november 2007) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of (laden) 1315 kg.

Note ** 2003 Audi 1.9 TDI Quattro Sport **
Travelled to Toulon and back from North Devon.
Utilised A roads Motorways and Toll roads on outbound journey. Return required use of some minor roads in UK.
Exceptional car, with masses of grip and ability to overtake on inclines (Dual Carriageway). Significant stretches of road able to run in 6th Gear, though small inclines soon required a change down to 5th. Can not recall less then 4th gear required. Basically gear ratios very good for progression on all roads. 4 Wheel drive in campsites and for those steep hill starts a massive plus.
Be wary of Nose weights obviously as towing, but I used between 70-80KG and found that to be effective. Only time I found very unsettling was Dover M20 which seems to be a terrrible road with undulations and pitting which coupled with being used to good roads in France required an alteration to driving style.
Average mileage a day doing two 3hour shifts at 170 miles. (France)
Average fuel between 26 - 29 MPG dependant on road.
Only times for tension is when overtaking HGV and then passed on outside by exceptionally fast larger vehicles (Landrover Discovery, Toyota Landcruisers etc). You do feel increased buffeting and could see benefits of larger vehicle.
Great Car........

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI and Bailey

dp reviewed on a Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI (74 Kw/101 bhp year: april 2001 - may 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 510/4 of (laden) 1223 kg.

no real problems, audi a4 will tow easily, mpg down to around 30 to 33 at a steady 50mph.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI and Coachman

John Robins reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - november 2007) and a Coachman Amara 380/2 of (laden) 1205 kg.

2006 A4 Avant 2.0 TDI and 2007 Coachman Amara 380/2

Into my 4th year towng the Coachman, no problems at all. If I stay below 60 the outfit does 32mpg on the motorway and I have not had any cooling problems. The car even tows uphill on wet green lanes provided you are careful with the throttle. Who needs 4 wheel drive?

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI and Bailey

K. Jarvis reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI (105 Kw/143 bhp year: november 2007 - may 2009) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 520/4 of (laden) 1321 kg.

I have 2008 Audi 2.0 tdi and regularly tow my Bailey Ranger GT60 520/4 in Britain and on the continent. The car copes with this very well. On motorways it is easy to forget that you are towing as it easily deals with any gradient you are likely to meet and still has plenty in reserve.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.7 TDI [Multitronic] and Swift

Richard Lake reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.7 TDI [Multitronic] (132 Kw/180 bhp year: june 2006 - november 2007) and a Swift Challenger SE 480 of (laden) 1420 kg.

I have towed this combination for a couple of years and has proved to be good and stable. Only time I have had a slight problem is on a steep slope from standstill. But this I think is due to the TDI having a turbo lag until the revs get up a bit [2000] . Otherwise it has been great.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.5 TDI quattro and Coachman

Paul Weedall reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.5 TDI quattro (132 Kw/180 bhp year: january 2001 - november 2004) and a Coachman Pastiche 535/4 of (laden) 1518 kg.

Fantastic car owned for 6 years, love the coachman pastiche 535/4. I have towed for near 30years and allbeit we both love the outfit.We have got a problem of (the tail wagging the dog). We have tried different ways of reducing this and the only way seems to increase the nose wieght above the towcars max i.e. to 90kg. I have contacxted the CC and although they confirm that the outfit is spot on, when they tested the Audi 2 of the Judges past comment that the car was twichy at high speed. I am now considering a Volvo the replace my Audi. Sob Sob, any one else encountered the same.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI and Bailey

Dave Pook reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI (125 Kw/170 bhp year: november 2008 - november 2011) and a Bailey Pegasus 534 of (laden) 1466 kg.

The A4 perform's really well, lots power up hill and very stable on the motorway. Though only get 24 - 27 mpg towing.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI and Bailey

Graeme Putt reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI (125 Kw/170 bhp year: november 2008 - november 2011) and a Bailey Pegasus 534 of (laden) 1466 kg.

Does anyone have the formula to calculate the vin plate percentage in terms of gross train weight of the car

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.5 TDI and Adria

paolo reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.5 TDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: july 2002 - november 2003) and a Adria Adora 542 PU of (laden) 1401 kg.

ottima recensione ma l A4 in sesta marcia fa veramente fatica RPM troppo basso

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI and Swift

Stewart reviewed on a Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI (85 Kw/116 bhp year: january 2000 - january 2001) and a Swift Challenger 490 of (laden) 1550 kg.

absolutely fine,no lag on hills as long as you're in the right gear, no bounce as teh avante is very stiff

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 3.0 TDI Quattro and Abbey

Richard Ellis reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 3.0 TDI Quattro (176 Kw/239 bhp year: april 2008 - november 2011) and a Abbey Vogue 470 of (laden) 1310 kg.

Towing with my Audi A4 3.0L TDI Quattro is a pleasure to behold! Loads of power, with more than enough in reserve if needs be. With the Audi being Quattro and the AL-KO stabiliser being so good the van tows solid and as rock, no sway or snake, in fact the biggest problem I have is keeping my outfit under 60 mph on the motorway! To sum up the Audi as a tow car, “ACTUNG PANZER!!!”

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI and Swift

Bas reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI (96 Kw/131 bhp year: july 2001 - may 2003) and a Swift Charisma 560 of (laden) 1450 kg.

I have towed this combination for about 3 years and the only concerns I have had is when reversing. The clutch soon gets hot, and I think the reversing gearing is too high . I bought the car second hand, at 40000 miles, and it already had a tow bar fitted, but soon after, because of the issues with reversing I changed the clutch. It was almost down to rivets. Even with the new clutch the reversing issue didn't go away. Apart from that I am happy with the towing capability.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI and Abbey

Gwilym Meirion Jones reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - november 2007) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 416 of (laden) 1363 kg.

I have an Audi A4 S line 140 to tow aan Abbey GTS VOUge 416 . I have no problems with it at all. I have towed it all over UK but have recently been told I am over weight. I can not get a proper answer from anybody as to whether I am legal or not.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI and Abbey

sarah taylor reviewed on a Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI (85 Kw/116 bhp year: november 2004 - november 2007) and a Abbey Vogue 540 of (laden) 1469 kg.

thanks for better help the english totaly dont advise me to pull the van at least i know that it will be ok

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.5 TDI [Multitronic] and Geist

leonard askew reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.5 TDI [Multitronic] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: november 2003 - november 2004) and a Geist LV550 of (laden) 1490 kg.

towed with my wifes a4 2.5 tdi multitronic convertible! no problems at all! a bit of tut tutting on site from 4x4 owners, who wished they had the same fuel consumption (averaged c31mpg with van on back).unusual outfit ,but so far very successful.

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI [Multitronic] and Coachman

Graham Daniels reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI [Multitronic] (105 Kw/143 bhp year: april 2008 - september 2015) and a Coachman Amara 530/4 of (laden) 1500 kg.

This Audi diesel has the power and torque to perform well with the Amara except that it is a relatively light car and I need to load the car to maintain a better caravan to car weight balance. This is well worth it as I have a car that returns 44 mpg solo and 30 towing. It will also pull at 50-60 on motorways in 6th gear quite comfortably.

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TFSI Quattro and Sprite

Andy reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TFSI Quattro (162 Kw/220 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2008) and a Sprite Alpine 4 of (laden) 1195 kg.

My first caravan so not exactly a seasoned expert, although i have towed many heavy trailers with my transit van for years.The car tows my sprite alp 4 very well and feels very stable.Power feels fine and makes for a nice tow in my opinion.Quattro well recommended especially on wet roads and wet grass on site.Got me across many sloppy wet sites in this country where fwd would have never done the job.

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI and Eriba

Nexus 4 reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - april 2008) and a Eriba Touring Puck 230 GT of (laden) 790 kg.

No problems towing what is a light weight caravan, however l have just had to have a new clutch fitted.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI and Swift

Paul Bennett reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - november 2007) and a Swift Challenger 540 of (laden) 1490 kg.

I use a Audi A4 S-Line 2.0TDi 140 to pull my Swift Challenger540 and although it exceeds the old fashioned idea of 85% it tows great, plenty of power and good stopping power, if anything the 4wd would suit better due to some minor torque steer is felt on steep inclines and full throtle

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI Quattro and Eriba

Elena reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI Quattro (125 Kw/170 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2008) and a Eriba Nova GL/SL 530 FB of (laden) 1500 kg.

This combination works just fine for me but not for the first timer as this is one heavy van once it is full

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.5 TDI quattro and Bailey

bob reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.5 TDI quattro (132 Kw/180 bhp year: january 2001 - november 2004) and a Bailey Senator S5 Oklahoma of (laden) 1447 kg.

Excelllent tow car. Mine is the Avant which isn't listed here so I've picked the saloon as it's similar. The engine is very torquey and handles the heavy Senator with little effort. Stability is excellent even when loaded and with high sidewinds. Motorways are a breeze with the outfit sitting very comfortably at 65/70 mph. What I love about this car is you get most of the benefits of a 4x4 but it still drives like a GTi. Best of both worlds? You bet!

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI and Bailey

Graham Daniels reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - november 2007) and a Bailey Ranger 510/4 of (laden) 1223 kg.

We bought the Audi Avant as a car we could use daily and tow a caravan at the weekend. The car is very stable and pulls in 6th gear comfortably at 60 returning 35+ mpg towing and 44+mpg solo.

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI and Bailey

Wayne Hinsley reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - april 2008) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

Audi an excellent car, but not a good tow car! Poor match for our Pageant S6, stability very poor and clutch nearly burnt out twice on hill starts. Even when reversing onto pitch the clutch would start to smell. This caused stress always worrying if clutch would make it! I would only give this car 2 stars because of this. We have freind with similar car but only towing a Ranger and they have experienced the burning clutch smell too, and had the hydraulics go on clutch. Did have plenty of power though!

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI [Multitronic] and Avondale

Andy reviewed on a Audi A4 - 2.0 TDI [Multitronic] (105 Kw/143 bhp year: november 2007 - september 2015) and a Avondale Osprey of (laden) 1470 kg.

The Audi A4 convertible pulls the Osprey with no problem at all, no lacking in preformance. although it has an automatic gear box, the multitronic paddle gear change allows to change gear easily if you wish. Only on the steepest hills did I feel the need to change down a gear other than that it took every thing in its stride. The Car and van combination also looks damn good.

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI Quattro and Eriba

jon reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 2.0 TDI Quattro (125 Kw/170 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2008) and a Eriba Nova S 540 of (laden) 1725 kg.

This car is so stable when towing my hymer, i just love it

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI and Adria

tez reviewed on a Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI (85 Kw/116 bhp year: january 2000 - january 2001) and a Adria Adora 532 LT of (laden) 1210 kg.

great combination

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI and Adria

terry blackburn reviewed on a Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI (85 Kw/116 bhp year: january 2000 - january 2001) and a Adria Adora 532 LT of (laden) 1360 kg.

my audi a4 pulls the adria adora with ease,bearing in mind my audi is the 85 kw (115 bhp) version. if you are concidering a simular wieght ratio on your towing combination, have no fears.the only noticable difference is with the fuel consumpsion,which lowers slightly, not so much if you get in top gear and trundle along at about 55mph,...

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI [6MT] and Bailey

Harry Milburn reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI [6MT] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: january 2002 - november 2004) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1406 kg.

great car it wants to go well over the speed limit if you let it it pulls well in all gears, van never moved when overtaken by trucks , got over 30 miles to the gallon

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI and Swift

Mike reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI (96 Kw/131 bhp year: july 2001 - may 2003) and a Swift Challenger 550 of (laden) 1414 kg.

I have been towing this combination for the last two seasons with no dificulty what so ever. Fuel consumption around 35MPG and able to cruise at legal limits.

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 1.8T Quattro and Ace

Tim reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 1.8T Quattro (110 Kw/150 bhp year: january 1999 - july 2001) and a Ace Jubilee Envoy of (laden) 1266 kg.

Its actually the 180 bhp T Sport not listed Quattro. I have towed the Ace no problem, hardly notice it is there. 4wd makes it tow wherever and it is always stable, even when windy. Only downside is 28-30mpg normally drops to 19-20mpg when towing. But to buy a diesel is V expensive and I only do 10k a year. A great car and van.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 1.8T and Lunar

james smith reviewed on a Audi A4 - 1.8T (120 Kw/163 bhp year: november 2004 - november 2007) and a Lunar Zenith 5 of (laden) 1205 kg.

I tow with an A4 1.8t convertable which pulls my Zenith 5 with no problems. The boot space isn't massive but the fact that when you arrive you are able to drop the roof on those sunny days makes up for this.
I feel it is a good choice as a tow car.

More details >>>


Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI and Elddis

Charles de Schoolmeester reviewed on a Audi A4 - 1.9 TDI (85 Kw/116 bhp year: november 2004 - november 2007) and a Elddis Avante 482 of (laden) 1265 kg.

Good ESP front wheel traction tie on the A4 is excellent on wet grass or poor traction surfaces. On full payload on average A roads and B roads the A4 averages 48.6 mpg (diesel fuel A4 saloon with 130bhp). The Elddis Avante 482 is excellent - easy to manouvre, stability is superb with friction pads on tow hitch. I would give the unit 8/10 for all round performance.

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI and Lunar

Alexander Thomson reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI (85 Kw/116 bhp year: november 2004 - april 2008) and a Lunar Quasar 566 of (laden) 1395 kg.

Have had absolutely no problems with this unit. I find it very stable and it will happily cruise at 60mph. Have even had the unit out on windy days (not my chioce!) and found it to be fine as long as you respect the conditions and adjust the speed accordingly. I would agree with the last review, an A6 or A4 quattro would be better as the 1.9Tdi is a bit breathless on long climbs. Personally I would go for the A4 3.0L Quattro for better power to weight ratio.

More details >>>


Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI and Bailey

Jamie McRobie reviewed on a Audi A4 Avant - 1.9 TDI (85 Kw/116 bhp year: november 2004 - april 2008) and a Bailey Pageant Auvergne of (laden) 1285 kg.

A4 Avant - great car solo, but you have to be very careful towing this weight of caravan - Put the awning in a roofbox and the heavy items in the car and you will be OK - but dont try and overtake downhill, and think about it on the flat. 115bhp doesnt sound much but with the torque you are able to overtake on the hills.
Thinking of changing up in size - poss A6 or even Mondeo Estate.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us